Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Reasons I Love Being A Blogger/Reader

15

February 18, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!Β  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Reasons I Love Being A Blogger/Reader, and this was probably the easiest topic for me yet!Β  I know I haven’t been a blogger for long but I could go on for ages about why I love being a reader πŸ™‚ I’ve decided to share my top five blogger loves and my top five reader loves, so here we go!

THE BLOGGER

The Community: I love being part of a community of book readers who talk about how much they love books! I was a silent part of the community for about a year before I started my blog, but the camaraderie is one thing that’s struck me from the beginning. As with any community, there can be drama, but 99% of the time it’s a pretty awesome place to be πŸ™‚

The Book Recs: As a blogger, I love being able to share my bookish recommendations. It’s a focal part of being a blogger, to review and share what you think about books. This means taking the good with the bad, and sharing what I think is both hot and not…

The Memes: No doubt about it, I love bookish memes! Hello, this IS a post for Top Ten Tuesday! I also do Super Six Sunday, and I like to follow some others out there in the book blogisphere πŸ™‚

The Talky Talk: My closest friends and family know that there is one thing I love to do more than anything else: talk! Being a blogger gives me the opportunity to chatter away all the time Sure, it’s written down instead of spoken aloud, but it’s still a chance for me to engage in some bookish chitchat.

The Motivation: One of the things I love most about being a blogger is the motivation it gives me to read. I went through a reading slump for pretty much my entire 6 years of university and graduate study, and anything that gives me the motivation to read is a good thing in my book! I have heard some bloggers say that blogging causes them to have reading slumps because it puts pressure on them, and who knows, that may happen to me one day. But for now, I’m going to enjoy the motivation while it lasts.

THE READER

The Escapism: One of the best things about being a reader is the opportunity to escape to other worlds. They don’t even have to be worlds completely different to mine, like in Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, or others belonging to the fantasy or dystopian genres. Even when I’m reading contemporary fiction, YA or otherwise, it gives me that escapism from whatever’s happening in my real life world. To me, that is one of the great joys of reading.

The Talky Talk Part 2: So I’ve already said how much I love talking above, so this should come as no surprise! I love being able to talk about books with my mum, my friends, and anyone else I know or meet who reads. Talking about books can be a conversation starter, or more often than not in my case the whole conversation πŸ™‚ Have I mentioned how much I love to talk?

The Entertainment: This is a bit of a no-brainer but I love the entertainment factor of reading.Β  I can spend the whole day reading and not be bored once, even when I’m reading a not-so-great book.Β  It’s a great way to pass the time, and I never have a problem when the power goes out, unlike those who freak out that there’s nothing to do!

The Book Blogs: As a reader in the 21st century, I have been spoilt by the internet and all the wonderful book blogs out there.Β  Not only can I read books, I can now read about reading!Β  Book blogs have reignited my love of reading, exposing me to a whole world of books out there that I didn’t even know existed.Β  Case in point: Anna and the French Kiss – until last year, I had NO IDEA that this book even existed!Β  Thanks to book blogs, I have now been exposed to the magic and wonder that is Γ‰tienne St Clair.Β  Thank you book blogs!

The Feels: Last, but certainly not least, I love all the feels that reading gives me.Β  I think Belle sums it up pretty well for me:

How about you, what do you love about being a blogger or reader?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Reasons I Love Being A Blogger/Reader

  1. Rimsha Salam says:

    Great list totally me! Love Talky Talk and Escapism πŸ™‚
    Check out my top ten:
    My TTT@ Ramblings of a Bookworm

  2. mary says:

    That gif of Belle is perfection– the feels and the emotions are so important!! I love finding other people who love books as much as I do!

    • Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm says:

      I know, how great is that gif! I”ve seen it around and HAD to use it in some way – I’m sure I’ll find some way to use it again in the future lol
      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Hi! I put reading to escape at the top of my list even though my list isn’t really in order. It’s always the first thing I think of because it is why I became such a big reader to begin with before I even began blogging or talking to other readers on Twitter or social media. (:

    • Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm says:

      I totally agree, it’s why I’ve always read – I’ve always enjoyed escaping to another world, not that there’s anything wrond with my world! Reading gives us that opportunity, if only for a little while, and that to me is one of the best things about reading. Thanks for visiting πŸ™‚

  4. Ellie M. says:

    Those are really awesome points! I totally agree with you πŸ˜€

    My Top Ten this week!

  5. bookmammal says:

    Talking with others about books is one of the things I miss most about working in a bookstore–there’s nothing better than geeking out over your favorite characters and series with other booklovers!
    Nice list!

    • Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm says:

      I’d love to work in a bookstore! I’d be so broke though, I have to ban myself from going into bookstores at times because I will spend WAAAAY too much money πŸ™‚
      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Cait says:

    Oh my gosh! That GIF! That is a perfect GIF of wonderful bookness. XD I love your list, too! (Everyone has such good lists. But mind you, this is my first time linking up so…. hehe XD). I do like the escapism too. πŸ™‚ Here’s my TTT!!

    • Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm says:

      The gif is awesome, I’m going to have to use it again in the future for sure πŸ™‚
      Thanks for stopping by, I’ll have to check out your list πŸ™‚

  7. I agree with a lot of the points you made in this post – I think they can apply to many of us. When it comes to being a blogger my favourite thing is the community and interaction. Being a reader means being able to escape, and that’s what I enjoy the most. Who doesn’t love getting lost in a good novel?!
    πŸ™‚

    • Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm says:

      That’s so true – I can think of nothing better than a lazy day spent reading πŸ™‚
      Thansk for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

