Life of a Blogger {4}: Most Prized Possession

3

October 2, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Life of a Blogger is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely Jessi of Novel Heartbeat, shining the spotlight on bloggers on a more personal level 🙂 Every week she chooses a topic and shares about her life, encouraging other bloggers to do the same.  Today’s topic is Most Prized Possession.

Most Prized Possession

While I’m not huge on prizing my possessions, there are two things I own that I value above everything else: my nonna’s original wedding ring and a ring she gave me when I graduated primary school in grade 6.

This is my nonna (and me!):

IMG_0216

This is my favourite photo of us 🙂

Needless to say, we were pretty close. She was my only grandparent growing up; she lived next door to us from when I was 7 years old, and I visited her almost every day after school and on the weekends. She had all the good snacks 🙂

Next Friday it will be eight years since she passed away, after a very short and sudden battle with cancer. It was definitely a shock to us and it took me and my family a very long time to deal with it and come to terms with our loss. My dad gave me almost all of her jewellery when she died, except the necklace she wore everyday and her wedding ring. She promised my brother that he could have the necklace, so that went to him, and we kept the wedding ring with her.

My nonna was a VERY traditional Italian nonna, think Josie’s nonna in Looking for Alibrandi and you’d be pretty spot on! She wore her wedding ring every day of her married life, even though she became a widow in 1964 and never remarried. In her heart, she was still married to my nonno (and my dad chased away any potential suitors!), and it was important to us that the ring stay with her. Or so we thought! {Don’t worry, this isn’t going to have a creepy twist!}

Two and a half years later, I turned 21 and had a birthday party, as you do. All of my family and closest friends were there, and my dad’s first cousin, my zia, came up to me and said there was something extra to go along with my present that she felt I should have. Needless to say, I was intrigued. I looked in the bag and found a small box. I opened it and there was a plain gold ring inside.

My zia (that’s Italian for auntie) told me that it was nonna’s wedding ring and to say I was confused is an understatement. It turns out that sometime in the 1980s before I was born, nonna decided to buy herself a new wedding ring. I don’t think it fit her anymore, and she didn’t want to stop wearing a wedding ring, so she bought herself a new one and gave the original to my zia.

It means a lot to me that my zia gave me the ring and that I now have something so special to my nonna. Her love and devotion to my nonno for the years they were married and her 42 years as a widow are inspiring to me and I hope to one day find something that special.

I don’t wear the ring, it’s too special to me and I’d hate for something to happen to it. Instead, I wear a different ring to remind me of nonna:

image

Nonna gave me this ring when I graduated primary school; I put it on the day she died and I’ve worn it everyday since.

So there you have it, those are my prized possessions! What about you, do you have a prized possession?

3 thoughts on “Life of a Blogger {4}: Most Prized Possession

  1. Aw, this was such a lovely story! I have to admit it made me a bit misty. It’s great that you have such wonderful memories, thanks for sharing!

  2. Dee says:

    Aww, that was just beautiful. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

