So I kinda disappeared…

Leave a comment

April 6, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Hello!  Remember me?  I’m that blogger who dropped off the face of the earth about a month ago, and before that I’d hardly posted for the previous two months.  Not only have I not been blogging, I haven’t read another blog in months and my comments have been non-existent…  Yep, that’s right, I’m that slackarse blogger!

Don’t worry, I’m not apologising for not being around, mostly because I don’t believe in that.  This is my hobby, not my job, and I’ve come to realise that sometimes things just get in the way and there’s not a lot I can do about it.  What I’d like to do, if that’s ok with you, is share what’s been going on with me lately that’s put a bit of a dampener on my blogging and reading.

1. My cousin came to visit from Italy

So, I think I’ve mentioned this earlier but I had a cousin come to visit from Italy from 27 November 2014 to 26 January 2015.  At the time, I was living 1.5 hours away from my family, and so every weekend was spent driving backwards and forwards from Melbourne.  I also took three weeks of annual leave from work during that time and spent that time in Melbourne.  This was so tiring, and during the week the only thing I wanted to do after work was veg out on the couch in front of the telly.  I was knackered.

In all of that, my energy and time for blogging was completely sapped.  I didn’t even want to look at my computer, it was all too much effort.  I was reading more, which was good, but I just couldn’t deal with the blog.

In a way though, I’m glad this happened.  Having my cousin here was possibly a once in a lifetime opportunity, and I wasn’t going to miss it by spending all my time on the computer!  I got a few posts out, but didn’t really focus too much on the blog.  I figured there’d be time for that later…  How wrong I’d be!

2.  I got a new job & moved back to Melbourne!

The day after my cousin left, I decided to apply for a new job in Melbourne.  It was within the same organisation that I already worked for, but if successful it would bring me home.  I loved living in the country but I’d had enough of the travel back and forth.  My life was in Melbourne, I’d been gone for two years and it was enough.

Lo and behold, I had an interview in mid-February, and a week later I found out I got the job!  They wanted me to start on 30 March, and so the rest of February and March turned into a blur of packing my house and making all the arrangements for me to move.  Oh em gee.  Boy do I hate packing and moving!  I’d never moved until I was 18 years old, and in the nine years since I’ve moved way too many times to count.  Unfortunately, I think I have at least another two moves on the horizon, but that’s another story.

With all the packing and moving I had to do, along with regular trips back to Melbourne on the weekends, I had little time to blog or even read.  Then, something awful happened…

3.  I got really sick…

About three weeks ago, I got really sick.  I had a cold/flu/chest/sinus/bleugh thing and it still hasn’t completely gone away, but I haven’t been that sick in a while.  I also couldn’t take any sick leave from work because I had to finish up my last job and then start the new one.  Let’s just say I’ve been hanging out for this four day long weekend we’ve had for Easter, it’s been a much needed break.

As a result, I actually couldn’t finish packing up my house or have all that much to do with the move a little over a week ago.  I was too sick and my parents took care of that for me.  I also couldn’t be bothered picking up a book or even looking at my computer.  When I haven’t been at work, I’ve either been flat out on the couch watching telly or in bed.  It’s been fun!

I think I’m on the other end of it now, but it’s still lingering.  I’m so over it though, I wish it would just disappear completely.  Of course, eating Easter lunch outside yesterday in 17C degrees wasn’t a great idea…

So… What now?

So here I am, all those months later.  Now, I plan to get back into the swing of things with my reading and my blogging.  I feel a lot more settled now in Melbourne, and I should have the time to do this more regularly.  I have a lot to catch up on, and I’m looking forward to it!

 

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

