Sunday Funday: Week In Review {6}

Leave a comment

January 4, 2015 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Sunday Funday is a post created by the wonderful Cristina of Girl in the Pages, as a way of recapping the bookish and not-so-bookish goings on of the past week.  So here we go!

December 15 – January 4

Life:

Wowee, it’s been a while since I’ve done one of these!  Three weeks to be exact, and what a three weeks it’s been 😀 I had a hectic week of work followed by two weeks of leave, which has all gone far too quickly.  I can’t believe I have to go back to work tomorrow!  At least it’s only for two weeks, and then I’ll have another week of leave when the Australian Open starts.

So what have I been doing over the past three weeks?  Week one was nothing but work, and boy did I crash and burn when that was done with!  I’ve been in Melbourne for most of the past two weeks, doing all the usual Christmas and NYE merriment.  We’ve had lots of family stuff on, both on the main days and on the days in between, and it’s been pretty full on.  Lots of food!  I also spent time catching up with friends, and my cousin from Italy is still here.  She’s got another three weeks to go, so we’ve been doing a lot of touristy stuff with her as well.  I must say, I’ve enjoyed playing tourist in my own city!  Even though I haven’t lived there for two years now, I still consider Melbourne home and the past two weeks has really reinforced that I want to try and relocate back there this year.

We’ve wandered the city numerous times, taking in Flinder’s Street Station, Federation Square, the laneways, Melbourne Central, the Botanical Gardens, Government House, the Shrine of Remembrance, the list goes on and on!

Flinder’s Street Station, with the Eureka Tower in the background

Flinder’s Street Station

The Shrine of Remembrance

View of the City from the Shrine, including the Eureka Tower

We also went up the Eureka Tower, which I LOVED.  It has the tallest viewing deck in the Southern Hemisphere, and it had amazing views of Melbourne.  I could see inside the MCG, where they were playing cricket, and I was watching it on the screens! I did not, however, go out on The Edge, a glass box that comes out of the tower with a glass floor, so you can see the ground.  Even that was a bit much for me!

View of Melbourne from the Eureka Tower

View of Melbourne from the Eureka Tower

I also took my cousin to my old university, The University of Melbourne, and the surrounding areas, including the Exhibition Building.  God I love Melbourne!  Seriously, I read this today and it’s so true – once you live in Melbourne, you’re ruined for anywhere else!  Another day was spent visiting family down at the beach at Tootgarook, on the Mornington Peninsula, but the weather wasn’t exactly very beachy…

Tootgarook Beach

We also had great fun at the Healesville Santuary, which is a zoo for native Australian animals, and my cousin finally got to see a koala {she’d already seen kangaroos when we went up to the country about a month ago}.

A koala!

We crammed so much in that it’s almost like I’m going back to work for a break!  Almost… But not really, work will be anything but quiet I’m sure.

What I’m…

Reading:

Dreams of Gods and MonstersOver the break I finished reading Days of Blood and Starlight and I’ve now started Dreams of Gods and Monsters.  I’m so in love with this series, and I can’t wait to see how it all ends!  {Although I don’t really want it to end…}

I also read My True Love Gave to Me shortly after Christmas, and it was just so magical!  I didn’t connect with every story, but I loved the ones from the authors familiar to me and also discovered some new authors that I’ll have to check out.

I also expect to read All the Bright Places over the next couple of days, especially since I want to post the review this week when it releases.

Watching:

I haven’t been watching much of anything over the last couple of weeks, thanks to the busyness of this time of year and only one TV at my parents’ house.  When we were home it was always set to the soccer, which isn’t really my cup of tea.  Instead, I curled up on the couch with a book 🙂 Occasionally I was able to watch the cricket, which was good.  We also watched The Blues Brothers and Blues Brothers 2000 while I was home, but with the Italian dubbing on it so my cousin could understand – that was hilarious!

Last night I watched two films I hadn’t seen in a million years, Matilda and Ocean’s Eleven, both of which were on TV.  I can’t believe Ocean’s Eleven came out in 2001!  Not to mention that Matilda is almost 20 years old…

Listening to:


I finally downloaded Guy Sebastian’s latest album on iTunes, Madness, and I’ve had that on repeat for a while now.  I’m so excited, I’m going to see him in concert next month and I can’t wait!

I’ve also been listening to Joy Lenz’s single, Get Back to Gold, and I can’t wait until she releases a full length album.  Three songs just isn’t enough.

 

Around the Blog:

17 Dec: Review: Anne of Green Gables Library by L.M. Montgomery ~ 5 stars!

18 Dec: Life of a Blogger {12}: Before 2014 Ends… All the things I wanted to do before the end of 2014.

20 Dec: The Re-Read Challenge 2015: Sign-Up!

22 Dec: Busting to Buy {3}: The Hunger Games!

23 Dec: Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell ~ 5 stars!

25 Dec: Life of a Blogger {13}: Christmas!  How do you celebrate?

26 Dec: Review: Looking for Alaska by John Green ~ 3 stars

28 Dec: The A-Z Reading Challenge 2014!  I completed my first challenge 🙂

30 Dec: Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Goals/Resolutions For 2015!

1 Jan: Life of a Blogger {14}: New Years!

2 Jan: Review: Something Like Normal by Trish Doller ~ 4.5 stars!

Non-Bookish Excitement:

It’s tennis season, yay!  And only two weeks until the Australian Open 😀 Can you tell I’m excited?  For someone who sucks at playing sport, I sure do enjoy watching it!

I’m also headed to Sydney next weekend, which I’m looking forward to.  More touristy stuff with my cousin, but I haven’t been up for three years now so it’ll be good to visit again.  Plus I’ve never been to Bondi Beach, so that’ll be something new for me as well.

So that’s my three weeks in review!  How about you, did you do anything exciting this past holiday season?

 

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

