Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Inspiring Quotes from Books!

4

April 14, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Inspiring Quotes from Books.  I really should keep a journal of my most inspiring quotes, to motivate me when I need it…  So, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂

“Isn’t that what stories do, make real things fake, and fake things real?”
The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

This is such a great quote about reading and it’s so true, my real life seems to fade away and the stories come to life when I read.

“Comfort zones are overrated. They make you lazy.”
Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta

This quote reminds me to always push myself beyond my comfort zones, which is easier said than done!  But I do think there’s some truth to this, there’s so much more to discover if you just step outside the square.

“Hope can be a powerful force. Maybe there’s no actual magic in it, but when you know what you hope for most and hold it like a light within you, you can make things happen, almost like magic.”
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

We could all strive to have a little more hope in our lives, and this quote is so beautiful.

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

People underestimate libraries; there’s so much that can be learned in all those wonderful books.  All it takes is an idea to spark a revolution…

“Maybe it’s time to find a new normal.”
Something Like Normal by Trish Doller

I’m not the most flexible person and can freak out a bit when things change or deviate from the norm.  This quote inspires me to let go a bit and allow my normal to change.

“A small fact: You are going to die….does this worry you?”
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

It does me well to remember this, and it reminds me to live life to the fullest.  I’m a firm believer that when it’s your time, it’s your time, and I wouldn’t want to have any regrets when I reach the end.

“For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It is a person. And we are finally home.”
Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

So true, and such a lovely sentiment!  I hope to find this one day 🙂

“Things get better — hurt less — over time. If you let them.”
Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

It may not seem like it at the time, but time does heal all wounds.  Sometimes I need to be reminded of this, and this quote inspires me to push on even in the dark times.

“You must learn some of my philosophy. Think only of the past as its remembrance gives you pleasure.”
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I’m an overthinker and constantly dwell on the past, particularly the things I’d love to change.  It’d be far nicer to dwell on the pleasant things, and this is something I must remember to do more often.

“A thousand moments that I had just taken for granted – mostly because I had assumed that there would be a thousand more.”
Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

This inspires me in a similar way to the above quote from The Book Thief.  I aim to enjoy every moment, because you never know how many more you’ll get!

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Inspiring Quotes from Books!

  1. I almost put that Anna and the French Kiss quote on my list too! Its great. Also love the Rainbow Rowell quote – Great list!

  2. I’ve got that Saving Francesca quote on my TTT too! I agree with that quote wholeheartedly, though like you said, it’s sometimes hard to push myself out of my comfort zone.
    My TTT!

  3. christine danielle says:

    I really like the quote on throne of glass

    Top Ten Tuesday

  4. laura says:

    nice list… so much hope 🙂

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

