Today I Said Goodbye…

Leave a comment

August 31, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

The last couple of weeks, I’ve talked about my parents moving and how I’ve been helping them.  After another jam-packed weekend, the move will finally be wrapping up this week and not a moment too soon for my parents!  You might be wondering how this actually affects me, since I don’t live with my parents, other than by forcing me to find a new home for my books and DVDs… Well, today I finally said goodbye to something very special in my life that I’m losing – the library near my parents’ house!

I’ve previously written about my love for this library, it is truly amazing!  Unlike the library near my house, which I don’t particularly like, this one has a fantastic range of books and it’s rare that they don’t have a book I want to read.  But today I had to return all the books I had (many unread) and say goodbye 😦

Truth be told, my attachment to the library is far greater than my attachment to the house!  I didn’t live in the house for very long, only 18 months or so, and I didn’t grow up there.  Now the house I grew up in, that was a different story!  I lived there for 19 years before moving and I still sometimes dream about that house.  When my subconscious thinks of home, that’s the house it dreams of {nevermind that I’ve lived on campus at university and in 4 other houses since living in that house!}.

So I’m not too fussed about my parents leaving this house, and I think the move will be great for them.  Truth be told, the house is waaaay to big for them now that my brother and I have moved out.  But the selfish part of me is thinking “Dammit! Now I have to find a new library!”  They’re moving a half hour drive away from the library {but closer to me!}, which means the library is now completely out of my way.  So while my trip to my parents’ house is now only an hour and a quarter, instead of an hour and 45 minutes, I’m faced with the daunting task of finding a new library to replace the one I’ve lost…

It’s not be as bad as I’m making it out to be, but for the moment I’m library-less.  Seriously, this is such a first world problem, especially when I think about my own personal library with hundreds of books unread…  But as a bookworm who loves her library, I don’t think it’s something I can do long term.  It’s not like I can buy ALL THE BOOKS when I want to read them; I really do rely on the library quite a lot.

So I guess I’ll have to do some research and find out if there are any libraries near my parents’ new house {hopefully} good enough to replace the one I’ve lost.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

