Sunday Funday: Week In Review {11}

Leave a comment

April 26, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Sunday Funday is a post created by the wonderful Cristina of Girl in the Pages, as a way of recapping the bookish and not-so-bookish goings on of the past week.  So here we go!

April 19 – April 26

Life:

I was super glad for this work week to be over, it wasn’t particularly enjoyable for a multitude of reasons but it did make me super glad to work for such an amazing organisation.  It’s nice to work for a company that cares when things don’t go the way they should – I haven’t need to know that until recently, but I’m glad they’re pulling through for me when push comes to shove 🙂

Outside of work, my week has been pretty good.  On Friday night I finally saw Taylor Henderson in concert.  He’s an Aussie singer, for those not in the know, and he was the runner up on X Factor two years ago.  His voice was sublime, it was just as good I as expected!  This week I’m going to see The Script at Rod Laver Arena, after I bought some last minute tickets tonight, I’m super excited!  I also finally saw Furious 7, but more of that below 🙂

Carlton also got their first win of the season, yay!!!  I’m off to the footy on Friday night so it’ll be good to have had a win already, takes a smidge of the pressure off in Mick Malthouse’s record breaking game as a coach.  Yesterday was pretty much a footy-fest, from 11am until 11pm; it was one game after another!

Yesterday was also ANZAC Day, a day where we commemorate the Australian and New Zealand armed forces, particularly those who have served and died in wars, peacekeeping missions and conflicts.  It was originally to honour the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZACs) who fought at Gallipoli in the First World War, and this year was the 100th anniversary of the landing at Gallipoli.  It’s separate from Rememberance Day, which we also commemorate, and there are dawn services and marches by those who have served or their families.  It’s one of the most solemn days on our calendar, and we all like to take a bit of time out to remember the fallen.

What I’m…

Reading:

This week I finished reading We All Looked Up which was a very different read.  It was particularly thought provoking and not at all what I was expecting.  I think I expected something a little less depressing, although I don’t know how an apocalyptic book could ever not be depressing!  I’d definitely recommend it, it was a four star read for me (review) 🙂

I’m now reading What I Thought Was True, and it hasn’t seemed to hook me in as much as My Life Next Door, which is an awesome Huntley Fitzpatrick read… Although, I think this may be due to me not really being in a mood to read at the moment.  I’ll get there!

Watching:

Finally got to see Furious 7!  I went to see it this afternoon with the parents and my feelings are a bit mixed… I miss the cars which don’t seem to feature as much, but I quite enjoyed the film.  I liked the focus on Dom and Letty’s relationship, and Brian didn’t seem to be in it as much as he had been past films.  This was a bummer, but totally understandable, and it allowed more focus on some of the others in the franchise.  Some of the stunts were completely unbelievable but that’s what these films are all about, right!?  I’m interested to see were film 8 takes things…

Listening to:

After seeing Taylor Henderson in concert on Friday night, I’ve been listening to his last album on repeat this weekend.  This one is a big favourite!

This song is everywhere on the radio right now and it’s super catchy!  The acoustic version is also pretty cool 🙂

Around the Blog:

19 April: Sunday Funday: Week In Review {10}

20 April: Review: We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach ~ 4 stars

So that’s my week in review!  How about you, did you do anything exciting this past week?

 

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

