Life of a Blogger {13}: Christmas!

1

December 25, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm


Life of a Blogger is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely Jessi of Novel Heartbeat, shining the spotlight on bloggers on a more personal level 🙂 Every week she chooses a topic and shares about her life, encouraging other bloggers to do the same.  Today’s topic is a Freebie, so I’ve chosen an oldie from earlier this year: Christmas.

1

Christmas for my family tends to start on Christmas Eve, with pasta marinara our tradition for dinner before we settle in to watch the Carols by Candlelight on Channel Nine.  It’s usually just the four of us, my parents, my brother and I, although this year we will be joined by my cousin from Italy and some other family.  When we lived in the country, we used to go to church on Christmas Eve and then my brother and I would go to the pub – it was a tradition in our country town, as a time for all the returning young ones to catch up 🙂

Then, on Christmas Day we wake up, have a light breakfast and then we head to Church.  When we were younger the day used to start with presents, obviously, but now we’re old enough to contain ourselves {barely, in my case}.  Church is usually around 11am, and by the time we get home it’s time to prepare for lunch.  Lunch is a bit of an event in our house for Christmas, even if it is only the four of us {this year five}.  When my nonna was still alive, it was even bigger, with all the beautiful Italian food she used to make – grispelle, brasciole (rice and potato versions to keep all of us happy), pignolata, the list went on and on…  And it was only for five people!

Nowadays, we start with an entree of seafood, cured meats and cheeses.  Last year we had prawns and lobster, along with ham, prosciutto, salami {homemade of course!} and an assortment of cheeses – bocconcini, provolone, pecorino… This is making me hungry just thinking of it!  We then have a break between entree and main, while the main is cooking, and open our presents.  This is my favourite part, I love seeing my family open the presents I’ve bought for them.

After about an hour, we get started on the main course.  No roasts in my house, Italian food all the way!  Mum usually makes lasagna and cannelloni, both meat and ricotta types, and it’s sooooooooo good!  I don’t think we have anything else but the food coma is so intense on Christmas that I’m having trouble remembering…

After that, we clean up and have another break before dessert.  Because there’s only four/five of us and we’ve just eaten all that food, my mum only makes one dessert – a rolled pavlova.  YUM.  Basically, the pav is baked flat and then you spread the cream and berries on it before rolling it into a log.  See here for a whole bunch of pictures that will make your mouth water!

After that, we generally relax for the rest of the day and I certainly don’t eat again until the next day.  We used to do the big family thing for Christmas after my nonna died, but I’m kinda glad that we’ve reverted back to our quiet celebration – it’s one of the only days of the year when we’re all together and don’t have to rush off anywhere, and it’s nice to spend it with my family.

So there you have it, that’s my Christmas!  What about you, do you have any special Christmas traditions?

One thought on “Life of a Blogger {13}: Christmas!

  1. Oh wow! So much food! I think you have more food than we just had for our Christmas! Although we did do roast…still, even though I am so full right now I could do with a nice slice of lasagna! 😀
    We usually go to mas on Christmas Eve before my dad reads us all Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer and The Night Before Christmas (even though we are probably a tad too old, but hey, it’s a tradition!). And then we have chocolate coins hanging from the tree and in the morning we get up and do presents before breakfast and heading out (or this year getting the hosue ready) for our family Christmas.
    I hope you have a lovely rest of the day and Merry Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

