Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books On My Summer TBR

21

November 25, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Books on my Winter TBR!  Now, it’s certainly not winter here in Australia, and Summer is only 6 days away (thankfully!) so I decided to tweak it a bit and make it my Top 10 Summer TBR.  My list can be broken down into three sections: books I’ve bought/been gifted, review copies and library books.  Anyhoo, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂

Untitled design(1)

Bought/Gifted

Just One Day by Gayle Forman
I received Just One Day and Just One Year as part of the most recent Ninja Book Swap and I’ve been trying to find the time to read them ever since!  I’m so behind the times with discovering Gayle Forman, and now I have to catch up and read everything she’s ever written!

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
I started the Throne of Glass Series in September and promptly read both Throne of Glass and The Assassin’s Blade.  I haven’t had the time since to read Crown of Midnight or Heir of Fire, but this MUST stop now!

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
I picked this one up in Big W a little while ago because I’d heard such good things, and the cover is so pretty!  Here’s hoping it lives up to the hype.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
I bought this back in July when the paperback was released and I’m not quite sure why I haven’t read this yet… I adore Morgan Matson, and it’s insane that I haven’t found the time to read Since You’ve Been Gone.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
This featured in my TBR for Autumn earlier this year, and I STILL haven’t read it.  Well no more!  Surely I’m far enough removed from the hype that I can read this with a clean slate now, with no impressions clouding my judgment.

Review Copies

Reluctantly Charmed by Ellie O’Neill
Simon & Schuster Australia sent this one too me almost two months ago now, just before it’s release in early October.  I haven’t been in the mood for adult fiction recently but I think the tide might be turning 🙂

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
I received this courtesy of Penguin Teen Australia a little while ago, and the release date is early January 2015 so a read before then is a MUST.  I’ve heard such great things, so I’m really looking forward to this one.

Library Books

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t read this series, even though Melina Marchetta is one of my favourite authors.  I’ve always been more of a contemporary kinda gal but I’ve been on a bit of a fantasy kick lately, and I think I’m finally ready to read The Lumatere Chronicles.

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
I read Shadow and Bone a few weeks ago in one sitting and COULD NOT put it down.  Of course I now need to finish reading The Grisha Trilogy, so I promptly borrowed Siege and Storm from the library.  I’m still trying to track down a copy of Ruin and Rising though…

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
Another series I’ve been keen to start for a while…  I seem to always been behind the eight ball, start series when they finish or are several books in!  This has always been my problem, it goes as far back as Harry Potter which I didn’t start until Goblet of Fire was already out!  Hopefully I can read this series over the summer as well.

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  Have you got any others that you could recommend to me?

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books On My Summer TBR

  1. HOLLY says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about Finnikin of the Rock, and I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet either. I loved Jellicoe Road, so I definitely need to read more by Melina Marchetta. This is a great list!

  2. OH MY GOSH THE COLOUR-CODING ❤ They are SO beautiful. All the Bright Places is on my TBR as well – can't wait to read that one, it looks amazing 🙂

  3. Yay another Aussie. I’ve also made mine a summer list as well.
    Your books are new to me but I do hope you enjoy them.
    Have a great week. Here is my TTT.
    Sharon 🙂

  4. Rachana says:

    Oh you must read Daughter of Smoke and Bone! 😀

  5. So many great books here! I’d love to read Since You’ve Been Gone and somehow I’ve never read Gayle Forman. Must fix that! Enjoy your reading!

  6. Marie says:

    I recently read A Thousand Pieces of You and loved loved loved it! I hope you do too. Here’s my TTT. Happy reading!

  7. angiehenry84 says:

    Great TBR, Fangirl was great, but not my favourite by that author. I REALLY need to start the Throne of Glass series, I’ve heard nothing but great things about it! =)
    Good luck with your “Summer” TBR!! ( Man I wish it was summer here in Canada lol I’m surrounded by snow at the moment…*sigh*)

    -Angie

  8. I have a lot of these sitting on my TBR shelf right now. There are so many books to read and so little time! Good luck with your summer reading!

  9. I’ve just bought A Thousand Pieces of You – I’m reading it next and I hope that it lives up to the hype too. Since You’ve Been Gone lives up to the hype. 🙂 I’ve got Daughter of Smoke and Bone on my list as well!
    My TTT

  10. Eugenia @ Genie In A Book says:

    Great list Bernadette! A Thousand Pieces of You, Since You’ve Been Gone and Fangirl are all books which I found amazing, so hope you enjoy them too. You’ve got some fantastic reads ahead of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

