#ReRead2015 Review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling

2

February 5, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling
Publisher/Year: Bloomsbury, 8 July 1999
Genre: Young Adult, Middle Grade, Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Source: Mum & Dad bought it for me!
Rating: 5 stars!
Other books from author: Harry Potter series, Hogwarts Library series, The Casual Vacancy, Cormoran Strikes series (as Robert Galbraith)

Book Depository | Goodreads | Twitter | Website

***This review will be spoilery, so I’d avoid it if you haven’t read Harry Potter before***

Goodreads Synopsis

Harry Potter, along with his best friends, Ron and Hermione, is about to start his third year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry can’t wait to get back to school after the summer holidays. (Who wouldn’t if they lived with the horrible Dursleys?) But when Harry gets to Hogwarts, the atmosphere is tense. There’s an escaped mass murderer on the loose, and the sinister prison guards of Azkaban have been called in to guard the school…

What I Thought…

WHEN I First Read

Like Chamber of Secrets, I read this in early 2001 after begging my parents to buy it for me.  They didn’t know what they started when the bought me Philosopher’s Stone for Christmas the year before!

WHAT I Remember

I remember reading this one over and over again back in the day… Why, you may ask?  I’ll give you one reason: Sirius Black!  Sirius has been one of my all-time favourite characters from the minute we found out he wasn’t Voldemort’s right hand man.  I remember reading th epart when he asks Harry to come and live with him, and Harry’s so excited and I got so excited too… Alas, it was not meant to be.

I’ve always loved that we find out more about Harry’s back story in Prisoner of Azkaban; his parents, their time at Hogwarts, their untimely death.  I also thought the Aunt Marge disaster was one of the funniest things ever!  This has always been my favourite of all the books in the series, but maybe that will change with the re-read?

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read

Again, I hadn’t read it for a long time, at least eight years.  Ridiculous considering how much I love it!

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

The love was still there, and it’s certainly my favourite of the three I’ve re-read so far!  I got to relive the magic of the Knight Bus, and that crazy Stan Shunpike.  Harry is starting to get a bit older and it showed in this book, it felt less like a children’s book than it’s predecessors.  Of course, the themes start to pick up a bit in Prisoner of Azkaban, they’re a bit more grown up.

I loved reintroducing myself to Lupin and somehow I’d completely forgotten about Trelawney!  That scene where McGonagall tells Harry he doesn’t have to turn in his homework if he dies, cracks me up every time 🙂 It was just as magical this time around as it was all those years ago.

WOULD I Re-Read Again

Definitely, without a doubt.  I adored this book just as much as I did the other gajillion times I read it, maybe even more!

What did you think of this book?  Did you enjoy it?

2 thoughts on “#ReRead2015 Review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling

  1. YES!!! I LOVED THE MARAUDERS!!!! And I felt so sorry that **SPOILER** all of them ended up dead. And yes, emotional me as always, I cried.
    BUT OH WOW I LOVED THE TIME TURNING IN THIS!!!! Had me flailing while I read it! I was always full of Harry Potter feels in grade 5 and 6. 😄
    And the Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban movie has got to be my second favourite out of all of them. 🙂 great music, great cinematography, great graphics and great storyline! What more could you want? 🙂

    • The Marauders are my FAVOURITE, if ever I get a pet I will be calling it Sirius or Remus (I change my mind a lot 🙂 ). And while I adore Prisoner of Azkaban, particularly it’s cinematography, too many crucial plot points were left out of that film. I can still remember having to explain to my friend (who hadn’t read the books) who the Marauders were, why Harry’s patronus should’ve been corporeal and the form it should’ve taken, among other things.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

