Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Favourite Heroines From Books!

26

February 24, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Favourite Heroines from Books.  In no particular order here’s my list 🙂

Untitled design(1)

Anne Shirley, Anne of Green Gables
Elizabeth Bennet, Pride and Prejudice
Katniss Everdeen, The Hunger Games
Karou, Daughter of Smoke and Bone
Taylor Markham, On the Jellicoe Road
Josephine March, Little Women
Alina Starkov, Shadow and Bone
Hermione Granger, Harry Potter series
Mrs Weasley, Harry Potter series
Celaena Sardothien, Throne of Glass

These women may come from differents times, places and universes in history, but they all have one thing in common – they’re kick-arse women who take no prisoners and don’t subscribe to societal norms.  Love them!

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Favourite Heroines From Books!

  1. GO KATNISS AND MRS WEASLEY!!!! (omg this made me remember/realise how much I love and adore Molly Weasley!!!)

    • I know, how great is she! “Not my daughter you bitch!” Just perfect. I was going to include Ginny and Luna but then the list was starting to turn into my top 10 HP heroines, which is pretty much ALL of them. I thought Mrs Weasley was the appropriate pick, she’s so wonderful across the whole series.

  2. HOLLY says:

    Taylor Markham is such a good one! I should have included her on my list haha 🙂 That book is fantastic. I really need to get around to reading Melina Marchetta’s other books. Great list!

  3. Belindas Crafts says:

    I like your list.I forgot about Hunger Games that’s a good one. I still haven’t read Throne of Glass or Shadow and Bone. Both are on my bookshelf so I guess I better get to it. Come check out my list:
    http://www.belindascrafts.com/category/belindas-book-nook/

  4. Aidyl Ewoh says:

    Oh yes! I like Anne of Green Gables, but more from the movie than the books. (Probably because I watched the movies when I was a little girl and wasn’t introduced to the books until I was in my late teens.) Here’s my list: ://www.aidylewoh.blogspot.com/2015/02/top-ten-tuesday-favorite-heroines-from_24.html

    • Yeah, I love the movies, they’re definitely childhood favourites. I actually can’t remember whether I read the books first or saw the movies, it’s like the eternal question about the chicken, the egg and which one came first! I remember finding the movies in the video store (that’s showing my age!) and I remember buying the books, but I can’t remember which came first as both happened when I was 10ish… Maybe? I think I saw the films first though… I dunno!

  5. Great choices! I love that you included Mrs. Weasley. That is awesome, just like her.
    My TTT!

  6. Great list, I’ve seen Celaena on so many today!
    Cora @ Tea Party Princess

  7. Emma says:

    Lovely list Bernadette! Great to se Jo March make your list too 🙂 Here’s my TTT if you would like to check it out 🙂 http://emmasbookery.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/top-ten-favourite-heroines.html

  8. Awww..your list is fab, and we have a bunch of names in common! Out of all your selections it would be a tie between Celaena and Anne. What a pair! lol!

  9. Katniss and Alina are on my list too! I’ve heard such good things about Jellicoe Road.
    – Emma Likes Books

  10. Great list! Katniss made my list as well. I’m hoping to read Throne of Glass really soon because I’ve heard awesome things about it! I love your blog; I’m a new follower! 🙂
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  11. Anne, Elizabeth, Katniss, Karou, and Hermione YES YES! But I adore that you added Mrs. Weasley! Great picks!

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  12. Katniss should just run for president in the book community :]

    My Top Ten :]

  13. Love this list!❤️

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

