#ReRead2015 Review: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling

2

February 5, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling
Publisher/Year: Bloomsbury, 2 July 1998
Genre: Young Adult, Middle Grade, Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Source: Mum & Dad bought it for me!
Rating: 4.5 stars!
Other books from author: Harry Potter series, Hogwarts Library series, The Casual Vacancy, Cormoran Strikes series (as Robert Galbraith)

Book Depository | Goodreads | Twitter | Website

***This review will be spoilery, so I’d avoid it if you haven’t read Harry Potter before***

Goodreads Synopsis

Harry Potter is a wizard. He is in his second year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Little does he know that this year will be just as eventful as the last…

What I Thought…

WHEN I First Read

I first read this in early 2001 – after getting Philosopher’s Stone for Christmas in 2000, I begged my parents for the rest of the available books not long after finishing them.  I was lucky enough that they caved, and more Harry Potter goodness was delivered straight to my fingertips 🙂

WHAT I Remember

I remember this being my least favourite book in the series, but I don’t really remember why… It’s not like the life of Harry Potter in the book itself is boring, it’s pretty action-packed which is the norm for him!  I don’t think it had the same magic as the first book, and it seemed a bit slow at times trying to solve the mystery of the Chamber of Secrets.

I also didn’t like some of the new characters: Professor Gilderoy Lockhart, Colin Creevey, even Ginny got on my nerves a bit.  That being said, I still rated this book a solid 4 stars because it was still pretty damn awesome 😀 The writing was as magical as always and the mainstay characters were brilliant.

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read

Much like Philosopher’s Stone, I hadn’t read this for a very long time, at least eight years.  Actually, it had probably been even longer… As my least favourite book in the series, I used to skip over it when reading and jumped ahead to Prisoner of Azkaban.  For some reason, I think I used to be a bit bored by this book, and it was a bit of a chore to read it.

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

While I still found this book a little bit slow, my impression of it was far improved compared to previous reads.  Colin Creevey still annoyed me to death, but Ginny was super cute and Lockhart was annoying in a comical way (for me, anyway!).  The biggest thing for me was that I was able to savour it and enjoy it, without feeling bored at all.  So that was a huge change from previous reads.

I was able to appreciate the developing storyline, and I noticed things that would be crucial in later books which I’d never noticed before.  I guess that’s because those books hadn’t been published the last time I read this!  All in all, I have a much bigger appreciation for Chamber of Secrets than I did in the past.  Also, Dobby FTW.

WOULD I Re-Read Again

Of course!  I don’t think I’ll skip over it like I used to either, that was pretty silly of me… Of course, when you think of the Sirius Black goodness to come, it only makes sense that I’d want to skip ahead 🙂

What did you think of this book?  Did you enjoy it?

2 thoughts on “#ReRead2015 Review: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling

  1. I cried because I honestly thought Harry was going to die at the end there! I still remember! And that whispering Parseltongue actually had me creeped out for ages after I read it (perfect for scaring younger siblings! ((evil 11 year old Renee!)))

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

