Sunday Funday: Week In Review {10}

1

April 19, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Sunday Funday is a post created by the wonderful Cristina of Girl in the Pages, as a way of recapping the bookish and not-so-bookish goings on of the past week.  So here we go!

April 12 – April 19

Life:

I’ve had an interesting couple of days this week, I’ve really enjoyed it!  On Thursday, I headed into the city after work to enjoy some of the Comedy Festival before it finished.  Before meeting up with my friends though, I just HAD to go to the Dymocks on Collins Street!  That place is awesome, I could easily spend a whole day in there along with all of my money… As it turns out, I was given a gift voucher when I finished up at my last job, so that’s burning a hole in my pocket!  I bought a copy of The Winners’ Crime by Marie Rutkoski and also Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.  My restraint was pretty amazing, but I decided to save the rest of the voucher for another day.

From there I headed to ACMI at Federation Square for my first show of the evening, Dave Thornton’s Spit & Polish.  For those of you who don’t live in Melbourne, Dave is one half of Fox FM’s breakfast radio show with Fifi Box.  He’s also been on The Project occasionally, and his show was hilarious!  Quite enjoyable, even if he was tired from his 4:30am starts 🙂 After that, my friends and I made our way to the Comedy Theatre for some Wil Anderson in his show Free Wil.  I don’t know about you but I absolutely adore Wil Anderson, but that adoration has really only come on over the last 5-6 years.  Prior to that, I couldn’t stand him, he was too political for me.  It’s funny how we change!  Wil’s show was gut-bustingly funny, as per usual, in what was his 20th consecutive year at the festival.  The Comedy Festival is one of my favourite Melbourne events each year, and while I didn’t get to see as many shows as I would’ve liked I’m glad I made it there again this year.  I’m not so glad to have gotten a parking ticket to the tune of $74 though…

I also spent the weekend in Bendigo catching up with friends, which was a blast.  I had a lovely day on Saturday, it started with lunch with some friends and then a friend and I headed to an engagement party in the afternoon.  After that, my friend and I went and had a wine at the Wine Bank on View, before having some dinner at The Hotel Shamrock.  We then went back to our other friend’s house, where we proceeded to stay up and talk until 2am!  This morning was spent sleeping in, and once we finally woke up we went to the Bendigo Art Gallery.

The Gallery has had some amazing exhibitions over the last 5 years, and they’ve got a great exhibition there at the moment, Imagining Ned.  It’s all about Ned Kelly, the Aussie Bushranger, and there’s pieces there from Sidney Nolan, Arthur Boyd, Adam Cullen, Juan Davila and Norman Lindsay.  It’s not just restricted to paintings, there’s magazines, photographs, a movie from the early 1900s, postcards, tapestries, pottery, the works!  It’s a fantastic exhibition, and I highly recommend it if you’re able to get to Bendigo before 28 June when it finishes.  After that, we had some lunch at the Gallery and drove back to Melbourne.  Let’s just say I’ve well and truly hit the wall now!

 

What I’m…

Reading:

What a busy week reading I’ve had!  First of all, I finished reading The Winner’s Crime, book #2 in the trilogy (review).  I also read Bridge of Snow, which is a prequel to The Winner’s Curse and The Winner’s Crime, and it was such a sweet little read.

Simon vs the Home Sapiens Agenda was another read from this week, and what a fabulous read it was!  So cute and adorable, I adored the relationship between Simon and Blue (review).

I’m now reading We All Looked Up and I’m quite enjoying it.  It’s certainly a very intriguing read; hopefully I’ll have it finished and the review posted by tomorrow.

Watching:

I still haven’t been able to get to see Furious 7, which is a bummer!  I actually haven’t been watching a lot of anything lately, aside from the usual MKR and The Block… I need to sit down and check all the things I want to watch on Netflix, although I’m not sure I really have time for a binge right now 🙂

Listening to:

James Bay’s Scars is my song of the week, I can’t get it out of my head.  This live version is sublime, I hope I can see him live one day!

Around the Blog:

12 April: Sunday Funday: Week In Review {9}

13 April: Review: The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1) by Marie Rutkoski ~ 4 stars

13 April: Review: The Winner’s Crime (The Winner’s Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski ~ 5 stars

14 April: Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Inspiring Quotes from Books!

15 April: Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli ~ 5 stars

So that’s my week in review!  How about you, did you do anything exciting this past week?

 

One thought on “Sunday Funday: Week In Review {10}

  1. lissiet says:

    Wine Bank with a View sounds really cool! I enjoyed The Winner’s Crime, I hope you are liking it!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

