Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {16}

Leave a comment

October 1, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Welcome to another edition of Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up!  For lack of a better title, this is where I share with you all of the (mostly bookish) interesting bits and pieces I’ve bumbled across in the past week (usually) 🙂

Highlight of my month!

What have you missed?

On my blog:

On the interwebs:

Books, Books, Books:

  • Ever wanted to participate in The Hunger Games?  Well Book Riot’s come up with an idea to bring the books to life in a reality show format, but without all the killing 🙂
  • Debby at Snuggly Oranges shared her thoughts on changing her ratings over time, and I’m glad I’m not the only one thinking about this.
  • Jenna at Jenna Does Books talked about being deceived by the hype monster, which is a HUGE pet peeve of mine!
  • Ashley at Nose Graze gave some pointers on how to write a discussion post.
  • Rachel at Parajunkee shared ten post ideas to draw traffic to your book blog, along with her ten ways to alienate and piss off your followers on social media.
  • Gillian at Writer of Wrongs talked about that feeling when everyone loves a book but you.
  • If you’re interested in tracking your reading, Book Riot’s put together an awesome tracking spreadsheet!
  • Melina Marchetta wrote a post in honour of Jonah Grigg’s favourite NRL team making the finals, the South Sydney Rabbitohs (I can’t being myself to call it footy like she does!  What can I say, I’m die-hard AFL all the way).

Entertainment & Other Fun Stuff:

  • The Pineapple Mystery has been solved!  HIMYM fans the world over rejoice!  Although, I kinda wish it had remained a mystery…
  • Gilmore Girls taught me many life lessons, and with it coming to Netflix this week it’s worth a rewatch to relearn some of those lessons 🙂 Of course, I’m in Australia and don’t get Netflix, and just when I want to have a rewatch I realise I’ve lent my DVDs of the first two seasons to my mum.  Boo.
  • Speaking of Gilmore Girls, if you’re a fan you should totally check out these charts – they’re made of win.
  • I read this article today on 9 things Americans can learn from Australians, written by an American who lived in Australia for a year.  While I can’t comment on the accuracy of the description of Americans, it has Australians pretty spot on!

What’s news with me?

I saw Justin Timberlake in concert on 19 September and OH MY GOSH it was soooooooo good!  We were in the mosh pit, right in the middle near the stage and it was PERFECT.  I think I’m going to have to dedicate a post just to that night, it was so great!

Other than that, I’ve been pretty boring lately… Spring has sprung and I’m so over it, hayfever is the worst.  Bring on Summer!

What am I…

Reading?

At the moment I’m reading Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer; I’ve actually read a lot of books lately, I need to catch up on the blog!

Watching?

I haven’t been watching a whole heck of a lot lately, there’s nothing on TV at the moment!  I’ve even had Big Brother on in the background lately just to have SOMETHING on, although I almost think I’d be better off having nothing on.  Until this year, I’d never watched an episode of Big Brother and I was quite happy and secure in that decision!  My standards are certainly slipping, that’s for sure!

As for the AFL Grand Final on Saturday just gone, gosh that was boring!  I hate it when the last day in September isn’t a close one, it was almost as bad as the Geelong v Port Adelaide GF in 2007.  I didn’t really know who I wanted to win; I wanted both teams to lose for various reasons and that probably didn’t help!  Oh well, now we have the off-season to contend with and I tell you what, if I hear one more thing about the Essendon drugs saga I might just explode.  Seriously, that bullshit has been a blight on our game for two years now and it just needs to be OVER.

Listening to?

Since I saw JT in concert about almost two weeks ago, these songs have been on pretty high rotation!

There you have it!  Happy Wednesday!

Leave a comment

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other subscribers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories