Time to Challenge Myself in 2015

4

February 3, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Hi guys!  After essentially a month long hiatus from blogging, I’m back!  January just wasn’t my month; in fact, between December and January I don’t really know where the time’s gone…

Between work, playing tourist with my cousin (she’s now gone back to Italy), spending time with friends and family, eating waaayy too much and the Australian Open, life just completely passed me by.  It also didn’t help that I was really sick with hayfever for two weeks last month, it was so debilitating.  If I hadn’t already been taking annual leave from work, I definitely would’ve booked in some sick leave.  I looked and sounded so awful that everyone at work thought I was sick with the flu and kept telling me to go home!  It was so silly, not to mention the fact that Spring is long gone and it’s been Summer for two months in Australia now…

Anyhoo, I’ve resolved that I’m going to be better at posting more regularly, even if it means that I don’t post everyday.  Honestly, I’ve never been able to sustain that and I think I just have to let that ideal go.  I’m going to take some time over the weekend to figure out how I want to do this, so I’m looking forward to that 🙂

In the meantime, I thought I’d share some of the challenges I’ve signed up for to complete in 2015.  This post gets a bit long, I hope you don’t mind… So here we go!

Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge

Last year, I set my goals way too high and it overwhelmed me.  Within two weeks, I was already 4 books behind target and it kept snowballing from there.  I kept trying to catch up but the longer it went on, the more behind I got.  I tried reducing the target as I went on, but I still didn’t reach it in the end.

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has
read 6 books toward her goal of 50 books.
hide

This year, I’ve set a much more manageable target of 50 books.  I’ve already read 6 books, which Goodreads tells me is 2 books ahead of schedule (!) and it’s certainly more than I’d read by this time last year.  At least I know that if I fall into a bit of a slump, I’m not going to fall spectacularly behind.

Re-Read Challenge 2015

I’ve already written a post about this challenge, you can check it out here.  Basically, it’s all about rereading!  I’ll be writing a recap post for January soon, so keep your eyes peeled for that 🙂

2015 A-Z Reading Challenge

This challenge is run by the Young Adult Book Club on Goodreads, and you can find the details here.  To participate in the challenge, I will be aiming to read 26 books, one for each letter of the alphabet.  The letter can come from the first letter of the first word in the title (ignoring words like ‘the’, ‘a’, etc).  It can also from the first letter of the author’s first name or surname.  Tricky letters like Q, X and Z can come from anywhere in the title or author’s name.

This challenge is a lot of fun, I participated last year and actually managed to finish it!  Also, you aren’t just limited to YA books, so long as 50% of the books you read are YA you’ll meet the criteria.

Australian YA Bloggers & Readers Book Club Challenge

I’m a bit ashamed in myself for how little I participated in the Aussie YA Bloggers and Readers Goodreads group last year.  And by little, I mean not at all.  What’s up with that Bernadette?  Terribly antisocial of me, wasn’t it?  Well, that changes now.

I’ve signed up for the Book Club Challenge, which sounds super exciting!  There are challenges for each month, with three prompts per month.  To fulfill the challenge each month, you need to read a book per prompt.  There’s a point system, bonus challenges, and prizes at the end!  The rules can be found here in much more detail, and the challenges for each month here.

I also plan to participate in the Book of the (Two) Month where I can, I’ve already purchased the pick for February/March.  FYI, it’s The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand.

Book Blogger Organisation Challenge

Brittany at The Book Addict’s Guide is hosting the Book Blogger Organisation Challenge, and given how disorganised I’ve been lately this is certainly the challenge for me!  To quote the button, this challenge is all about whipping your blog into shape!

The challenge runs for six months, and if it’s a hit there’s plans to bring it back from July to December.  There’s a schedule planned with tasks for each month, and I’ll be getting a jump start on this over the weekend.  Hopefully this will help me with all those bloggy things I’ve been neglecting, like updating widgets, posting on Goodreads, etc…

And there we have it!  Those are the challenges I’ve signed up for, feel free to check them out.  There were so many others I wanted to sign up for, but I had to draw the line somewhere.  I know myself too well, if I agree to do too much I’ll become overwhelmed and NONE of it will get done!  This should be fun though, and I can’t wait to get stuck into it all 🙂

4 thoughts on “Time to Challenge Myself in 2015

  1. HOLLY says:

    Best of luck with all your challenges! 🙂 Sounds like a busy year! 🙂

  2. Ooh cool! Wish I was able to be busy, but I already will be…with year 12! *dies inside* Good luck with your challenges and welcome back! yay!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

