Flashback Friday: Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta

8

August 22, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Flashback Friday on Swoony Boys Podcast and Fiction Fare
Flashback Friday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely ladies at Fiction Fare and Swoony Boys Podcast, shining the spotlight on books that are at least two years old 🙂

Today’s book I’ve chosen is Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta, because it just doesn’t feel right that I haven’t somehow featured this book on my blog yet.  It’s one of my favourites and I’ll get around to reviewing it soon I’m sure.

Also, how is it possible that this book 11 years old?!?! I remember buying it when it first came out and that just doesn’t feel like it was 11 years ago…

Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta
First Published: 31 March 2003
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction
Available Formats: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook, Audiobook

GoodreadsBook Depository | Amazon | iBooks

Goodreads Synopsis

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys’ school that pretends it’s coed by giving the girls their own bathroom.  Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an an impossibly dorky accordion player.  The boys are no better, from Thomas who specializes in musical burping to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can’t seem to stop thinking about.

Then there’s Francesca’s mother, who always thinks she knows what’s best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling who she really is.  Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life and—hardest of all—herself.

8 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta

  1. ficwishes says:

    Melina Marchetta began my love for Australia fiction writers. Check out my Flashback Friday Pick.

  2. Fabulous choice. Powerful novel. I loved it too. Thanks for sharing. This is a great reminder for people who haven’t read it.

  3. Haven’t heard of this before. Sounds pretty interesting.
    Check out my Flashback

  4. Kassiah says:

    Ahhh perfect choice is perfect! I love this book! xo

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

