Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

6

September 30, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read!  This was a little bit difficult for me to choose, so I’ve divided it up into three categories: cringeworthy reads, difficult subject matter and difficult book in general.  Anyhoo, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂

Cringeworthy Reads

 

IMG_0208Forget You by Jennifer Echols (review)
My review clearly goes into why I found this one cringeworthy, but in a snapshot I just really didn’t enjoy the characters or the plot!

IMG_0210

The Other Summer Girl by Sarah D. Towne (review)
There were so many issues I had with this novel and I really had to force myself to finish it.  The main character made this whole thing really cringeworthy, along with the cheesy Australian character – he was practically a caricature…

IMG_0207

Adorkable by Sarra Manning (review)
Another one where the main character did nothing for me and I struggled a bit to get through it (although nowhere near as much as the last two!).

Difficult Subject Matter

IMG_0209

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
This is actually one of my favourite books but I find any book with cancer in it difficult to read, and this was no exception.

IMG_0206

A Child Called “It” by Dave Pelzer
I reckon it’s been a good fifteen years since I last read this, when I was in high school, and it’s stuck with me.  What this child went through was absolutely horrendous and I’m not sure I’d be able to read it again, especially given that I work in child protection.

IMG_0214

I’m Not Scared by Niccolò Ammaniti
Another one from my high school days, I last read this one ten years ago and it’s still had a lasting impression on me.  I think I found this one particularly difficult given my Italian background, and just knowing that this is based on real-life events from 1970s Italy sent chills up my spine.

IMG_0213

The Year of the Rat by Clare Furniss (review)
I can’t imagine losing my mum, or my dad for that matter, and this book deals with the grief of losing a parent.  I’m so close to mine and, as much as I enjoyed this book, that just made this all the more difficult to read.

IMG_0212

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
This was a great read but boy was the subject matter difficult to get through.  I could barely comprehend what happened Nastya, it was just so shocking!

Difficult Book

IMG_0215

Oedipus Rex by Sophocles
Oh God, I read this nine years ago in my last year of high school and I STILL have nightmares about how difficult this was to read and understand!  This book was NOT for me 🙂

IMG_0211

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
I tried reading this one after the movie came out but I just couldn’t get through it.  It was such a hard slog, and I’m not sure that I was in the right frame of mind at the time.

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  Have you got any others that you found difficult to read?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

  1. I forgot about Oedipus Rex, but that was a hard text to get through.

  2. Rachel says:

    A Child Called It made my list this week too, I read it quite a while ago and found it a really difficult read at times! The Sea of Tranquility has been on my TBR for some time, and you’ve just made me more curious about it, I’ve heard a lot of good things!

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/top-ten-tuesday-difficult-reads/

    • I don’t know how a mother could be so intentionally awful to their child. I see a lot of neglect in my line of work, but I don’t think I’ve ever personally come across a parent that is so intentionally abusive. As for the Sea of Tranquility, it’s a tough read but well worth it.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

