Sunday Funday: Week In Review {5}

Leave a comment

December 14, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Sunday Funday is a post created by the wonderful Cristina of Girl in the Pages, as a way of recapping the bookish and not-so-bookish goings on of the past week.  So here we go!

December 1 – December 14

Life:

Holy crap!  This has been the busiest two weeks of my life!  Or at least that’s how it feels right now… I think it’s because work has been SUPER busy {only five days to go until I start my leave!} and I’ve had no time on the weekends to relax for about a month now, so I get home after work and I just fall into a heap.  Fun times!

My parents and I are playing tourist at the moment with my cousin, so last weekend we took her to our home town of Myrtleford – my parents moved to Melbourne about 6-7 years ago, but we still try to get back there every once in a while.  It’s a three hour drive from both Melbourne and where I live, and we tried to fit in as much as we could while we were there.  We did some bush-bashing (4WD-ing in the bush) and found some kangaroos in the wild, which my cousin went MAD for.  We also took her to the Red Stag Deer and Emu Farm, which has always been a favourite of mine.  They have functions there at the restaurant, and also animals to see.  We got to see deer (stags and doe), emu, lambs, chickens, ostriches, and I can’t think of anything else 😀

It felt very Chrstmas-y!

We also went to Bright and Beechworth, two quaint country towns in the region.  A highlight for me was buying cherries from Christensen’s near Beechworth – we used to get cherries there every year around Christmas time and I haven’t had them since we moved, we haven’t been up at the right time to buy them.  YUMMO.

This weekend has also been super busy, I was back in Melbourne and it was go go go!  Last night we went to the A-League game at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC.  It was such a great night for the soccer, it was warm without being too hot and we really enjoyed it.

This morning we went to Queen Victoria Market, so my cousin could buy souvenirs for her friends and family back home.  I can’t remember the last time I went to Vic Market but it’s safe it say it hasn’t changed one bit!  If ever you’re in Melbourne, it’s a must visit 😀 I then left them there and continued on to Westfield in Doncaster, to do some much needed Christmas shopping.  Oh My God.  The crowds were insane.  AND I was stupid and made the mistake of buying the books and DVDs first up, which were the heaviest things and I had to carry them around for hours!  Stupid girl!  On the plus side, I’ve almost finished my Christmas shopping 🙂

I then FINALLY did something that I’ve been wanting to do for weeks now, which was quite possibly the highlight of my month so far (which says it all at the moment, with how stressed out I am) – I saw Mockingjay!  And it was every bit as amazing as I thought it was going to be.  I’m hanging out for Part 2 now, I don’t want to wait a year!  Gah!

What I’m…

Reading:

I still haven’t finished The Sky is Everywhere yet, I put it down a little while ago and I just haven’t found the time to pick it back up again.  I think it’s due to what I’m about to tell you next.

Last week I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor and I’m now HOOKED on this series.  It is AH-MAZING and I can’t put it down.  Thankfully, I’ve borrowed Days of Blood and Starlight and Dreams of Gods and Monsters from the library and I’m steadily making my way through.

I’m partway through Days of Blood and Starlight, and if I wasn’t so tired I would’ve plowed through both books by now!  Although, I’m a bit daunted by Dreams of Gods and Monsters, that thing is a brick!

Watching:

It’s safe to say that watching The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 was the highlight of my fortnight!  I’d watched the first two films during the week to get myself back up to speed and in the mindset, but this was fantastic.  I expect to do a Bookish Adaptations post on Mockingjay sometime in the near future 🙂

I’ve also been watching a lot of cricket this week, with the Test Series against India having gotten underway on Tuesday.  Until twelve months ago, I never used to watch cricket and I found it really boring.  Then I actually sat down and watched a game and got hooked!  It helped that the Ashes were really exciting last year, what with Australia winning them and all… This series has had a sad build-up to it, what with the death of Phillip Hughes, but the players have been doing an amazing job.

Listening to:

I’ve been listening to Kate Voegele’s The Wild Card EP a lot, and I’m really enjoying it!  It’s so nice to have some new music from an old favourite, I’m looking forward to hopefully a full length album in the future.

I’ve also been listening to a lot of Christmas tunes to get into the festive spirit, some favourites include Christmas albums by Michael Buble, Kelly Clarkson, the Glee Cast, and Hanson.  No judgments here people!

Around the Blog:

Sunday: Sunday Funday: Week in Review {4}

Tuesday: TTT: Top Ten Books I’m Excited for in 2015

Tuesday: TTT: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I read in 2014

Thursday: Life of a Blogger {11}: Freebie!  I looked at where I’d live if I could live anywhere.

Friday: It’s Swappin’ Time: #TBTBSanta!

Saturday: Stacking the Shelves {10}

Non-Bookish Excitement:

How adorable is this video!  It’s a little boy meeting his twin cousins and it’s EVERYWHERE on Facebook at the moment.  So cute 😀

So that’s my fortnight in review!  How about you, did you do anything exciting this past week?

 

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

