Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2014!

18

December 9, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2014!  I could only come up with 8 that I really wanted to showcase, so this is really my Top Eight and not Top Ten.  Anyhoo, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂

TTT 8 Dec

Laini Taylor ~ Daughter of Smoke and Bone (#1)

Sarah J. Maas ~ Throne of Glass (#1) & The Assassin’s Blade (#0.1-#0.5)

Emery Lord ~ Open Road Summer

Gayle Forman ~ If I Stay (#1) & Where She Went (#2)

Markus Zusak ~ The Book Thief

Katie Cotugno ~ How To Love

Trish Doller ~ Something Like Normal & Where the Stars Still Shine

Leigh Bardugo ~ Shadow and Bone (#1)

Of these authors, I have the rest of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Throne of Glass (thus far) and Shadow and Bone sitting on my kitchen table, waiting to be read.  I have Just One Day, Just One Year and Just One Night by Gayle Forman on my bookshelf/iPad calling out to me.  When Dogs Cry and I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak are also patiently waiting on my bookshelf.  Last but not least, 2015 will see new releases from Trish Doller (The Devil You Know), Emery Lord (The Start of Me and You), and Katie Cotugno (99 Days) which I’ll be sure to read.  Can you believe I didn’t know who almost all of these authors were 12 months ago!?

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  Have you got any others that you could recommend to me?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2014!

  1. Somehow I NEVER KNEW what Gayle Forman looked like O_O you learn something every day. I still have to read Just One Day by her, actually…

    Sarah J. Maas was on my list as well! 😀

    • I’m surprised to see Sarah J Maas on a lot of people’s lists actually, it seems I’m not the only one who is woefully behind in reading her AH-MAZING series! I knew what Gayle Forman looked like from other bloggers’ meet and greet posts, but I didn’t know what Trish Doller looked like so you’re right, you do learn something new every day 😀

  2. HOLLY says:

    Markus Zusak is amazing! I’ve only read The Book Thief by him, but I definitely need to read more of his work! I’ve been wanting to read his novel I Am the Messenger, but I just haven’t gotten around to it.
    My TTT: http://nutfreenerd.wordpress.com/2014/12/09/top-ten-tuesday-new-to-me-authors-i-read-in-2014/

  3. Aiko says:

    Gayle Forman and Markus Zusak were new for me as well but they didn’t make it to my list for some reason 😐

  4. I haven’t read Shadow and Bone yet, but I own it. I plan on getting to it soon! I’ve heard good things, and I actually met Leigh Bardugo when I got it, and she’s super cool. Makes me want to read it even more!
    My TTT!

    • I adore Shadow and Bone, it’s fantastic, but I’ve yet to read the other two – and I’m so jealous that you’ve met the author! We just don’t seem to get that opportunity very often her down under, especially out in the sticks where I live 🙂

      • Well, I drove about 6 hours to go to a book festival and meet her and several other authors (Stephanie Perkins, Maggie Stiefvater, Jennifer E. Smith, etc). No one comes to where I am either, but it was worth the drive. 🙂

  5. I’ve only read one of these authors — Marcus Zusak. I loved THE BOOK THIEF, but for some reason, I haven’t read any more of Zusak’s books. What’s wrong with me??

  6. Megan says:

    Leigh Bardugo is on my list this week too! I actually prefer I am the Messenger by Zusak, though The Book Thief is, of course, amazing. I just finished Laini Taylor’s series and am going through a little Karou withdrawal! Have fun catching up with your new favorites! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-2dD

  7. Sajda says:

    I discovered Sarah J. Maas this year as well and I couldn’t believe it took me so long to read Throne of Glass — the series was amazing!

    I have yet to read Shadow & Bone but I’ve heard terrific things about it.

    Here’s my TTT

    • Shadow and Bone is terrific, I really enjoyed it. As for Throne of Glass, I too was on the procrastination train with that one – what’s wrong with us?! It’s sooooooooo good! Of course, I still need to read Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire, so I’m procrastinating…

      • Sajda says:

        Heir of Fire is definitely my favorite! I don’t know why I procrastinated so hard with the series.

        I really need to read Shadow & Bone. I purchased the book months ago and it’s just been sitting there =/

  8. Cait says:

    OH YES TO MARKUS ZUSAK! I would list a lot of the same, actually. Except I *think* I read Sarah J Maas last year too?? I can’t even remember. *headdesk* This is why I have goodreads. I forgot to link up this week, gah! But some of the authors I love that I only just discovered in 2014 would have to be Pierce Brown, Patrick Ness, Rainbow Rowell, Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. I know! Most of them are oldies, but I only just got onboard. 😉

    • OMG, there’s no way I would’ve been able to do this without Goodreads – I thought I’d read Huntley Fitzpatrick and Kasie West for the first time this year but it was last year! I missed out on such a huge chunk of reading during and after my University years, and it seems that most of the new-to-me authors for this year have been on everyone else’s radar for a very long time.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

