Stacking the Shelves {8}

8

September 27, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly haul meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, and it’s an opportunity to share the books we’re adding to our shelves each week.   The books can be physical or virtual, purchased or borrowed from the library, or even gifted or for review.

So it’s been a little while since I’ve done a Stacking the Shelves post, and I may have gone a little book crazy during that time… See for yourself!

For Review

FullSizeRender_1

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (Penguin Teen Australia)
Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer (Simon & Schuster Australia)
Reluctantly Charmed by Ellie O’Neill (Simon & Schuster Australia)

I was very lucky to receive two books during the week from Simon & Schuster Australia, Belzhar and Reluctantly CharmedBelzhar sounds really intruiging, not the contemporary YA romance I usually read, but I’m trying to broaden my horizens and I’ve heard some good things about this one.  As for Reluctantly Charmed, it’s been described by Simon and Schuster as “an enchanting debut with the warmth of Monica McInerney and the charm of Bridget Jones.”  Well, I absolutely ADORE Monica McInerney (proof below!), and I’m quite looking forward to this one.

A big thanks to Penguin Teen Australia for All the Bright Places, they must’ve been reading my mind when they sent me this one!  Keeping in theme with the cover, Penguin Teen Australia wrote up a whole bunch of post-its to stick on the front of their ARCs to send out for review, it’s so cool!  Mine is just PERFECT, I don’t know how they did it but I ended up with the ever so brilliant quote from Gilmore Girls, “Oy with the poodles already!”  Needless to say, I was pretty pumped when I saw that, fangirl that I am 🙂

Bought

FullSizeRender

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall
The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #0.1 – #0.5) by Sarah J. Maas
Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas
Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas
Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas
Upside Down, Inside Out by Monica McInerney
Hello from the Gillespies by Monica McInerney

I mentioned that I adore Monica McInerney above, and there’s no better week to demonstrate that than this week!  Hello from the Gillespies is her latest, and I had to go into Big W twice after it was released before I finally found it… As for Upside Down, Inside Out, I picked that up for $10 at QBD – they’re pretty great like that!  It’s a good way for me to collect some of the books from her backlist which aren’t always easy to find, I’ve bought a few of them from there.

A Little Something Different sounds like such a quirky read, I’ve heard it’s really cute so I’m looking forward to that!  As for the Throne of Glass novels, I’m wading into the world of Celaena Sardothien and let me tell you I’m HOOKED.  Hooked I tell you!  I’ve already read The Assassin’s Blade and Throne of Glass, and I’m holding off on the other two until I have time to sit and read without interruption.

Borrowed

FullSizeRender_2

The Life and Times of Gracie Faltrain (Gracie Faltrain #1) by Cath Crowley
Steal My Sunshine by Emily Gale
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Tease by Amanda Maciel
This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales
Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith
Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

I wrote earlier in the week about having found a new library to replace the one my parents moved away from, and these were the books I picked up while I was there.  Most of these I’d heard about in the blogosphere, others took my fancy on the day and sounded interesting.  I’ve previously borrowed Steal My Sunshine and This Song Will Save Your Life from my old library, but I had to return them before I could read them.  So many books, so little time!

There you have it, that’s my post for the week!  I wasn’t kidding when I said I went nuts!  Did you add any new books to your shelf this week?

8 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves {8}

  1. Cait says:

    ERMAGERSH LOOK AT ALL THOSE SARAH J MAAS BOOKS. *flails* I am such a fan and I finally got over my fear of Heir of Fire and just read it in 2 days. XD It was fabulous, but I think my favourite is still Crown of Midnight. I hope you like them all! Watch out for those novellas though…they’re sneakily heart breaking. >.>
    Oh, but so many books. I don’t even know what to squee about first. XD I think the post-it book is really awesome and that’s SO cool it was a quote you knew! 😉 I love This Song and Cath Crowley and Shiver and Leonard Peacock…although that one is quite depressing. I still adored it. BUT NEEDED CHOCOLATE.
    I hope you have a good time with all of these. xD

    • Yeah, I read Throne of Glass and the novellas in the space of 24 hours, so that was definitely time well spent! I’m holding off on the other two until I have time to just sit and read without interruption, because I have no doubt they’re equally engrossing and I’d hate to have to dispose of anyone who got in my way… 😀
      It was SO lucky I got a quote I knew – I don’t think they were all quotes from what I’ve seen on Twitter, but that one was scarily suited to me. I may have grinned and shrieked like a crazy person when I opened it!

  2. THRONE OF GLASS SERIES OH MY GOD HOW I LOVE THEE. So damn good (I caved and binge read them so far a few weeks ago). 😀 Happy reading!

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  3. So much awesomeness here! Happy reading and I hope you’ll enjoy them all! 🙂

    My STS: http://readingadd.blogspot.ro/2014/09/stacking-shelves-7.html

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

