Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

1

April 8, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm


A Little Something Different
by Sandy Hall
Publisher/Year: Swoon Reads, 26 August 2014
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: Paperback
Source: I bought it!
Rating: 4.5 stars!
Other books from author: Signs Point to Yes (2015) & Can’t Kiss, Won’t Tell (2016)

Book Depository | Goodreads | Website | Twitter

Goodreads Synopsis

Lea and Gale are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is a little aloof, Gabe is shy, and it looks like they are never going to work things out.

But something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at the local Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV series. The bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes Lea and Gabe were meant to be together.

Fall in love with falling in love with this irresistibly romantic, completely original novel!

What I Thought…

OMG, this book is so sweet it almost gave me a toothache!  But in the best way possible of course 🙂 This book made me fall in love with love, with is no mean feat for a cynic like me!

A Little Something Different allows us to see the journey Lea and Gabe take as they fall in love, but it’s a little more creative than it sounds.  This book is written from the perspective of multiple characters, none of whom are Lea and Gabe.  That’s right, we get to witness them fall in love through the eyes of the characters who witness their journey.  I was a little bit hesitant when I realised this, I was a little bit worried that there may be too many characters for me to remember or keep track of.  Believe it or not, this happens a lot to me, I’m really no good with names!

Fortunately, this was definitely not the case.  Hall handled the multiple POVs with aplomb, and I thoroughly enjoyed each character’s persepective.  My favourite would have to be the squirrel, it was super cute!  I mean, really, if you can write from the POV of a squirrel and do it convincingly, you can pretty much do anything you want!  Also, seeing Lea and Gabe through the eyes of their friends and acquaintances showed a varied view each character had of them and their budding romance.  I felt like I knew them, even though I never heard directly from them.  Despite not hearing from Lea and Gabe themselves, their characters were very well-rounded indeed.

If anything, my only criticism of this book is it’s length.  At 250 odd pages, it’s super short – and certainly not long enough to appease me!  I could have happily read another 250 pages about Lea and Gabe, but even that’s the mark of a good book.  It’s rare that I’m happy with a bookcoming to an end when I’m enjoying reading it so much.  I mean, I still whinge that we didn’t get enough Harry Potter.  You know, that series with 7 books and 3400 odd pages… So I’m pretty sure I’m the problem here!

Another wonderful thing about this book is the way it gave me all the feels.  I always judge a book by how it makes me emote, and this one certainly did that.  I felt awkward like Gabe at times.  Other times, Lea made me feel like a blushing schoolgirl.  I swooned, I laughed, and I also got cranky at times during certain characters’ POV.  A Little Something Different certainly ticks all the emotional boxes.

This is such a cute, quirky and tender read, I absolutely loved it.  If you like mostly fluffy YA romances, then this is definitely the book for you and I highly recommend it!

What did you think of this book?  Did you enjoy it?

One thought on “Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

  1. thebigfatf says:

    OOO, this is the book I’ve been meaning to read! The different perspectives really captured me and that pretty much drew me. Now, I REALLY have to read this book. Great review!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

