Life of a Blogger {11}: Freebie!

3

December 11, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm


Life of a Blogger is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely Jessi of Novel Heartbeat, shining the spotlight on bloggers on a more personal level 🙂 Every week she chooses a topic and shares about her life, encouraging other bloggers to do the same.  Today’s topic is a Freebie, so I’ve chosen an oldie from earlier this year: If You Could Live Anywhere.

If You Could Live Anywhere

For me, this question is posed two ways: if I could live anywhere in the world, and if I could live anywhere in Australia, my home country.  The answers, of course, are completely different!

In Australia

This is a no brainer for me, if I could live anywhere in Australia it would be Melbourne – 100%, hands down, no questions asked, no ifs, buts or maybes.

I currently live in country Victoria, an hour and a half out of Melbourne, and I’ve lived here for nearly two years now.  I am ITCHING to return to Melbourne, but I’m being held up by that little thing called a job – until I get a job there, I can’t move back.  I don’t really want to be unemployed, so…

I previously lived in Melbourne for 7 years, from early-2006 to early-2013, and I loved every minute and each phase of my life there.  I loved going to uni and living a stone’s throw from the city (it was a 15 minute walk).  I loved working in the City, and I love that my parents are now much closer to everything. I love spending time with my friends and enjoying all the wonderful things the city has to offer.

All my close friends and family live in Melbourne, except my brother but I’m not moving to Perth!  When I do things on the weekend, it’s invariably in Melbourne.  The footy, shopping, going to the movies, brunch/dinner with friends, comedy shows and concerts, the lot.  My life is there and I’m not – that needs to change.

My goal in the new year is to get a job there, hopefully within the same organisation, and move back.  I’ll have to live with my parents for a bit while I save up some money to sort out my own living arrangements, but it’ll be a small price to pay.  Plus, it’ll be nice not to drive up and down the highway almost every weekend!

In The World

This on is another no-brainer for me, it’s been my goal in life for YEARS now, but if I could live anywhere in the world it would be New York City.

I’ve had a dream for a long time that I’d love to live in NYC for a part of my life.  I’m not really sure for how long, and it’ll probably never happen, but a girl can dream right!

I’ve been there before twice, in July 2009 and in September 2013.  The first time, I arrived on July 4th and watched the city celebrate, the fireworks over the Hudson River were spectacular.  My time there was such a whirlwind, I saw the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, TImes Square, Avenue Q (off Broadway), Central Park, Coney Island, the list goes on! I didn’t get to do as much as I’d liked to the first time around, as I was only there for four days and a lot of that was taken up with uni commitments.

In 2013, I went with a bestie and we had a fantastic time.  I fell in love with the city even more, and while I re-visited some of what I’d already seen, I did more of what I wanted to do the first time around.  I saw two Broadway shows (Matilda and Chicago), I walked the Brooklyn Bridge, I visited the 9/11 Memorial, I went to the Guggenheim, MOMA and The Met, and I ate breakfast at Tiffany’s.  That’s just the tip of the iceberg, we crammed a lot into those 6 days!  It was amazing.

I’m looking forward to my next trip, which I’m sure won’t be the last – there’s still SO much I want to do.  Maybe next year…

So there you have it, if I could live anywhere that’d be it!  What about you, where would you like to live?

3 thoughts on “Life of a Blogger {11}: Freebie!

  1. It sounds like you had an amazing time in New York!! And Melbourne seems like such a beautiful city. I’d like to live in Sydney one day – maybe during uni 🙂

  2. I live in Melbourne and it is rather beautiful and so friendly. Such a sense of community throughout the whole city. 😀
    ANd I’d live in the British Isles somewhere or Scandinavia because I just love history and legends of the celtic sort, but otherwise if it was more politically stable Egypt because again the history!

  3. Ahhh I want to see Australia SO bad! I am completely fascinated by the culture, and pictures are sooo beautiful. Lucky you! I’m not so sure about New York City, though, haha. I’m more of a quiet little town kind of person and NYC is too chaotic for me! Not to mention too many people packed too tightly *shudders*

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

