Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 All-Time Favourite Books From the Past 3 Years!

8

March 3, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten all-time favourite books from the past 3 years.  I’m not sure if this refers to books published in the last 3 years, or books read in the last 3 years… I’ll be focusing on books I’ve read over the last 3 years that I absolutely ADORE.  In chronological order of date first read, here’s my list 🙂

25 August 2012: On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta (review)
his book is one of my all-time favourites EVER, not just of the last three years.  I don’t know how many times I’ve read this, but it never fails to tug at the heartstrings.  I tell everyone to read this, and I mean EVERYONE.  So DO IT.

4 May 2013: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
What can I say about TFiOS which hasn’t already been said by millions of others?  Let’s just say, it’s pretty damn amazing.  I was late to the party, but I’m glad I got there in the end.  Ture to form though, I still haven’t seen the movie…

22 July 2013: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (review)
This book is super quirky and a lot of fun.  It’s a brilliant take on friendship and an unconventional romance.  I think it was also one of the first books I’ve read in male POV, which is a travesty if you ask me!

25-28 December 2013: The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins
Another book I was ridiculously late to read… I can’t believe I waited so long to read this series!  To say I was hooked is an understatement, I only stopped reading to eat, work and sleep.  And if I hadn’t had to do those things, I wouldn’t have stopped at all!

24 January 2014: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (review)
This book still gets me, every single time.  I love reading about this time period, it’s really interesting to me, especially fictionalised accounts set in that era.  Add in Liesel, Rudy, Max, and all the rest… The movie was also pretty fantastic too 😀

4 April 2014: Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller (review)
I’d never read such a realistic, yet fictional, portrayal of the issues faced by the MC in this book.  From the child abduction, mental health and parental alienation, to the romance and new cultures, it was all handled with poise.  A phenomenal read.

30 June 2014: Open Road Summer by Emery Lord (review)
This was such a fun and sassy read, I loved it!  I need to buy a copy for my personal library 🙂 I loved the musical aspects, the friendships, and of course the romance!  Who could go past it!  And it’s a road trip book… I really want to do a road trip through America one day.

5 September 2014: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins (review)
I love the first two books in this series, they’re both amazing reads, but the last book in the series was my absolute favourite.  I didn’t think anything could top Etienne, but the relationship between Josh and Isla was mesmerising, both the good and the flawed.  Not to mention the beautiful landscape: Paris, Manhattan, Barcelona… Amazing!

10 September 2014: Where She Went by Gayle Forman
I found it a little bit difficult to connect with If I Stay at times, but I had not such problems with this book.  I was hooked from the get go, and made the mistake of starting this at 10:30pm on a work night… Let’s just say it was after midnight when I went to sleep and I was extremely tired at work the next day.  Worth it!

22 September 2014: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Another series I’ve been slow to start – I could do a whole post on books and series I started much later than everyone else.  I’m such a procrastinator…  Much like everyone else, I’m now hooked on this series and can’t wait for book #4 to come out later this year.  Of course, I’ll need to read Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire first!  (I’ve read Assassin’s Blade :D)

Honourable Mentions:
Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Something Like Normal by Trish Doller
The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 All-Time Favourite Books From the Past 3 Years!

  1. Great TTT! So many good books!

  2. Great list!!! I agree with so many of them…and then the rest I’m like….*adds to TBR list* *casually* Man I REALLY need to read The Book Thief, I think I’ll read it next or in 3 – 6 books time…

  3. HOLLY says:

    Awesome list! I agree with a lot of your picks, but especially Jellicoe Road- it’s the first one on my list as well! I just love everything about that book so much. I love the intertwining stories, the characters, the setting… everything! It’s nice to see that someone else likes it a lot too! 🙂

  4. readerbuzz says:

    Despite numerous encouragements to do so, I still haven’t read Jelicoe. Crazy. It’s sitting right there on my shelf.

    I tweaked the prompt a bit. Here’s my TTT!

  5. Lots of favorites on this list. Especially Morgan Matson, Huntley Fitzpatrick, Gayle Forman, Stephanie Perkins, and John Green!

  6. Love that you included the dates! Also, you’ve got so many great books on this list! Attachments was my first Rainbow Rowell book, and I loved it. Seriously, I could point out so many books on this list that I love, but this comment is probably way too long already. 🙂
    My TTT!

  7. bftreviews says:

    Throne of Glass made my list too. I’m really loving it so far! I hope she keeps it up.
    Check mine out here

  8. Krystianna says:

    Great picks! I love the Fault in Our Stars and the Hunger Games! I’ve been meaning to check out Attachments for a while now. 🙂 Have a great week!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

