Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

12

October 14, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit!  I’m a travel FIEND and I’m always looking for somewhere new to visit.  My wanderlust is completely out of control!  I’m already planning my next trip, but at this stage I’m torn between going to Europe (where I haven’t been since 2006) or returning to the US (where I went a little over 12 months ago).  What a dilemma!  It’s a pity Australia is SO far away from anything.

I take my inspiration from books and popular culture, so this topic is fairly perfect for me!  Anyhoo, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂

1. Anna and the French Kiss ~ Paris

Paris is one of the most beautiful cities and ANNA has made me desperate to go back!  I was there for about a day in 2006 and OBVIOUSLY it was nowhere near enough time 🙂 I’ll get back there eventually.

2. Lola and the Boy Next Door ~ San Francisco

I’ve wanted to go to San Francisco for as long as I can remember.  Charmed started my obsession and then LOLA tipped it over the edge completely!  It seems so picturesque and beautiful, with all the hills and lovely houses.  Not to mention the trams! (Or trolleys as they’re called over there)  I see trams all the time in Melbourne but there’s something so much cuter about the ones in San Fran 🙂

3. Isla and the Happily Ever After ~ New York City

NYC has to be one of my absolute favourite cities in the world; I’ve been there twice and I’m determined to live there one day, if only for a little while.  ISLA does nothing to dampen this, if anything it made we want to go back even MORE if that’s even possible!

4. The Greek Islands ~ The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

My favourite part of this book was the time Lena spent in Greece visiting her family in Santorini.  Brashares totally brought it to life for me, and ever since then I’ve wanted to visit the Greek Islands.  Maybe next year!

5. Prince Edward Island ~ Anne of Green Gables

Anne had me caught up in her adventures from a very young age, and I always wanted to travel to PEI and join in.  About five years ago, a work colleague went and had an amazing time, she said it was a truly beautiful place and now I just HAVE to find out for myself 🙂

6. Tarpon Springs, Florida ~ Where the Stars Still Shine

I wasn’t expecting this book to give me a hankering to travel, given the subject matter, but I was totally taken in by Tarpon Springs!  Such a cute little town, well known for its Sponge Docks District, its Greek cuisine, its fresh seafood, and its quaint boutiques.  In fact, Tarpon Springs is the spong capital of the world!  Doller painted such a wonderful picture and I found myself drawn in completely.

7. England ~ Pride and Prejudice

I spent a day in London in 2006 and it was nowhere near enough to satisfy me!  There’s so much more I want to see in England, a lot of which stems from Pride and Prejudice – Hertfordshire, Kent, Derbyshire… If I don’t get to see “Pemberley” one day, I will be sorely disappointed!

8. USA Road Trip ~ Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

I have a dream that one day I will take a road trip across the USA, I don’t really have any set idea in mind of where I want to go but I think it could be a lot of fun.  The road trip in this book, from California to Connecticut, certainly sounds like a blast and really made me think about the idea quite seriously.  There are so many places along the trip I’d love to go to, including Kentucky, Louisiana, Graceland, the Yosemites, I could just keep on going…

9. Hogwarts ~ Harry Potter Series

This actually isn’t just limited to Hogwarts, it extends to all locations in the Harry Potter universe – Diagon Alley and it’s amazing shops, Hogsmeade, The Ministry of Magic, basically EVERYTHING.  Luckily, this can come true (sort of!), with various locations in the UK that can be toured (my parents have seen the Great Hall 😦 ), along with The Wizarding World of Harry Potter theme park in Florida.

10. Isla and the Happily Ever After ~ Barcelona

I didn’t really want to repeat a book but ISLA made me want to travel all over the place!  I haven’t included the feels it gave me for Paris 🙂 I know Barcelona doesn’t feature a great deal in this book but Perkins’ writing on the city definitely wowed me in a short time.  I’ve had Spain on my list for a while, and this only made me bump it up a few places 😀

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  Have you got any others that you could recommend to me?  Are you a travel fiend like me?

«

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

  1. I haven’t read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour yet, but a road trip around the US sounds awesome!! Btw, Graceland is in Tennessee. 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    Nice picks. I randomly clicked on a link from the TTT post and came here. Funny enough, I’ve lived in Tarpon Springs and my husband still teaches at its high school. You should definitely visit some day. 🙂

  3. becca @ lost in thought says:

    USA road trip would be awesome! Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour also makes my list because of Yosemite National Park – sounds amazing! San Francisco and Paris both make my list plus New York would be amazing! Great list 🙂

    Becca @ Lost in Thought
    MY TTT

  4. I clicked this post just to see if Prince Edward Island made the list, and was excited to see that it made your #5! After reading the descriptions and seeing the gorgeous scenery in the movies, my wife and I have definitely added this one to our bucket list!

  5. I had Greece on my list too, as inspired by The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (I loved Lena’s storyline, and all of the vibrant Santorini culture her family narrative featured). I haven’t read Isla yet, but it’s exciting to know that Perkins ventures outside of Paris and into Spain in the book, even if for just a short while!
    My TTT

    • IT was nice revisiting Paris in ISLA, but it was also wonderful to see glimpses of Spain and Manhattan. Also, Josh and Isla’s Paris is different to Anna and Etienne’s Paris, so even that was portrayed differently – it didn’t feel like a rehash. It really is a wonderful book!

  6. Lindsay says:

    I love the way you did your pictures for this post! Santorini made my list because of a different book. It looks so stunning!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

