Life of a Blogger {10}: 10 Things I Will Never Do!

5

November 20, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm


Life of a Blogger is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely Jessi of Novel Heartbeat, shining the spotlight on bloggers on a more personal level 🙂 Every week she chooses a topic and shares about her life, encouraging other bloggers to do the same.  Today’s topic is 10 Things I Will Never Do.

Ten Things I Will Never Do

1. Sky-Diving

Sky-diving, bungie-jumping, anything that involves jumping out of or off things at great heights – yeah, that’s never gonna happen.  I’m not afraid of heights, it’s more a fear of speeding up my chances of dying.  I’d just rather not risk it!

2. Ride a Bike

This is more of a physical limitation for me.  I have hardly any balance due to hearing loss in both ears, and as a result I’m not able to ride a bike.  I tried to learn when I was a kid, as we all do, but I never made it past training wheels.  I also can’t rollerblade, ice-skate or do other activities that involve balancing.  To be honest, I sometimes struggle to stay upright on a flat surface, so it’s better for all involved if I steer clear of the bikes!

3. Stop Travelling

I love to travel, especially exploring new places overseas!  I can thank my parents for being bitten with the travel bug, we used to go away every year when I was a kid to the Gold Coast, and when I was 10 and 13 years old we went to Italy to visit family.  Since then, I’ve been overseas in 2006 (Italy, France, London), 2009 (USA), 2011 (Hawaii), and 2013 (USA), along with many trips here in Australia.  I’m always planning my next big adventure!

4. Go on a Cruise

As much as I love travelling, I’m not keen on going on a cruise.  I don’t mind the idea of a River Cruise, like the ones you can do in Europe – there’s more stops and most importantly it’s not as rough.  I get sea-sick (and every other type of motion sickness) and I’ve not had great experiences out on the water.  Also, being trapped on a ship with 2000 other people and the same stuff to do day-in-day-out… Yeah, no.

5. Own a Bird

Just putting this out there, I’m petrified of birds.  Piazza San Marco in Venice was NOT fun for me… It was 13 years ago and I still remember all those pigeons!  YUCK.  It doesn’t even have to be a lot of birds, I used to cross the road to avoid having to walk past a bird – I’ve gotten better at this, unless the bird is a magpie.  If it’s a magpie, you can forget it; I’m running in the opposite direction.  I have no desire to be swooped again, speaking from experience it is kinda horrific.  If I dated someone who owned a bird, that would likely be a deal-breaker.

6. Become a Collingwood FC Supporter

Same goes for Essendon, Richmond, and really every other team in the AFL.  But especially those three.  The rivalry is FIERCE.  I am a die-hard Carlton supporter and I intend to stay that way for the rest of my life.  Unlike the bird thing, however, if I was dating a non-Carlton supporter it probably wouldn’t be a deal-breaker.  That’s how much hate birds, and it’s no coincidence that my least favourite is the magpie, aka the mascot of the Collingwood Magpies.  Those birds are hell on earth!

7. Get any more Piercings

My ears are pierced, one hole in each ear, and that’s more than enough thank you.  I was a baby when my ears were pierced, but one of the holes became infected when I was about 8 years old and it had to be repierced.  That was not fun!  I’m sure it wouldn’t be quite so terrifying/painful now that I’m older, but the memory is enough to put me off.  Also, it doesn’t look professional in my line of work.

8. Watch any of the Kardashian Shows

NOT GONNA HAPPEN.  I may watch some crap on TV but this is where I draw the line.  I accidently flicked over to Keeping Up with the Kardashians one day and I barely lasted two minutes, I could actually feel my brain cells rotting away.  No offence to anyone who does watch it, but I just can’t even.

9. Get Plastic Surgery

I’m very much a supporter of aging gracefully, and I have no desire to get plastic surgery.  I’ve already had the opportunity to do so; when I was 17 I had a massive operation on my nose to correct a deviated septum, clear out my sinuses, and so much more – the doctor told me it was everything but the nose job.  He even said that if I was thinking about getting a nose job, now would be the time to do it because I’d already be in so much pain from everything else that I won’t even notice… Well, I said no and he was right – I was in a ton of pain.  As much as I hate my nose, it’s still my nose and I wouldn’t change it.  Also, there’s no way I’m voluntarily putting myself through that kind of pain again!

10. Buy Anything from an Infomercial

No thank you.  Those things only make me want to change the channel, and I don’t believe that half the crap they sell even works.  There’s no way I’m wasting my hard-earned money on that, thank you very much.  I’ll just but a tonne of books instead!

So there you have it, that’s ten things I’ll never do, or my anti-bucket list!  What about you, what are some of the things you won’t do?

5 thoughts on “Life of a Blogger {10}: 10 Things I Will Never Do!

  1. Rachana says:

    My ears were pierced when I was a baby too! 😀 ❤

  2. Sky-diving is TOTALLY on my bucket list. It sounds like so much fun!! But I can understand why you wouldn’t want to, haha. Can’t WAIT to go travelling on my own/with friends – I’m going to England in January, then Italy and France in April. I’m so excited 😀

  3. Ha ha same! What a great way to spend money instead of things on those silly infomercials! I agree with your last 5 there as well as number 4 because oh god I get SOOOO sea sick! But I kind of um already own birds and I love them! My chickens are so fluffy and fat and I just think they are adorable. And there are a few other things that I’d like to try like extreme sports and such. 😀
    AND YAY FOR TRAVELLING!!! I’ve gotten the travel bug too! I went to Europe last year and the beginning of this year and it was so much fun I learnt so much and now ha ha, I just want to keep travelling! And Gold Coast is ALWAYS a fun holiday! 😀
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

