Stacking the Shelves {9}

12

November 1, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly haul meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, and it’s an opportunity to share the books we’re adding to our shelves each week.   The books can be physical or virtual, purchased or borrowed from the library, or even gifted or for review.

So I didn’t realise but I haven’t done a STS post since late September!  I’ve been trying to cut back on the books I’m buying/borrowing, concentrating on the mountain of books I already have to read… Of course, I didn’t cut back altogether!  These are the books I acquired during October 🙂

Bought

FullSizeRender_1

This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult

I had a gift card to spend on anything I wanted, and of course I chose to spend it on books!  I bought This is Where I Leave You after seeing the movie last weekend, I’m really keen to read the book now and I highly recommend the movie.  I’ve heard good things about A Thousand Pieces of You, so I snapped that one up, and I always buy Jodi’s books when they come out.

FullSizeRender

Looking for Alaska by John Green
Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

I bought these books as part of a book swap for another blogger, but I was really tempted to keep Dark Places all for myself!  I already have a copy of Looking for Alaska, so the temptation wasn’t so great there 🙂

Borrowed

FullSizeRender_2

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylow

I mentioned a little while ago that I’m really keen to start both these series, but I’ve had trouble tracking them down in my local bookshop/department stores – essentially, if it wasn’t released in the last six months or isn’t super popular and timeless (eg HP, THG, Divergent, etc), then I’ve got no hope of finding it 😦 I was really pleased to finally track them down at the library near my parents’ house, and I picked them up last weekend.

Gifted/Won

FullSizeRender_4

Nona & Me by Clare Atkins
Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

I enter a lot of giveaways and never win, so imagine my surprise when I won two giveaways in the space of a day!  I was lucky enough to win Falling into Place from Book Nerd Reviews, and Nona & Me from The Notebook Sisters, two of my fave Aussie book blogs.  Thanks guys!

FullSizeRender_3

Just One Day by Gayle Forman
Just One Year by Gayle Forman

I participated in the Ninja Book Swap for a second time recently, and I’ll be doing a separate post on this but these are the books I received.  I’m so pumped to read these, I adore If I Stay and Where She Went, and I’m super dooper keen.

There you have it, that’s my post for the month!  Did you add any new books to your shelf this week?

12 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves {9}

  1. kimberlyfaye says:

    Lots of nice additions to your shelves this week! I hope you love all of them!

    My StS!

  2. AH so many books that I loved! Falling Into Place, Looking For Alaska, Shadow Of Bone and Daughter Of Smoke And Bone were all amazing. Enjoy!
    -Jon from Bookish Antics!

  3. Jennifer @ Feminist Fairytale Reviews says:

    I still need to read Shadow & Bone and Daughter of Smoke & Bone as well. I have copies of both and just need to give them a try. Happy reading!

  4. leydylaura says:

    OMG I HOPE YOU LOVE A Thousand Pieces of You!!!!!!!

    Come and check out OUaT’s STS !

  5. I haven’t read any of Gayle Forman’s yet, but I do have a copy of her new one coming out, so that’ll be my first one. I really wanted to like A Thousand Pieces of You but hated it, seems like I’m the only one though, so it’s just me. 😉 Happy reading!

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  6. Tiffany says:

    Wow, lots of great books! I did not know that This is Where I Leave You is based off a book. I have not seen the movie yet, but it does look very good. I might read the book first now, though. I can’t wait to get A Thousand Pieces of You, either! I know what you mean about book swap books. I am always so tempted to keep everything because they all look so good. Happy reading!

    You can check out my STS HERE

    Tiffany
    Beneath the Jacket Reviews

  7. Oh, I love Laini Taylor’s work — hope you enjoy it! My STS is here if you’d like to take a look.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

