#ReRead2015 Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling

1

February 28, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling
Publisher/Year: Bloomsbury, 21 June 2003
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Hardback
Source: I bought it!
Rating: 5 stars!
Other books from author: Harry Potter series, Hogwarts Library series, The Casual Vacancy, Cormoran Strikes series (as Robert Galbraith)

Book Depository | Goodreads | Twitter | Website

***This review will be spoilery, so I’d avoid it if you haven’t read Harry Potter before***

Goodreads Synopsis

Harry Potter is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. His best friends Ron and Hermione have been very secretive all summer and he is desperate to get back to school and find out what has been going on. However, what Harry discovers is far more devastating than he could ever have expected…

What I Thought…

WHEN I First Read

I read this the same day it was released, on 21 June 2003, and I had to wait until I finished work at 4pm to start it… I still remember the injustice of it all!

WHAT I Remember

This book has one of my favourite innocuous little scenes in it, I still remember cracking up at it.  It’s in the beginning, when Harry is listening to the news outside under the windowsill.  The Dursleys freaking out and questioning him, his comment that the news changes every day, I loved it!  I remember hating Umbridge with a PASSION, stupid cow, and my feelings towards Dumbledore weren’t all that friendly.  Much like Harry, I wasn’t too pleased that he was seemingly ignoring him.

This book certainly pleased me with all it’s Sirius goodness, but I remember bawling my eyes out at the end.  I had to read the bit with the veil several times over, much like Harry I couldn’t believe that he was gone.  So sad!

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read

Much like the rest of the series, I hadn’t read it for a long time, at least eight years.  I think we can all agree that that’s just not good enough!

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

Gosh, Harry’s an angry little bugger, isn’t he?!  I’d forgotten just how angst Harry was in this one, I was a bit surprised that it went on for so long.  My feelings after reading this were fairly similar to the first time around: I hated Umbridge, I loved Sirius, Dumbledore made me cranky and the Dursleys made me laugh 🙂

It amazes me that even though I know it’s coming, Sirius’ death still gets me every time!  Again, I reread that scene with the veil over and over, in the hopes it would somehow change!  Newsflash Bernadette, no matter how much you Sirius to survive, it ain’t gonna happen 😀

The prophecy also didn’t feel so abstract to me this time around; the first time around I knew it was a big deal, but I didn’t know just how BIG a deal it was.  Nor how selective Dumbledore was being with his information, that wily rascal!  I certainly paid a lot more attention to it, and carefully read that part a few times.

WOULD I Re-Read Again

Yes, Yes, Yes, 1000000000000 times Yes.

What did you think of this book?  Did you enjoy it?

One thought on “#ReRead2015 Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling

  1. I know! You forget just how angry he is in number 5! It’s almost like the other characters are more rational at telling the story…if I had any say I would’ve gotten Harry to a psychologist, but I guess Snape’s Occlumency worked okayish…?
    AND HIS FIRST KISS NAWWWWW!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

