Life of a Blogger {3}: Clothing

3

September 25, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Life of a Blogger is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely Jessi of Novel Heartbeat, shining the spotlight on bloggers on a more personal level 🙂 Every week she chooses a topic and shares about her life, encouraging other bloggers to do the same.  Today’s topic is Clothing.

Clothing

I’m a bit of a strange female and I’ll tell you why: I’m not much of a fashionista and I don’t like clothes shopping. There, I’ve said it! Clothes to me are a necessity that I need to wear to be decent in public. I generally tend to avoid shopping until my clothes are so worn out they’re falling apart, and I have no choice but to buy new clothes. And I mean literally falling apart – my yoga pants, pyjama pants and jeans all usually have holes in the crotch/thigh area before I buy new ones!

By most females’ standards, I don’t have a huge wardrobe of clothes. Actually, that’s not true, I don’t have a huge wardrobe of clothing that I currently fit into 🙂 I’ve gained weight over the years and still have the clothes I don’t fit into at the moment. I’m in the process of losing that weight and rationalise that I’ll fit into those clothes soon {and I will at this rate}, but will I want to wear them? Probably not! But if I get rid of them, it means once again buying more clothes when I can’t fit into the ones I have. Gah!

I’ve never been much of a fan of clothes shopping for a variety of reasons. I’m a really impatient person, so to have to look around to find what I want is painfully annoying. And taking the time to try on clothes, forget about it! But I can’t NOT try on clothes, because I have a really stupid body shape and I won’t know if something looks ok until I try it on… It really is a vicious circle!

I struggle to find clothes {that I like} to suit my body shape and then I get disheartened and cranky and that’s never fun for anyone. And it always seems that I can never find what I want when I’m specifically looking for it! So when I finally find clothes I like, I snap them up and DON’T LET GO. I’ll find some good looks and stick with them until I just can’t wear them any more.

What about you, do you like clothes? Can you give me any tops to enjoy shopping a bit more? It is kinda necessary I spose!

3 thoughts on “Life of a Blogger {3}: Clothing

  1. Yvo says:

    I’m EXACTLY the same when it comes to clothing and my loath for shopping, so no tips here hehe. I even prefer patch up my old clothing over shopping for new. It is just so time consuming… I also totally understand the diet and non-fitting clothes part; I’m slowly getting back to my old weight and I’m putting off buying new clothes because I know I have a ‘new’ wardrobe once I lose the last 5kg. 😉

    • Yeah, I’ve got about 20kg I want to lose so the thought of buying new clothes everytime they stop fitting is kind of horrifying! Of course, I won’t be able to keep wearing these clothes because they’ll fall off (that’s the hope anyway!) which is equally horrifying – it’s a vicious cycle 🙂 Glad to hear I’m not the only person who feels like this!

      • Yvo says:

        I know exactly how you feel; I started earlier this year with 20kg extra I mostly gained because of my thyroid failing on me… But with that under control, I’m slowly getting back to my goal weight. And with that, I have a wardrobe full of clothing that is either too big or still doesn’t fit; like you said, it’s a vicious circle. 😉

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

