#ReRead2015 Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling

2

February 5, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling
Publisher/Year: Bloomsbury, 30 June 1997
Genre: Young Adult, Middle Grade, Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Source: I got it for Christmas just over 14 years ago!
Rating: 5 stars!
Other books from author: Harry Potter series, Hogwarts Library series, The Casual Vacancy, Cormoran Strikes series (as Robert Galbraith)

Book Depository | Goodreads | Twitter | Website

***This review will be spoilery, so I’d avoid it if you haven’t read Harry Potter before***

Goodreads Synopsis

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy – until he is rescued by an owl, taken to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, learns to play Quidditch and does battle in a deadly duel. The Reason: HARRY POTTER IS A WIZARD!

What I Thought…

WHEN I First Read

I received this book for Christmas from my mum and dad in the year 2000.  Honestly, I thought it was a bit of a dud gift and wasn’t all that keen to read it… I has it in my head that I wouldn’t like the books, for some bizarre reason!  Shows what I know…

Anyways, I thought I’d give it a crack and I read it not long after that fateful Christmas.  This kicked off my love affair with JK Rowling’s brilliant writing, and I’ve re-read it countless times since.  The rest, as they say, is history!

WHAT I Remember

After I finished reading this for the first time, my preconceived notions had been completely shattered.  I was a Harry Potter convert, and I immediately started pestering my parents for books 2-4!

I remember reading this and feeling absolute joy.  I love this book so much and I find something new to love each time I read it.  Hagrid was always a favourite, but the Dursleys were so awful!  I really identified with Hermione and just wished she could be friends with Harry and Ron, so I loved it when they bonded over a troll 😀

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read

It has been a long time since I’ve done a full re-read of the series and I was keen to do it again.  I don’t think I’ve done it since Deathly Hallows was released and that was back in 2007, so… That’s a bit of a crime IMO!  I guess I just wanted to recapture the magic and see if I love it as much as an adult as I did when I first picked it up at 12 years old…

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

I couldn’t believe how much I’d forgotten!  I knew the basic story off the top of my head but some of the intricasies had slipped from my mind.  I totally forgot about the Hogwarts song and also the Sorting Hat’s song.  I’d forgotten about the ghosts and Nearly Headless Nick (i.e. that he exists!).  I was a bit surprised at how much I’d forgotten, to be honest.

I loved this just as much this time around as I did the first time.  I suppose I noticed that it was more middle grade, now that I’m nowhere near that age bracket, but that didn’t stop my enjoyment one little bit.  I revelled in it, and in a way it was like reading it for the first time all over again.

WOULD I Re-Read Again

Of course!  Only this time I won’t wait almost eight years to do so…  Silly me!

What did you think of this book?  Did you enjoy it?

2 thoughts on “#ReRead2015 Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling

  1. Oh yes, good ol’ Philosopher’s Stone! You know when I first read it, in the end obstacle course (for lack of anything better to call it) I honestly thought that Voldemort (when described as chalk white with a snake face) was a white chalk drawing on the wall of a snake and talking through the drawing! (ahhh 10 year old me) XD
    yeah I think I’ve read Harry Potter about 10 times in the past 7-8 years!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

