#HarryPotterBookNight: My Journey as a Potterhead!

2

February 5, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

On this wonderful night, this Harry Potter Book Night I have decided to share with you how it came to be that I became a Potterhead.  Believe it or not, once upon a time I did not like Harry Potter.  This was, of course, before I’d even read it.  That’s right, I didn’t like Harry Potter but I hadn’t even read it!  Because this what a sane person does, innit?!

It was the year 2000 when I first heard about HP.  I was in year 7, my first year at high school, and I had a penchant for hating things I’d never really tried.  Mostly foods; fresh tomatoes and beetroot were high up on my list, both of which are now things I eat regularly.  Are you starting to see a bit of a pattern here?  I wish I could say I’ve outgrown this habit but from time to time I can see it creeping back in!  I just remember thinking that this HP thing sounded a bit silly to me, with its wizards and witches and all that magic.  What the hell did I know, I was 12 years old!

Then Christmas rolled around and I was about to get something I never expected.  Lo and behold, my parents bought me Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone!  I still have it, and you can see here where my parents wrote on the inside cover:

IMG_4529Needless to say, I was skeptical…  Then, a magical thing happened.  I read it and I was hooked!  I begged my parents to buy me every other book in the series, and in early 2001 Chamber of Secrets, Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire joined my collection.  I devoured them almost as quickly, and was disappointed to discover that the three more books to come were as yet unreleased.  I had to content myself with rereading them over and over, and over again…

Fast forward to June 2003, I was 15 years old and I’d just started work.  I remember it really clearly, I was devastated to hear that the Order of the Phoenix was being released on a Saturday, and I’d been rostered on to work.  I lived in a small country town at the time, and the nearest bookstore was 30 minutes away but it would’ve closed (and sold out) by the time I knocked off work.  And my parents were being really mean, they wouldn’t let me take the day off work to drive me to Wangaratta to the nearest bookstore.  I mean, really!  What’s up with that?!

Then, a lifeline.  A new teacher that year at school was a major HP fan, and he set up a preorder for a number of students so we could get the book that day in town.  The books would be delivered to the school, all we had to do was pick them up.  I sorted out my preorder and while I was at work, mum was in charge of the collection.  I got home from work around 4pm and started reading at 4:30pm.  I laughed, I fumed, I stopped (briefly) for dinner and then I was right back at it!  I finished Order of the Phoenix just after midnight, bawling my eyes out for reasons.  It was like there’d been a death in the family.  The next morning, I started it all over again a (slightly) slower pace 😀

Skip ahead to July 2005, and once again the release date was a Saturday.  You guessed it, I had to work again!  This time I was in my final year of high school, I was 17 years old and I decided that I would start work slightly late that day.  My friends and I drove to Albury, a town an hour away, (well, a mum drove!) and we got there around 7am to wait (almost first!) in line outside the local Dymocks where we’d preordered our books.  I looked particularly wonderful that day, very tired/shabby-chic, and hadn’t anticipated that we’d end up in The Border Mail (the regional newspaper) and on the local news.  Well done me!  At 8am, we grabbed our copy of Half-Blood Prince and headed back home.  One friend started reading in the car, I can’t remember if the other two also did this but I know I didn’t.  My reasoning was twofold: firstly, I didn’t want to start to book only to have to put it down to go to work and, perhaps most importantly, I get carsick.  Let’s not risk it when there’s a precious new book in the car!

I got home, went to work, and suffered until 4pm AGAIN.  My experience with Half-Blood Prince was very similar to Order of the Phoenix – I got home around 4pm and started reading at 4:30pm-ish.  Once again I only stopped (briefly) for dinner, before getting stuck back into it.  This time I finished around 11:50pm, and once again I was bawling my eyes out.  Death in the family no. 2.  Not happy!  Of course, the next morning I was right back at it for my first reread!When Deathly Hallows was released in July 2007, I was 19 years old and in my second year of university.  I wasn’t working at the time, and I’d just moved back in to my room on campus in Melbourne.  This experience was by far the easiest of the lot!  I ambled down to my local Borders in the morning after a bit of a sleep-in, which was a five minute walk to Lygon Street.  I had preordered the book and picked it up fairly quickly, smirking gleefully at all the suckers waiting in line that hadn’t preordered.  Tee hee!  I knew the route back home so well that I started reading on my way, while I was walking… Yeah, not so smart; it’s one thing to do it from my parents’ house to my nonna’s house in small-town Australia when they lived next door to each other, it’s quite another thing to do it in inner-city Melbourne!  By dinnertime, I was done.  I bawled my eyes out at various time, more deaths in the family from the way I was behaving!  And while I loved the ending, I was really sad that it had all finished.

So that’s my HP story and how I came to love it so much!  And I haven’t even touched on the movies… I figure I’ll save that for another time, given that it’s Harry Potter Book Night 😀 Over the years, I’ve read the books countless times.  In fact, I’m currently in the middle of my zillionth reread 🙂 My copies are all very worn out and starting to come apart; they’ve been well loved.  The last three are all first editions, and I really don’t want any of them to deteriorate any further.  I’m thinking it might be time to buy a new set, all hardcovers, and put this set somewhere safe where they won’t break apart any further.  And so the journey continues!

How about you, when did you first read Harry Potter?  Was your journey gradual like mine, or was it over a shorter period of time after the books had all been released?

 

2 thoughts on “#HarryPotterBookNight: My Journey as a Potterhead!

  1. I remember I was in grade 4 and the Deathly Hallows came out and everyone was reading it and so I was a tad curious, but I was awfully scared of all things vaguely scary. (like, I was terrified of Scooby Doo and Never Ending Story) Umm but when I was in grade 5 so just under a year later, I can’t remember who got it as a gift or borrowed it, but I read the first one, liked it and then I read the rest and as I read it I got more and more hooked and soon I was reading them over and over to the point when my evil (no jokes he was lovely but just this made me cry) told me it was probably time to read something else and…*sob* TOOK AWAY MY HARRY POTTER BOOK FROM MY DESK!!! Well, at lunch I cried and my whole class told me it was okay that I liked Harry Potter and that I was allowed to read it as much as I liked! Anyway, that love never stopped, but just moved over a little to make room for many other fandoms. 🙂
    However, Harry Potter wasn’t my first fandom, I was actually a HUGE Narnia fanatic back in the ye old days of being 7 and 8 although wasn’t allowed to see the scary Prince Caspian movie (Rated M). But I definitely ALWAYS will love Harry Potter. 🙂

    • OMG, don’t say you were in Grade 4, that makes me feel spectacularly old! Of course, I was in my second year of uni which feels like a lifetime ago now, so I’m not ancient, but STILL. 😀
      Also, what your teacher did is not cool, not cool at all. TBH I’ve had to ban myself during this reread from reading before work or during my lunch break, because I know I won’t go to work if I do. I’ve been hooked! It was definitely my first bookish fandom, although I’ve certainly stumbled into many TV fandoms over the years.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

