Sunday Funday: Week In Review {1}

2

November 2, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

If you’re a regular here on The Bumbling Bookworm, you’ll know that my weekly recap post is usually on a Wednesday.  Unfortunately, that just isn’t working for me anymore, and I never seem to have time to get my act together to post something.  So, I’ve decided to switch it to Sunday and link up to Sunday Funday!

Sunday Funday is a post created by the wonderful Cristina of Girl in the Pages, as a way of recapping the bookish and not-so-bookish goings on of the past week.  So here we go!

October 27 – November 2

Life:

This past week has been a fairly quiet one, nothing too exciting going on.  I had a public holiday on Wednesday, which was to celebrate the Cup Day in my town – a horse race (not really my thing).  This was actually super annoying, because I now miss out on the long weekend the rest of the State seems to have this weekend for Melbourne Cup Day on Tuesday.  Boo hiss.

I know, I know, what a first world problem!  To top it off, I spent the day cleaning the house and weeding for an inspection on Thursday, and I got hayfever again.  Spring sucks and it needs to go away already.  Bring on Summer I say!

I’ve had a fairly low key weekend, yesterday I didn’t really do much at all and today my parents visited which was nice.  Dad did some odd jobs for me while mum and I planned a trip to Sydney next month, when my cousin is here from Italy.  It’s been nice to have some down time though, we’re gearing up to the silly season and almost every weekend between now and Australia Day (January 26) is looking fairly busy… I like my down time so this might just kill me!

What I’m…

Reading:


At the moment I’m reading Gone Girl, because I really want to go see the film, but I’m having a little bit of trouble getting into it – the characters are just so awful!  It doesn’t help that I have all these wonderful books on my shelves, calling out to me and begging to be read!

Oh well, I’m going to stick with it and hopefully I can binge read it and finish it by Tuesday – just in time for tight-arse Tuesday at the movies 🙂

Watching:


I went to the movies last weekend to watch This is Where I Leave You, and I really enjoyed it!  I don’t know what I was expecting, but it was completely different to my preconceived notions and in a good way.  I recommend it to anyone who likes dramedy centred on dysfunctional families, it was quite funny at times.

Also, I later found out that it’s based on a book, which I now want to read.  (And yes, I’ve already bought it!)

Listening to:


Without a doubt, this has been my album of the week.  I wasn’t a huge fan of Red, it was a bit all over the place and too obvious at times.  Thankfully, 1989 has none of those issues!  It’s cohesive, catchy and the songwriting is sublime with far more maturity.

Favourites include You Are In Love, I Wish You Would, New Romantics, Out of the Woods, Wonderland and pretty much the rest of the whole album!

Around the Blog:

Tuesday: Top Ten Characters Who I Would Totally Want To Be For Halloween!

Thursday: Life of a Blogger {8} – In which I profess my dislike of Halloween…

Saturday: Stacking the Shelves {9} – My October book haul.

Non-Bookish Excitement:

The trailer for Furious 7 dropped today and I’m WAAAAY more excited about this than I should be!  I’ve loved these films since day one {I blame my brother… and Paul Walker!} and I’m interested to see how they ‘retire’ Brian O’Conner.  I’m not quite sure how I’m going to wait 5 months for this!

So that’s my week in review!  How about you, did you do anything exciting this past week?

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Funday: Week In Review {1}

  1. lissiet says:

    I seriously cannot wait to see This is Where I Leave You
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

