Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 New Series I Want To Start

35

October 21, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten New Series I Want To Start!  ‘New” being within the last year or two, and this was actually a little harder than I though!  A lot of the series I have on my TBR are older than that, from when I wasn’t reading much a few years ago.  Anyhoo, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂
Grisha2Shadow and Bone (#1)
Siege and Storm (#2)

Ruin and Rising (#3)
Various Novellas

I had never heard of this series until earlier this year, when the blogosphere went CRAZY for Ruin and Rising.  I was intrigued but my old library didn’t have it, which put a bit of a dampener on my plans to read it.  I’m pleased to find out that my new one does!

Just One Day2Just One Day (#1)
Just One Year (#2)
Just One Night (#2.5)

I’m hooked on Gayle Forman’s writing after reading If I Stay/Where She Went, so it’s only logical that I’ll branch out into her next series!  Ideally I’d like to read these before her next novel is released in early 2015 (I Was Here).

Starbound2These Broken Stars (#1)
This Night So Dark (#1.5)
This Shattered World (#2)
Untitled (#3)

I’ve heard some pretty amazing things about this series and I’ve previously borrowed the first book from the library, but I had to return it before I had the chance to read it.  Luckily this is another one that my new library has on the shelves, so I’ll be sure to check it out soon.

Slammed2Slammed (#1)
Point of Retreat (#2)
This Girl (#3)

So apparently this series brings all the feels, so I reckon I’d have to be in a particular kind of mood to read it.  That being said, I’d love to give it a shot!

Rusk Uni2All Lined Up (#1)
All Broke Down (#2)
All Played Out (#3)

I enjoyed Hoover’s Losing It series, and I’ve heard great things about this one.  This one might be a little difficult to track down though, I haven’t seen it in any shops and my library doesn’t have any of her books… I may have to shell out some cashola for this one.

Daughter2Daughter of Smoke & Bone (#1)
Days of Blood & Starlight (#2)
Night of Cake & Puppets (#2.5)
Dreams of God & Monsters (#3)

Technically this one doesn’t really meet the guidelines of being one to two years old, but most of the books were published within that period so I’m gonna allow it 🙂 This is another series that came to my attention via the blogosphere, with the last book being released this year.

Prisoner2Prisoner of Night and Fog (#1)
Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke (#2)

This is set in one of my niche time periods, Nazi Germany.  I studied this period A LOT while at Uni, as part of my History major for my Arts Degree.  I love to read books based in that period, inserting themselves into history, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy this one.

Nantucket2

Nantucket Blue (#1)
Nantucket Red (#2)

I have the first book in this series sitting on my shelf at the moment, so I’m sure I’ll get there sooner rather than later 🙂

Verity2

Code Name Verity (#1)
Rose Under Fire (#2)

Another historical fiction series set in my favourite time period (although I’m quite sure ‘favourite’ is really the right word to use…).  I started reading Code Name Verity last year but I wasn’t in the right frame of mind.  It’s time to rectify this methinks!

Cormoran2

The Cuckoo’s Calling (#1)
The Silkworm (#2)

Another book I have sitting on my shelf that I’ve yet to read… A bad habit of mine!  I’m keen to read this one, I’m not quite sure why I’ve been procrastinating by it’s time to stop.

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  Have you got any others that you could recommend to me?

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 New Series I Want To Start

  1. I can highly recommend the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy (one of my all time favourite series) and The Cuckoo’s Calling. I want to read Code Name Verity but I’m not great with historical fiction so I’m a bit apprehensive.

  2. lipsyy says:

    Great list! A few of these are new to me too 🙂

  3. HOLLY says:

    Definitely yes to the Grisha and Starbound! I haven’t read any of the former, but These Broken Stars was soooo good!
    My TTT: http://nutfreenerd.wordpress.com/2014/10/21/top-ten-tuesday-new-series-i-want-to-start/

  4. Eugenia @ Genie In A Book says:

    Great list Bernadette! There are a few of these books which I really want to read as well, like Code Name Verity, Prisoner of Night and Fog, and Just One Day which all look fantastic. The Slammed series by Colleen Hoover is my all-time favourite contemporary series EVER so I’d definitely recommend it 🙂

  5. SO many great books! I love the Daughter Of Smoke & Bone trilogy, but nothing can top the Grisha series for me!! Enjoy!
    -Jon from Bookish Antics

  6. ficwishes says:

    You have some of my very favorite books on this list. You are going to have so much fun reading them. Take a look at my TTT

  7. I have the exact same Grisha graphic as you! 🙂 I have the first book in that series. I need to get on it. Same for Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I have the first two books in that series.
    Here’s my TTT

  8. I LOVED the Just One Day books.

  9. Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews says:

    The only one I have read is These Broken Stars which I really liked. I had to put Prisoner of Night & Fog on my wishlist…Nazi Germany is one of my favorite settings to read about. I have Shadow & Bone, Daughter of Smoke & Bone, and Code Name Verity on my TBR shelf. I need to get going on them soon. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  10. Yes! Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire are AMAZING. And I love The Cuckoo’s Calling and The Silkworm!

  11. The Grisha trilogy is SO good. And I thought Code Name Verity was breathtaking!
    Awesome list 🙂
    Cora @ Tea Party Princess

  12. Rachel says:

    *Round of Applause* Excellent choices, in fact I’m going to bookmark this and buy myself Christmas presents from this list!

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/10/21/top-ten-tuesday-new-series-im-lusting-after/

    R x

  13. Liza @ Reading with ABC says:

    I’ve read 2, 3, and 6 and I loved them all. I do have a few of these so I hope to read them sometime. *sigh* If only the day was longer 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  14. Great picks. There are quite a few of this series that I really want to read myself – Cuckoos Calling, Grisha and Daughter of SMoke and Bone especially, they look so good. I LOVED the Slammed series, Hoover’s books are so good. I hope you can get to some of these soon 🙂 TTT.

  15. Cait says:

    ELIZABETH WEIN IS AMAZING BUT WILL PROBABLY BREAK YOUR HEART AND SOUL AND MIND. Stock up on tissues, and, you know, life support. Omg, even Rose Under Fire had me bawling. Life is completely unfair in those books. *ahem* I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone! I read book #2 and it was good, but not as good, and now I’m terrified of the sheer size of book #3. o.O Once I conquer The Mortal Instruments book #6 though (which is staring at me from my TBR) I should be reading to read anything.
    Here’s my TTT!

    • I’ve worked out that I need to be in the right frame of mind for Elizabeth Wein, because it didn’t work for me when I tried last year – I was on a plane and soooooooo tired. I plan to give it another shot soon. And I totally agree about book #3 in Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I saw it in Big W earlier this year when it was released and that thing is HUGE!

  16. So many great choices here! I highly recommend:
    Prisoner of Night and Fog – fantastic historical YA, with a dash of sweet romance. Loved this one and am dying for the sequel.
    Rusk Uni – All Lined Up is one of my favorite NA books. So excited for book 2!
    Starbound – best new series! Such amazing world building and the characters are amazing.
    Slammed – sigh. This is back when I loved Colleen Hoover’s books lol. Great series!
    I hope to Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Just One Day soon, too. 🙂

    • I’m so glad to hear good things about Prisoner of Night and Fog, I don’t know of many people who have read it so that’s certainly reassuring 🙂 Thanks for your reccs, it’s a huge help! I’ve got to prioritise these series somehow… Not enough time in the day 😀

Leave a comment

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other subscribers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories