#ReRead2015 Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

1

February 27, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

HP and the Goblet of FireHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling
Publisher/Year: Bloomsbury, 8 July 2000
Genre: Young Adult, Middle Grade, Fantasy
Format: Hardback
Source: Mum & Dad bought it for me!
Rating: 5 stars!
Other books from author: Harry Potter series, Hogwarts Library series, The Casual Vacancy, Cormoran Strikes series (as Robert Galbraith)

Book Depository | Goodreads | Twitter | Website

***This review will be spoilery, so I’d avoid it if you haven’t read Harry Potter before***

Goodreads Synopsis

The summer holidays are dragging on and Harry Potter can’t wait for the start of the school year. It is his fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and there are spells to be learnt and (unluckily) Potions and Divination lessons to be attended. But Harry can’t know that the atmosphere is darkening around him, and his worst enemy is preparing a fate that it seems will be inescapable …With characteristic wit, fast-paced humour and marvellous emotional depth, J.K. Rowling has proved herself yet again to be a master story-teller.

What I Thought…

WHEN I First Read

I begged my parents to buy this for me, after I devoured the first three books.  I first read it in 2001, but I’ve read it countless times since – my copy is looking particularly battered…

WHAT I Remember

I was super scared by the end of this, HOW could Voldemort POSSIBLY be back?!  Not to mention the creepy graveyard, the fake Mad-Eye and Diggory’s death.  This was the first HP book to make me cry as well, so that’s something I spose.

Call me crazy, but I actually enjoyed the conflict between Ron and Harry; Rob is super stubborn and I see a lot of myself in that, but it was good to see that even the best of friends can have their down times.  What this book lacked was enough Sirius Black, the teaser in the fire was simply not enough.  More Sirius, I say!  In fact, that should be the motto of these books 😀

I loved the idea of an interschool competition.  We do that a lot here in Australia, and I’m sure it happens in the UK and worldwide, albeit not so life threatening… An the Quidditch World Cup was sensational, so vivid in my mind’s eye.

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read

Much like the rest of the series, I hadn’t read it for a long time, at least eight years.  I think we can all agree that that’s just not good enough!

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

Reading these books is like returning home after a long journey, and this time around was certainly no exception.  Also, because I know what happens in latter books, I picked up things I otherwise hadn’t in previous reads.  I certainly paid more attention to Voldemort’s rebirthing than I had in previous reads, especially the blood connection between him and Harry now.  I was sitting there going “you don’t want to do that, dude…”

I think I felt the lack of Sirius even more keenly, knowing how little of him there is to come in the next three books but for sections of OoTP.  I really found myself cheering for Harry, a lot more than I had during previous reads.  Also, Ron’s knuckleheadedness was not as endearing this time around 🙂 All in all, I loved it all over again.

WOULD I Re-Read Again

100 million times, yes!  I adore this book and the series, and the answer to this question will always be YES.

What did you think of this book?  Did you enjoy it?

One thought on “#ReRead2015 Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

  1. I’m always astounded at how well the series is thought out EVERY time I re-read them! I remember the first I read HPGOF and I was like :O CEDRIC!!!!! And I was giggling at the blossoming romance between Harry and Cho…but wow there is so much more and every time, EVERY TIME IT GET AWESOME-R!!!! 😀
    Oh god now you’ve brought back the feels….
    Thanks for the review!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

