Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Characters That Would Be Sitting At My Lunch Table

2

September 2, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Characters That Would Be Sitting At My Lunch Table!  We don’t really do the cafeteria thing in Australia, lunch time is spent outside generally mucking around, playing sports, etc. My friends and I were never particularly sporty and usually spent lunch sitting at one of the picnic tables my school had dotted around outside, so I guess we did have a lunch table of sorts 🙂

I’ve picked characters that I identify strongly with, for one reason or another, and it was so hard just to narrow it down to ten! All of these characters would be welcome at my lunch table..  Anyhoo, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂

Hermione Granger – Harry Potter

Okay, so at times she can be a bit of a know-it-all, but she mostly outgrew that! To be fair, I’ve been known to be a know-it-all myself at times 🙂 Hermione is smart, witty, she could save my life if push came to shove, and she loves books! We’d get on like a house on fire.

Cath Avery – Fangirl

I only read a bit of Fangirl before putting it down (damn you hype monster!) but from what I read, I can see that Cath is university me – especially the isolation and the love of fan fiction. Heck, I’m still like this sometimes 🙂 But I think we’d get along and help drag each other into the civilised world… Either that or hole up together where no one can find us!

Anne Shirley – Anne of Green Gables

Anne is brash, outspoken and says exactly what she thinks at any given time. She can be mistaken about things and has a hard time admitting when she’s wrong, and I certainly identify with that! Anne would be a lot of fun to hang out with, we’d be kindred spirits for sure 🙂

Josie Alibrandi – Looking for Alibrandi

As Italo-Australians, Josie and I have a lot in common. We’re both so close with our mums and we would’ve whinged about our nonnas and our crazy extended families in high school for sure! We would’ve bonded over the awesome food – the crespelle, the braciole di patata e riso, the turdilli… And let’s not forget the National Wog Days, both tomato sauce and salami! Anyone else hungry?

Mia Hall – If I Stay

My friends and I all played a musical instrument when we were in high school, and Mia would fit right in! I played the piano but I certainly wasn’t an aficionado like Mia on the cello – I’d look like a clunker next to her! Plus, with Mia hanging around, Adam’s likely to join in as well 🙂

Caymen Meyers – The Distance Between Us

She’s snarky and sarcastic, and I love those qualities in a person – I may even share those qualities… Family is important to her and yeah, she might be a TAD judgmental, but who isn’t? {I am…} Her dolls, however, are NOT WELCOME.

Jo March – Little Women

I always wanted to hang out with Jo when I was younger and this list wouldn’t be complete without her on it. She was a trailblazer of her time, refusing to conform to gender stereotypes to marry young and have kids. I grew up in a small town and a lot of my classmates have done just that; on the other hand, I’m SO far away from that happening at this point in my life. Also, she’s bookish!

Reagan O’Neill – Open Road Summer

So I didn’t agree with some of Reagan’s comments regarding other girls, internal or otherwise, but there’s no denying she’s a fierce friend to those she loves. She’s always got your back and she’ll fight like hell for you no matter what. It’s always good to have friends like that around; it’s definitely something I value because I know I certainly didn’t at times when I was younger. Also, any chance of Matt Finch hanging out as well and I’m sold!

Elizabeth Clarry – Feeling Sorry for Celia

I’ve always thought Elizabeth was a great friend to everyone, even Celia and especially when she didn’t deserve it. She was insecure at times and didn’t really know where she was headed, but then what teenage girl isn’t like that? Her letters were humorous and snarky, and she’d make a great addition to my table at lunch! {As long as Celia doesn’t join her; Christina, however, is more than welcome!}

Lena Kaligaris – The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

Much like Lena, I can also be shy and introspective. I never know what to say, I worry about saying the wrong thing or something stupid, I sit there all quiet – people must think I’m so rude, but I don’t mean to be! {Please keep this in mind if we ever meet!} I open up eventually and, like Lena, I’m far more extroverted with the people I’m close to. I think Lena and I would get along wonderfully and she should definitely join my table for lunch 🙂

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  Have you got any others that you could recommend to me?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Characters That Would Be Sitting At My Lunch Table

  1. Most of your characters are from books I haven’t yet read but have been wanting to (Open Road Summer, Fangirl, The Distance Between Us…), so I think that’s pretty promising! Hermione is on everyone’s list! She’s great. 🙂
    My TTT

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

