Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

17

August 12, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read!  I’ve chosen to focus on the books I’ve bought but I’m not sure I want to read, for whatever reason.  Anyhoo, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂

11.22.63 by Stephen King
I bought this around the time it came out, with all the good hype around it.  I started to read it and I couldn’t get into it.  Not sure if I’ll give it another go…

The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
Another one I rushed to buy when it was released, but I’ve heard some mixed reviews. I think I’m just scared of other books by JKR for fear they won’t live up to HP.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen & Seth Grahame-Smith
I have no idea what possessed me to buy this!  I tried to read it and it was too ridiculous for me, I’m not sure I’ll be giving it another shot…

Little Vampire Women by Louisa May Alcott & Lynn Messina
See above reasons for P&P & Zombies…

The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas
I know this is an Aussie classic but I just couldn’t get into it when I tried to read it.  I have a feeling that this will sit on my shelf unread for a long time!

The Plot Against America by Philip Roth
I went through a phase of buying really random obscure books, and this is one of them.  I doubt I’ll read it now though…

The Break-Up Artist by Philip Siegel
I was really keen to read this, bought it, and then read a bunch of poor reviews!  What to do?

The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien
These were a gift when I was younger and I tried to read them but I never made it through the first one.  Part of me really wants to read this and part of me isn’t sure.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
I’ve started this one a few months ago and then people kept telling me how horrible the characters were!  I put it down and haven’t been able to pick it back up again.

Tampa by Alissa Nutting
I won this in a giveaway and I really want to read it because it’s so different to what I usually read.  On that other hand, that’s exactly why I’m not sure if I do want to read it!

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  Are there any on my list I should definitely read?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

  1. If you are going to try Fellowship of the Ring again try and read it in long sittings because it does take a while to get into each time but if you read it in long sittings you get more absorbed into the story and it’s more enjoyable. Now just for you to find the time…. 😛 😄
    Great post! I’ve just read 4 of these and all of them had The Casual Vacancy!

  2. Rachel says:

    Definitely recommend Gone Girl! I had the JKR fear too, but I preferred The Cuckoo’s Calling to The Casual Vacancy (bear in mind I haven’t finished TCV yet!).

    My TTT: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/816953.Someone_Like_You

  3. eloisej says:

    I didn’t know there was a “Little Vampire Women”! They just don’t ever stop writing those. 😦
    Lord of the Rings is one of my favorite books but it wasn’t the first or even second time I read it. It took me until the third time when I was older to really appreciate them. 🙂
    http://youmeandacupofteablog.blogspot.com/2014/08/top-ten-books-that-im-not-sure-i-want.html

  4. I tried The Casual Vacancy, but I DNF’d it. I couldn’t get through it. 😦
    I have been wanting to read Tampa too. Sometimes you need something that’s different to either expand your horizons or as kind of a palette cleanser, you know?
    My TTT

  5. The Lord of the Rings has a really slow start (the first hundred pages or so are really unnecessary), but then it gets so much better. My advice is to skim the part set in the Shire. The interesting part starts after that, and it’s really fantastic.
    My TTT

  6. I also bought Pride & Prejudice & Zombies, and have absolutely no idea why! It’s such a silly book. I’ve seen them everywhere too.

    Check out my TTT!

    Katrina @ Chased By My Imagination

  7. […] Wednesday: Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {10} Sunday: 55 Quirky Bookish Questions Tuesday: Chocolate Book Tag! Sunday: 2nd Annual Beat The Heat Readathon ~ Goals & Progress Tuesday: TTT – Top 10 Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read […]

  8. Ah yeah Pride & Prejudice & Zombies is one I have as well. No clue why but there ya have it. lol

  9. I’ve never read Lord of the Rings either, but I’ve been thinking about changing that. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Gone Girl.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

