Super Six Sunday: Super 6 Books That Warmed My Heart

2

February 16, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

SuperSixSundayII
Super Six Sunday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely ladies at Bewitched Bookworms ๐Ÿ™‚

Today’s topic is Books That Warmed My Heart.ย  My list is pretty eclectic; it’s a mix of Adult Fiction, YA Fiction, Children’s Fiction, Classic Fiction and Non-Fiction. That’s essentially my reading tastes in a nutshell!ย  Allow me to recommend you six books I’ve read that warmed my heart ๐Ÿ™‚

SSS 16 Feb

  1. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell: Everything about this book warms my heart – Lincoln, Beth and Jennifer’s friendship, Lincoln, the emails, did I mention Lincoln? A heartwarming book from start to finish.
  2. Kissing Under the Mistletoe by Bella Andre: I’ve read all the of the books so far in Andre’s The Sullivans Series, but I found this one to be particularly heartwarming. It was such a sweet story of how the parents met, and I loved that part of the book was set in Italy, as it reminded me so much of my family’s hometown ๐Ÿ™‚
  3. Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta: This is the first of Marchetta’s books and for a very long time it was her only. I’ve always been able to relate to Josie’s heritage as an Australian girl in an Italian family, and that part of the story has always been particularly heartwarming to me.
  4. The Railway Children by E. Nesbit: This is a book from my childhood that’s always warmed my heart, the characters are just so sweet! I reckon it’s been a good 15 years since I’ve read it, but I’m sure I’d find it just as heartwarming today as I did all those years ago.
  5. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott: This book is a classic, and for good reason. The March and Lawrence families are so kind and generous and loving, and I think that’s why this book has been heartwarming to me since the first time I read it.
  6. Marley & Me by Josh Grogan:ย This book actually made me laugh out loud, many times, which is rare for me! I’ll find things amusing but I don’t usually laugh when I read a funny book. The relationship between Marley and the Grogan family is so sweet and heartwarming.

There you have it!ย  Any books on my list that take your fancy?ย  What books would you recommend?

2 thoughts on “Super Six Sunday: Super 6 Books That Warmed My Heart

  1. I’ve only just discovered your blog and I’m glad to have! I don’t follow any other book blogs that are quite like yours. New follower!
    I agree with you on Little Women being a book that warms the heart. I typically try to reread Little Women once a year around Christmas time. There’s just something so cosy and familiar about delving in to Louisa May Alcott’s classic.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm says:

      Thanks Jade, that’s so lovely of you! Thanks for the follow ๐Ÿ™‚
      I actually haven’t read Little Women in a while so I think I might have to dig it out, I’m in the mood for a reread at the moment.

Leave a comment

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other subscribers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories