Review: Anne of Green Gables Library by L. M. Montgomery

Leave a comment

December 17, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Anne of Green Gables Library by L. M. Montgomery
Publisher/Year: Simon & Schuster, 1 December 2014
Genre: Classics
Format: Paperback, Box Set, Review Copy
Source: Courtesy of the Publisher
Rating: 5 stars!
Other books from author: Anne of Green Gables series, Emily of the New Moon series and more

Book Depository | Goodreads | Website

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Goodreads Synopsis

Treasure the imaginative world of Anne Shirley with the first four artfully packaged books in the Anne of Green Gables series, now available as a collectible boxed set.

Red-headed, big-hearted Anne Shirley is one of literature’s most classic and beloved characters, and this four-book boxed set is the perfect way to cherish her adventures and her legacy. Each of the four included books features an artistically crafted cover, making this boxed set a wonderful gift and keepsake.

Anne of Green Gables introduces orphan Anne Shirley as she first comes to Marilla and Matthew’s home on Prince Edward Island. Anne of Avonlea chronicles Anne’s misadventures as Avonlea’s schoolteacher. Anne of the Island follows Anne as she sets out for Redmond College, and Anne’s House of Dreams tells the story of Anne and Gilbert’s new life together in Four Winds Harbor.

What I Thought…

I have loved this series for as long as I can remember, and perhaps even longer.  My first encounter with Anne of Green Gables that I can remember took place around this time of year, at least 15 years ago if not longer.  I was shopping with my mum and helped her pick out all the right covers for each book in the series so they matched (I’m neurotic about that from way back!), and then she dropped a bombshell – you’re not getting these books right away.  Let’s just say, it was a VERY fun Christmas that year!

This year, a new edition of these time honoured books has been released just in time to bring joy to another little girl’s Christmas.  For starters, I adore the covers and they’re just so pretty!  Wouldn’t you agree?

Anne of Green Gables Library

Each cover has attributes unique to each book, which I love.  Anne of Green Gables has the silhouette of a young girl along with the eponymous Green Gables, representing Anne’s journey at Green Gables during her childhood.  The next book in the series, Anne of Avonlea, has a silhouette of an older Anne with her schoolmarm hat along with a chalkboard and the schoolhouse, suitable for Anne’s turn as a teacher at the local Avonlea school.  Book number 3, Anne of the Island, might very well be my favourite!  The silhouette of Anne has lost her hat and is surrounded by a book, rings, Patty’s Place and, best of all, Gog and Magog!  Anne’s college tales were always a favourite of mine, especially that ending 🙂  The fourth book of the boxed set, Anne’s House of Dreams, represents yet another chapter in Anne’s life, with the lighthouse, her house of dreams, the bottle and the teddy bear.

If you’re at all familiar with the series, I don’t have to tell you how wonderful it is.  The books chosen for this library represent my favourites in the series, showcasing Anne’s journey from orphan to adoptee, from student to teacher to student again, from childhood to adulthood.  The merry band of characters that join Anne along the way have always felt akin to family to me, from her kindred spirit Diana Barry, to her carers in Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert, from the well-meaning busybody Rachel Lynde, to her schoolmates and neighbours along the way.

Of course, what I truly love about the four books chosen as part of this library is the progression of Anne’s relationship with Gilbert Blythe.  Of the eight books in the series, these four are perhaps the most focused on that relationship and its changes over time.  From strangers to adversaries, from adversaries to chums, from chums to close friends and then to something more.  Their relationship is one of the factors that kept me coming back to these books time and time again, and I’ve always loved Gilbert – show me someone who doesn’t!  In fact, Gilbert is easily my first book boyfriend 😀

These books hold a very special place in my heart, as does Anne.  Anne is a unique character for her time; strong-willed, driven and yet imaginative at the same time.  She demonstrated to me when I was younger that if you perservere you can succeed, no matter what life throws at you.  I also learnt that if at first things don’t work out the way you expect, it’s no matter – take another path and you may find things working out even better than you first imagined.  Finally, I think the Anne of Green Gables series taught me the value of friendship, that family may not simply be that which you’re born into, and you can love someone unconditionally even if they’re not what you first expect.

If you’re still looking for a Christmas person for that special person in your life (or even for yourself!) I highly recommend this boxed set.  Heck, I recommend it even after Christmas during the Boxing Day sales and everyday thereafter!  It’s a charming edition of an old favourite and one I will certainly cherish for a very long time.  I only hope the remaining books of the series are also released in a similar fashion!

What did you think of this book?  Did you enjoy it?

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

