Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {11}

1

August 13, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Welcome to another edition of Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up!  For lack of a better title, this is where I share with you all of the (mostly bookish) interesting bits and pieces I’ve bumbled across in the past week (usually) 🙂

R.I.P to one of the greatest comedic and dramatic actors of all time, and also a seemingly wonderful human being by all accounts.

What have you missed?

On my blog:

Wednesday: Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {10}
Sunday: 55 Quirky Bookish Questions
Tuesday: Chocolate Book Tag!
Sunday: 2nd Annual Beat The Heat Readathon ~ Goals & Progress
Tuesday: TTT – Top 10 Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

No post last week, so this is for the last two weeks 🙂

On the interwebs:

Forever Young Adult recently wrapped up their Gilmore Girls Rewatch Project, which was SO great – but wait, there’s more!  Presenting the Gilmore Girls Emoji Project!  And yes, it is just as awesome as it sounds!

Can you guess these famous books by their second line?  I actually did better than I thought I would, so I was pretty happy with myself 🙂

Here’s 15 things you may not know about Back to the Future… Surprise surprise, none of these were new to me!

I love reading books about road trips, and Epic Reads has shared 12 books for the open road – many of these are already favourites of mine or on my TBR list.

And now for your weekly {or fortnightly in this case} Buzzfeed Appreciation Time:

  1. Phoebe Buffay’s 27 Best Lines On “Friends” – They don’t know that we know they know we know…
  2. 27 Awesome Australian Books Every YA Fan Should Read – Too many favourites to count!
  3. 29 Great Performances By Robin Williams – *sadface*
  4. 25 Life Lessons We Learned From Robin Williams Characters – I loved these characters from a very young age.
  5. 23 Things Disney Movies Gave Girls Unrealistic Expectations About – The hair-fork DOESN’T WORK.
  6. 28 People Who Can’t Deal With The Modern World – My dad is used to be one of these!
  7. 33 Questions All Australians Have – YEP!
  8. 30 Agonising Australian Problems – YEP 2.0!
  9. The Definitive Ranking Of ’90s Aussie Kids TV Shows – A*Mazing was the reason I used to rush home from school everyday
  10. 88 Crazy Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Australia – Some of these were new to me.
  11. 19 Socially Awkward Situations For People Who Are Always Early – I may have this problem…
  12. Which “Friends” Character Should Be Your Roommate? Apparently I should room with Monica…
  13. The Cast Of “Friends” On The First Episode Vs. The Last Episode – Wowee!  So cool 🙂
  14. 18 Things That Inevitably Happen When You’re Addicted To Reading – YEP part 3.
  15. 25 Things Only People Who Fail At Exercise Will Understand – I may or may not identify with this…

What’s news with me?

Work has been INSANE.  Hence no time for blogging.  Boo.  Thankfully, everything seems to be getting back to normal now, so yay!

I went and saw Hanson on the weekend {for the second time} and it was AMAZEBALLS.  They are such great entertainers and it was such a fun night!  I literally had no voice the next morning, that part wasn’t so fun – but how could I possible go and not sing along…

Also, Isla and the Happily Ever After is finally {and officially} coming into our lives this week and my copy still hasn’t shipped!!!  I’m freaking out, I REALLY WANT TO READ IT.

What am I…

Reading?

I’m reading The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay and it’s really sucking me in at the moment – the writing has a way of making me not want to put the book down, like ever… That could be a bit of a problem!

I’m also doing the 2nd Annual Beat the Heat Readathon, which lasts for the next three weeks.  I’ve set my goals and hopefully I reach them!  I’m doing okay so far, but of course it is only day 3…

Watching?

I was pretty devastated by Robin Williams’ passing this week, he played such a massive part of my childhood.  So, I watched Aladdin last night for nostalgia reasons and I also caught the tail end of Mrs Doubtfire on telly last night.  I retweeted this tweet by The Academy which has been pretty controversial, but for me it sums things up fairly well:

Unlike others, I don’t take this tweet to be glorifying suicide.  Having experienced depression in someone very close to me, I know is that it’s an insidious disease.  I see this tweet as a beautiful gesture to a man who is now free of his demons, even if I {and many others} don’t necessarily agree {if that’s even the right word} with the means he took to achieve that.

If you, or someone you know needs help, please contact Lifeline on 13 11 14.

Listening to?

This song is so catchy, I love it!

What can I say, I love Hanson!  Don’t mock me 🙂

A favourite, and I got to see it live!

There you have it!  Happy Wednesday!
One thought on “Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {11}

  1. […] Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {11} Friday: Flashback Friday ~ Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins Sunday: Review ~ Open Road […]

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

