Tag | Top 10 Books That Have Stayed With Me In Some Way

6

November 8, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Hello wonderful people 🙂 It’s time for a tag!  I was tagged this week by the lovely Jocie of terre rit à fleurs, go check out her awesome blog!  I’m sure you can guess from the title of this post that I will be focusing on books that have left a big impression on me, so here goes nothing!

These are (almost) in no particular order:

1. Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

RowlingLet’s face it, this was always going to be on the list, and while the rest are in no particular order, this has to be numero uno.  FOR SURE.  The memories I have of this series, waiting in line for the book/movies with my besties, devouring the books the day they were released and then going back to the start again to take in what I’d missed… And then there was the books themselves: AMAZING.

2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudice 2I first saw the BBC miniseries in the late nineties I think, and it was love at first sight (Colin Firth is the only Mr Darcy in my book).  Then I read the book and it has stuck with me ever since.  I have such a love for this book, and for the characters, and I shared that love with my besties.  We’ve bonded over a lot, and P&P is certainly right up there.

3. Melina Marchetta’s Contemporaries

Marchetta ContemporariesI haven’t read The Lumatere Chronicles yet, so I can’t speak for all of Melina Marchetta’s books, but her contemporaries are perfection.  I can’t really say much more than that, except only to hope that there will be more of them in the near future.

4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

STPbookthiefI only read this for the first time in January 2014, but it’s still stuck with me.  This book was so moving and amazingly written, and I’m still thinking about it 11 months later.

5. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

AttachmentsRainbow Rowell has a way of writing characters that speak to you, and Lincoln, Beth and Jennifer are no exception.  This book may be set in 1999, but it felt just as current to me when I read it for the first time last year.

6. Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery

MontgomeryBefore there was Harry Potter, this was the series I read over and over again.  I first read this when I was a small child, and I still count it among my favourite books.  Anne is one of my favourite characters ever written, even to this day.

7. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

AlcottI also used to read these books so many times when I was younger, I really need to have a re-read, but even now I can still remember the impression they made on me.  Jo, especially, was my kind of gal!

8. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

If I Stay seriesGayle Forman has a way of sucking you in, chewing you up and leaving you an emotional wreck!  These book made me feel so much, I almost forgot I was reading a book – it felt so real at the time.

9. Feeling Sorry for Celia by Jaclyn Moriarty

Feeling Sorry for CeliaThis one is part of a series, but it was really this book that made such an impression on me.  Told entirely in notes and letters, it has remained a favourite since it was first published 14 years ago.  Elizabeth’s insecurities, her flightly friendship with Celia, this was all very relateable to 12 year old me.

10. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

My Sister's KeeperThis is one of the earlier Picoult books I read and if I was only mildly hooked beforehand, I was well and truly sucked in by this one!  That ending, OMG I still find it shocking every time I read it, no matter how many times I read it.

So there you have it, that’s my list!  It’s a good mix of classics and contemporaries, of Aussie authors and internationals.  Now I have to tag some people!  I tag:

Cait @ The Notebook Sisters
Stefani @ Caught Read Handed
Emily @ The Loony Teen Writer
Nahree @ Etudesque
And anyone else who wants to particpate!

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you enjoyed this little look into my bookish soul 🙂

6 thoughts on “Tag | Top 10 Books That Have Stayed With Me In Some Way

  1. YES, Harry Potter! I used to love Anne of Green Gables and Little Women as well, because those were the books my mum recommended to me. The Book Thief, as well, is one that I adore. Thanks for tagging me, can’t wait to do this one 🙂

  2. Cait says:

    I reeeally want to read My Sister’s Keeper. I really enjoyed the movie and I’d love to see the actual original bookish version. AND THE BOOK THIEF OMG. Words cannot describe how much that book affected me. I could reread it like now, even though I only just read it a few weeks ago.
    I just got Jellicoe Road on audio!! I’m really keen for it because I ADORE Looking for Alibrandi and I’m a big fan of Finnkin of the Rock too.
    Thanks for tagging me!! SQUEE!

    • Good luck with Jellicoe, all I can say with that one (and I tell everyone this) is to persevere because it will all be worth it. You may not understand a lot of what’s happening in the beginning but stick with it and you won’t regret it (I hope!). Looking for Alibrandi has always been one of my faves, ever since I first read it 15 years ago.

  3. Heather says:

    Harry Potter is there for me, but I haven’t read much beyond that, I’m afraid. I love how you’re able to really go in-depth about your memories and thoughts about your books. Sometimes I’m afraid we forget exactly what books do the young mind, and how much they matter for us in the long run, even if we don’t realize it. But seriously, I KNOW I need to read The Book Thief and I haven’t yet. Gah.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

