ISFJ

13

October 12, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

There’s a thing going around the interwebs at the moment about finding out what literary and other characters have similar personalities to you, using the Meyer-Briggs Personality Test.  I first saw it on The Notebook Sisters and I knew I HAD to find out who I’m similar to!  How cool does that sound!

The first step is to take this personality test, to find out what personality you have.  Once you’ve done that, you head on over to the TV Tropes page to meet your alter-egos.  Here’s how mine went…

Personality Test:

So it turns out I’m an ISFJ.  You may have just had the same response as me: What the hell is that?!  Well, ISFJ stands for Introverted, Sensing, Feeling and Judging.

TV Tropes provided this definition for an ISFJ personality:

ISFJ – The Protector
ISFJs are loyal, orderly and sensitive. They can be very shy around people they don’t know, but are the sort of person who will always remember your birthday, and are never accidentally offensive.

I actually think that’s pretty spot on for me!  Also, did you know that Queen Elizabeth II is an ISFJ as well?!  Nor did I until about 5 seconds ago…

My Alter-Egos:

The list of ISFJs can be found here, but I thought I’d share some of my favourites!

Bernadette Rostenkowski-Wolowitz from The Big Bang Theory

This one surprised me a bit, I’d have thought that Amy would’ve been more an ISFJ than Bernadette.  Although, it’s pretty cool to be matched up to a character that shares my name!

Prue Halliwell from Charmed

Prue epitomises the Protector role and she was a pretty kick-arse character!  I identify more so with Piper’s personality traits, but I’d rather be similar to Prue.

Oh Andy! *sobs*

Commissioner Jim Gordon from The Dark Knight Saga

I adore Jim Gordon, he’s a quiet achiever and steadfast in his beliefs.  I’ll happily share a personality type with him!

Marlin from Finding Nemo

As scared as he may be for most of the film, Marlin is DEFINITELY a protector when it comes to Nemo and Dory.  I think this one’s fairly accurate 🙂

Emma from Glee

Yeah, I don’t see this AT ALL.  I’m nowhere near as neurotic as Emma!  She may be more extreme on ISFJ scale than I am…

Neville Longbottom from Harry Potter

This sounds about right!

Dr. James Wilson from House

Ah, Wilson.  Always putting up with House’s antics, being the voice of reason…  But he’s very protective of his friend, and can see some of the similarities between us.

Ted Mosby from How I Met Your Mother

I really wish I was more like Lily, but deep down inside I KNOW I’m a Mosby.

Meg March from Little Women

As much as I like to think I’m like Jo, I suspect I’ve got way more of Meg inside me.  She shy and struggles to talk to people she’s not familiar with, and she’s not especially outgoing.  That’s me alright!

Setsuna Meioh/Sailor Pluto from Sailor Moon

I’m just glad I didn’t get Sailor Moon, that girl is straight-up CRAY-CRAY.  I can’t really remember Sailor Pluto, although I often think people don’t remember me, so… Probably accurate!

Ted Buckland from Scrubs

This is like Emma from Glee, I’m nowhere near that pathetic!  Another more extreme example methinks, and a low blow 🙂

Elinor Dashwood from Sense and Sensibility

If I had to pick a character I identified most with in S&S, it’s definitely Elinor.  She’s introverted, caring, puts family first and has difficulty sharing her feelings.  I could be writing about myself here!

Marge Simpson from The Simpsons

Poor Marge, here’s hoping I don’t end up with a husband like Homer!

There you have it, my personality types in books, TV and films!  Have you taken the test?  If so, who are you similar to?

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “ISFJ

  1. This is awesome, but I’ll be doing this tonight! 😀

  2. I’m an ISFJ too! (I changed from being an INFJ when I took the test a few years ago)

    • That’s cool that you changed! It’s logical I suppose, we don’t all stay the same for our entire lives, our personalities change and grow depending on our experiences. I’d be interested to take the test again in a few years’ time to find out where I sit then.

  3. Loved this. I’m an INFP. Now I have to go see who I’m most like 🙂

  4. […] it has cropped up on several other blogs I follow (and love!) such as The Notebook Sisters, The Bumbling Bookworm and For the Love of the Page. Basically what you do here is take the test and then head over to TV […]

  5. Lindsey says:

    I’m an ISFJ, too! I really enjoyed this post. 🙂

  6. Cait says:

    Bahaha! That last gif was hilarious. Well, you know I’m totally INTJ and absolutely villainous (apparently, gosh, what a box I live in) but this is so cool!! YAY YOU’RE LIKE GORDON! And Marlin! The real question is, do you have a friend like Dory?!!

  7. […] really into personality tests, so when I saw this post on The Bumbling Bookworm’s blog, I was inspired to do my own take on it! What people are […]

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

