Sunday Funday: Week In Review {2}

Leave a comment

November 9, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Sunday Funday is a post created by the wonderful Cristina of Girl in the Pages, as a way of recapping the bookish and not-so-bookish goings on of the past week.  So here we go!

November 3 – November 9

Life:

I’ve had a fairly busy week, between work and all the rest!  Tuesday was Melbourne Cup Day, and while we don’t get the public holiday in my town, we still celebrate it at work.  We worked in the morning, and then all sat down for lunch together in the office with everyone having brought a plate to share.  The afternoon was then mostly devoted to watching the races, although I flitted in and out of my office doing some work, and then at 3:10pm we all stopped to watch the big one.  Needless to say, my horse did not do well at all!

On Friday I went to Melbourne for the weekend, and my mum and I went for a super long walk on Saturday morning.  7km in just over an hour, not bad!  (That’s 4.6 miles for my non-metric system friends 🙂 )  Of course, I’m now super sore!  We then hit up the shops so I could find a dress for a function next week, and I also bought some shoes.  I was completely reminded of why I hate shopping so much – almost everything out there is for women that aren’t curvy and have tiny feet.  FYI, that’s not me at all!  Here’s a look at the dress and shoes I found:

The best part of the weekend though, that was last night!  My parents and I went into the City for an evening out.  First we hit up +39 for some pizza – I’m super picky about my pizza, or really about all Italian food in general, but this place is the best!  So authentic and super yummy 🙂 I had a margherita with prosciutto, it looked a little like this (but with prosciutto on top!):

The best was yet to come though, because then we went and saw Les Misérables at Her Majesty’s Theatre!  OMG.

It was sooooooo good!  I just want to see it again, but I settled for watching the movie again this arvo instead 😀

What I’m…

Reading:

The Woman I Wanted To BeI’ve put Gone Girl down for now, I’m finding it a bit of a stuggle which is putting me into a slump.  I’ll get back to it again I’m sure.

At the moment I’m part-way through The Woman I Wanted to Be by Diane von Furstenberg, which is pretty interesting.  She’s certainly led a varied and interesting life, there’s no denying it!

Shadow and BoneI also read Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) by Leigh Bardugo on Friday, I had to take it back to the library the next day so a binge read was in order.  Well, it was so good I wouldn’t have been able to put it down even if I had time to!  Needless to say, I picked up Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) at the library the next day 🙂 I’m going to have to pace myself though, because I’ve got a few other books I need to read before I’ll let myself start Siege and Storm.

Watching:


Oh course, I wouldn’t be me if I wasn’t behind the times… I’ve FINALLY started watching Sailor Moon Crystal, and I’m loving it so far!  I’ve only ever seen the English dubbed version, so it’s taken some getting used to but it’s amazing.

I’ve only watched two episodes so far but it’s certainly taking me back to my childhood!  And now I’m trying to track down the manga, hopefully my library has them.

 

Listening to:

I’m still hooked on T. Swift’s 1989, I can’t get enough of it at the moment!

I’ve also been listening to Bombs Away, an album by Aussie band Sheppard.  I love their hit Geronimo, along with Let Me Down Easy, but the rest of the album is also pretty awesome.

The Les Mis Soundtrack is also getting a work out today after last night’s show!

Around the Blog:

Sunday: Sunday Funday: A Week in Review {1} – My first Sunday Funday post 🙂

Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Want to Reread and pronto!

Wednesday: Busting to Buy {2} – More bookish goodies…

Thursday: Life of a Blogger {9} – It’s all about the concerts.

Thursday: It’s Swappin’ Time: I Got Ninjaed! {2} – come check out my haul!

Saturday: Tag | Top 10 Books That Have Stayed With Me In Some Way

Non-Bookish Excitement:

Only 6 weeks of work to go for the year, and then I’ll be taking at least 2 weeks off!  Not that I’m counting down or anything…

I’m hanging out for a break, I haven’t taken any proper leave since September last year and I’ll have about 5 weeks owing to me by the time Christmas rolls around.  I’m hoping to head off overseas again next year so I’m not going to use it all up over Christmas, but at least I can take a decent break this year.  It’ll be nice to have more than just the public holidays off!

So that’s my week in review!  How about you, did you do anything exciting this past week?

 

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

