Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {15}

Leave a comment

September 10, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Welcome to another edition of Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up!  For lack of a better title, this is where I share with you all of the (mostly bookish) interesting bits and pieces I’ve bumbled across in the past week (usually) 🙂

Hayfever season SUCKS.

What have you missed?

On my blog:

Wednesday: Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {14}
Friday: Flashback Friday ~ The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares
Saturday: Stacking the Shelves {7}

On the interwebs:

Books, Books, Books:

  • Things that happen when you can’t put down a good book – these all happen to me way too often!
  • Stefani of Caught Read Handed shared some excellent points made by Adi Alsaid on adults reading YA.
  • Here are some bookish quotes from Epic Reads to keep you motivated.
  • Parajunkee shared 10 ways to piss off a book blogger and also their blogger social etiquette, which are both well worth the read.
  • Hazel of Stay Bookish shared her thoughts on blogging freely, and this is definitely something I need to take into account more.
  • I hate bad grammar as much as the next person, and this post helps to clear a few things up.
  • David Estes guest posted on Happy Indulgence about the do’s and don’ts for successful indie authors, without resorting to spam.
  • If you tell me you don’t read books, chances are I’m going to have these reactions {also, what are you don’t on my blog if you don’t read!).
  • There’s a meme going around Facebook where people share their top ten books to have moved them, and here’s a list of the 20 most popular {many of which would make my list}.
  • Alise of Readers in Wonderland shared her thoughts on blogging how you like versus what others like to read.
  • Giselle from Xpresso Reads discussed the many ways one can follow a book blog, or really any blog for that matter.
  • The Worm Hole outlined her views on the responsibility bloggers have to plagiarised books.

Music, TV & Movies:

What’s news with me?

I had my first weekend at home in almost a month, which was absolutely GLORIOUS.  Sometimes I just need some me-time, when I’m not travelling every weekend.  And what did I do with my time?  On Saturday, I did a massive spring clean of my house, and boy was it overdue.  It’s not that my house is dirty {it’s not!}, it’s more that I’m a hoarder and don’t throw stuff out when I should.  As a result, the stuff takes up space until I need that space for other things, and then I do a massive clean up to fit the new stuff in.  It took me all day Saturday to do this, and by the end of it I was completely knackered.

Needless to say, Sunday was very much a bludge day.  I lounged on the couch watching TV and reading a book, and I really didn’t do much at all.  It didn’t help that I’d done something to my back the day before, I could barely move even if I wanted to!  This week hasn’t been so great so far, with a stomach bug on Monday and then severe hayfever yesterday and today.  Anyhoo, I’ve grabbed some antihistamines and thankfully I’m starting to see some relief.  As much as I don’t like Winter, I really hate Spring even more for the havoc it wreaks on my health – why can’t we just have Summer and Autumn all year round?

What am I…

Reading?

This week I’ve read two books!  I know this is tiny compared to a lot of other bloggers, but truth be told I’ve still been having trouble picking up a book.  I turn to the TV far too often… Anyhoo, this week I’ve read Isla and the Happily Ever After and also Looking for Alaska.  I LOVED Isla SO MUCH.  Looking for Alaska was also a good read, but not as good as I expected.

Watching?

I’ve been working my way through The Big Bang Theory, having a bit of a rewatch while there’s nothing on TV.  I just watched this episode:

Bwahaha, love it!

It’s also AFL finals season, so I watched all four games over the weekend.  All I can say is, none of the results surprised me AT ALL.  Especially the Port Adelaide v Richmond game, all the commentators were so surprised by Richmond’s capitulation at Adelaide Oval but I wasn’t – they forget that Port did the same thing to Carlton two weeks ago!

Listening to?

I’ve always enjoyed this one, and it never gets old 🙂

New music from Guy, yay!

There you have it!  Happy Wednesday!
Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

