Sunday Funday: Week In Review {7}

2

January 18, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Sunday Funday is a post created by the wonderful Cristina of Girl in the Pages, as a way of recapping the bookish and not-so-bookish goings on of the past week.  So here we go!

January 5 – January 18

Life:

Boy oh boy am I in a slump right now!  I”ve been so busy with work and when I get home the last thing I want to do is get on my computer and blog… And then last weekend I was in Sydney for a whirlwind visit, it’s been so crazy.  I’m going away this week and won’t have computer access to blog, so there will be another week without any posts, but after that it’ll be back to normal (I hope!).  Also, I’m incredibly behind on responding to comments on the blog and also on commenting on other blogs, I feel so bad!  I will get there, I just need things to slow down a bit.

Sydney was so much fun, I drove to Melbourne last Friday night after work and we flew up early Saturday morning.  Brunch was first up and then we were out and about sightseeing.  We hit up Darling Harbour, took a ferry to Circular Quay, saw the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House, and wandered around the Rocks.  We then walked up Pitt Street to the mall, and then went up the Centrepoint Tower.  I was a little disappointed in the views after the spectacular views of the Eureka Tower recently and also the Empire State Building in 2013, but I think it would’ve been better had the weather been better.

Sydney Harbour Bridge

Sydney Opera House {I was playing around with some candy coloured filters}

On Sunday we went to the Queen Victoria Building and had breakfast, before wandering around the shops.  We stopped for a Zumberon, Adriano Zumbo is the best!  I HAVE to go to his pasticceria in Melbourne (patisserie for my non-Italian friends 🙂 ), his cakes look DELICIOUS.  After that we took a bus to Circular Quay and a ferry to Manly.  It was pouring on Sunday, so we couldn’t go to the beach when we first got there.  We had lunch at a brewery, the cider was fantabulous, and then ambled over to the beach.  It would be nice to go there when the weather’s a bit better, although I’m assuming it would’ve been much more crowded!

Clock inside the QVB

After that, it was time to go home.  We went to the airport, flew home (after almost missing our flight despite being there two hours early thanks to a gate change) and had the taxi ride from hell back to my parents’ house.  I was pretty wired, so I decided to drive home straight away, and was home just after 10pm.  To say I’ve been knackered this week is an understatement!  But it was a lot of fun and my cousin really enjoyed it.

This week I’m in Melbourne for the week, and I’m looking forward to a bit of a break.  My cousin leaves on Australia Day (January 26th) so it’ll be nice to spend some more time with her before she goes.

What I’m…

Reading:

Dreams of Gods and MonstersI’m still reading Dreams of Gods and Monsters.  I picked it up a few weeks ago and then put it down, and I haven’t been able to get back into it.  Hopefully this week I can find some time to read it and finish it off, it’s just so long!  I think the size if daunting me more than anything at the moment…

I read All the Bright Places last week, and OMG did that one give me a book hangover! It was soooooo good, so different to what I was expecting but completely amazing.

I was then going to read I Was Here by Gayle Forman, but after that feel bomb I needed something different.  Enter Fly In Fly Out by Georgina Penney, and it was such a fun read!

Watching:

latestI am completely, totally and utterly hooked on Brooklyn Nine-Nine!  I watched the whole first season yesterday, and I’m now on to season 2.  It’s kinda like Scrubs, but in a police station instead of a hospital – the flashbacks, the irreverance, the dopey lead and his quest for approval from his superior, the romantic chemistry between the dopey lead and his neurotic female colleague… What’s worse is I knew I was going to like it and I waited 18 MONTHS to watch it for the first time!  Procrastination, you strike again.  Andy Samberg is great in this, and I love Captain Holt!  Actually, I pretty much love all of the characters…

I’ve also been binging on the tennis, January is pretty much tennis month in Australia.  With tournaments in Brisbane, Sydney, Hobart and Perth leading up to the big one starting in Melbourne tomorrow, it’s a good time!

Around the Blog:

4 Jan: Sunday Funday: Week in Review {6}

6 Jan: Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Most Anticipated Debut Novels for 2015!

12 Jan: Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven ~ 5 stars!

Non-Bookish Excitement:

I’m off to the Australian Open tomorrow, and I’m looking forward to seeing Rafael Nadal on Centre Court!  I haven’t seen him play live in a couple of years now, so it should be fun 😀 I’m also going on Tuesday, come at me tennis!

No work until the 27th, that’s probably the most exciting thing of all at this point… Oh, and I’m totally addicted to Kwazy Cupcakes.  Damn you Brooklyn Nine-Nine!

So that’s my fortnight in review!  How about you, did you do anything exciting this past week?

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Funday: Week In Review {7}

  1. It sounds like you’ve been having a lot of fun these past few weeks, and I loved seeing pictures from your travels! Dreams of Gods and Monsters was a bit hard for me to get into as well (especially with the intro of a new POV).

    • I have had a lot of fun! Pity all the fun comes with being tired 😄 I’m glad you’re enjoying my pictures, i love taking them and sharing them, not to mention playing around with all the apps and filters! I’m also glad to hear it’s not just me with Dreams, I was starting to wonder… I think i just have to sit down, read and push through.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

