#HarryPotterBookNight: My Favourite Quotes!

2

February 5, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

It simply wouldn’t be a Harry Potter Book Night without me sharing my absolute favourite quotes!  Without further ado, here they are 🙂 (WARNING: These may be spoilery if you haven’t read Harry Potter)

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”
Albus Dumbledore

“You haven’t got a letter on yours,” George observed. “I suppose she thinks you don’t forget your name. But we’re not stupid-we know we’re called Gred and Forge.”
George Weasley

“Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! Tweak!”
Albus Dumbledore

“Hogwarts, Hogwarts, Hoggy Warty Hogwarts,
Teach us something please,
Whether we be old and bald,
Or young with scabby knees,
Our heads could do with filling
With some interesting stuff,
For now they’re bare and full of air,
Dead flies and bits of fluff,
So teach us something worth knowing,
Bring us back what we’ve forgot,
Just do your best, we’ll do the rest,
And learn until our brains all rot…”
The Sorting Hat

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

“You will find that I will only truly have left this school when none here are loyal to me.”
Albus Dumbledore

“Honestly, if you were any slower, you’d be going backward.”
Draco Malfoy

“Oh, Potter, you rotter, oh, what have you done,
You’re killing off students, you think it’s good fun — ”
Peeves

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

“Mr. Moony presents his compliments to Professor Snape, and begs him to keep his abnormally large nose out of other people’s business.
Mr. Prongs agrees with Mr. Moony, and would like to add that Professor Snape is an ugly git.
Mr. Padfoot would like to register his astonishment that an idiot like that ever became a professor.
Mr. Wormtail bids Professor Snape good day, and advises him to wash his hair, the slimeball.”
The Marauder’s Map

“Turn to page three hundred and ninety-four.”
Severus Snape

“You are — truly your father’s son, Harry. . . .”
Sirius Black

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

“Don’t talk to me.”
“Why not?”
“Because I want to fix that in my memory for ever. Draco Malfoy, the amazing bouncing ferret…”
Ron Weasley

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.”
Albus Dumbledore

“Just because it’s taken you three years to notice, Ron, doesn’t mean no one else has spotted I’m a girl!”
Hermione Granger

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

“Just because you have the emotional range of a teaspoon doesn’t mean we all have.”
Hermione Granger

“Why were you lurking under our window?”
“Yes – yes, good point, Petunia! What were you doing under our windows, boy?”
“Listening to the news,” said Harry in a resigned voice.
His aunt and uncle exchanged looks of outrage.
“Listening to the news! Again?”
“Well, it changes every day, you see,” said Harry.”
Harry Potter, Vernon & Petunia Dursley

“We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.”
Sirius Black

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

“Why are you worrying about YOU-KNOW-WHO, when you should be worrying about YOU-NO-POO? The constipation sensation that’s gripping the nation!”
Weasley’s Wizarding Wheezes

“He accused me of being Dumbledore’s man through and through.”
“How very rude of him.”
“I told him I was.”
Dumbledore opened his mouth to speak and then closed it again. Fawkes the phoenix let out a low, soft, musical cry. To Harry’s intense embarrassment, he suddenly realized that Dumbledore’s bright blue eyes looked rather watery, and stared hastily at his own knee. When Dumbledore spoke, however, his voice was quite steady.
“I am very touched, Harry.”
Harry Potter, Albus Dumbledore

“Sometimes you remind me a lot of James. He called it my ‘furry little problem’ in company. Many people were under the impression that I owned a badly behaved rabbit.”
Remus Lupin

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

“Not my daughter, you bitch!”
Molly Weasley

“He must have known I’d want to leave you.”
“No, he must have known you would always want to come back.”
Harry Potter, Ron Weasley

“But this is touching, Severus,” said Dumbledore seriously. “Have you grown to care for the boy, after all?”
“For him?” shouted Snape. “Expecto Patronum!”
From the tip of his wand burst the silver doe. She landed on the office floor, bounded once across the office, and soared out of the window. Dumbledore watched her fly away, and as her silvery glow faded he turned back to Snape, and his eyes were full of tears.
“After all this time?”
“Always,” said Snape.”
Albus Dumbledore, Severus Snape

“We teachers are rather good at magic, you know.”
Minerva McGonagall

“The scar had not pained Harry for nineteen years. All was well.”
JK Rowling

2 thoughts on “#HarryPotterBookNight: My Favourite Quotes!

  1. ARRGGGHHHHH!!!! I FEEL LIKE I JUST DID AN ULTRA FAST MINI RE-READ!!!! *sobs* I REMEMBER SOME OF THOSE QUOTES!!! OMG THEY ARE THE BEST!!!!!
    I always remember the you-know-poo one. XD IT CRACKS ME UP EVERY TIME!!!!
    And you forget how much sassier Ron is in the books! 🙂 Love them all!
    And that 1 swear word in the whole series! ha ha ha, my primary school library didn’t have Deathly Hallows for that exact reason! NOT MY DAUGHTER YOU BITCH!!! I think Molly Weasley was rather justified in saying that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

