55 Quirky Bookish Questions

5

August 3, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

I’ve been wanting to do a bit of a bookish get-to-know-you type post so I could share a bit about myself with you guys {it’s only been 6 months!} when I stumbled across this.  I was inspired to complete this questionaire by The Notebook Sisters {Part 1 & Part 2}, with the questions originating from The Literary Lollipop as far as I can tell.  So, without further ado, here are the questions and my answers!

1. Favourite childhood book?
45 + 47 Stella Street And Everything That Happened by Elizabeth Honey.

2. What are you reading right now?
I’m between books at the moment, I can’t decide what I want to read next.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?
What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Empress Dowager Cixi by Jung Chang

4. Bad book habit?
Borrowing HEAPS of books out from the library, renewing them as many times as possible and then returning them {usually} unread.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
Too many to name at the moment, see previous question 🙂 I still have all the library books listed in this post, and this one, and this one too…

6. Do you have an e-reader?
I occasionally read books on my iPad… does that count?  I don’t have a separate e-reader.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
I don’t really have a preference, I often have several books on the go at one time.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
I’m reading more frequently, which is always a plus 🙂 I’ve also been exposed to so many awesome books I otherwise never would’ve heard of.

9. Least favourite book you read this year?
The Other Summer Girl by Sarah D. Towne (review).

10. Favourite book I’ve read this year?
Well this is a tricky one! If I had to pick just one, it’d have to be The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (review).

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
I often have to be dragged out of my comfort zone kicking and screaming… Nah, I’m not that bad but I’m pretty set in my ways 🙂 This isn’t just limited to reading btw!

12. What is your reading comfort zone?
Contemporary, usually some romance, mostly YA but I still enjoy some Adult Fiction.

13. Can you read on the bus?
Only if I have music blaring in my ears to help me drown out the bus sounds – this isn’t just limited to the bus, it’s the same for planes, trains and automobiles.  It helps me forget I’m on a moving vehicle, otherwise I become a nauseous mess!

14. Favourite place to read?
Definitely my couch, it’s so comfy!  The bed is a close second.

15. What’s your policy on book lending?
I’m kind of okay with it, depending on the person I’m lending to.  My mum’s pretty much the only person I’ve lent books to recently, which is never an issue – I can track the books down and they come back in great nick.  I hate it when books {or anything really} doesn’t come back the way it left me…

16. Do you dogear your books?
Yep.  All the time!  Only to mark my page though, not for cool quotes or anything like that.

17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books?
Not since high school thankfully!

18. Do you break/crack the spine of your books?
Not intentionally – that is a BIG NO NO!  If it happens because I’ve read the book soooooooo many times, well there’s not much I can do about that.

19. What is your favourite language to read?
English – I like to be able to understand what I’m reading!  I can read a bit of Italian, but not enough to get through a book.

20. What makes you love a book?
Ooooohh that’s a tough one… That’s not really something I can quantify!  Something that gives me ALL THE FEELS is usually a good bet, and books that suck me in {to the point where I can’t put them down} are also usually pretty high up on my list.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
If I loved it and it moved me, I will push it on everyone I know – On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta (review) is the perfect example of this.

22. Favourite genre?
Contemporary YA, hands down!

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did)?
Probably fantasy – I always think I’m not going to like it and then I usually end up loving it on the rare occasions I actually give it a chance.

24. Favourite Biography?
Lucky Man: A Memoir by Michael J. Fox

25. Have you ever read a self-help book? (And, was it actually helpful?)
Can’t say I have.

26. Favourite Cookbook?
The Essential Baking Cookbook by Murdoch Books – this has the best sweets!

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
Can I say The Book Thief again?

28. Favourite reading snack?
I don’t really have one, although I do often read while eating my meals 🙂

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience?
I still haven’t been able to read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.  I bought the book while i was on holiday in the US the minute it was released and then all the hype surrounding it completely put me off.  I’m hoping to give it another shot soon.

30. How often do you agree with the critics about about a book?
If by critics you mean those in the magazines and newspapers, I have no idea – I don’t really read any of that.  If you mean other bloggers, sometimes I agree and other times I don’t.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I don’t have any problem with it, it’s part of being an honest reviewer.  However, I do draw the line at negative reviews that attack the author – there’s no need for that.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose?
I’m going to go with Italian, that way I could easily talk to my family on Facebook 🙂

33. Most intimidating book I’ve read?
The Hunger Games was intimidating for me, not as a read but because I waited so long to read it.  There was so much hype and love around it, and I was so scared I’d be the crazy person who didn’t love it!  I’m glad to report that wasn’t the case 🙂

34. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin?
Night Film by Marisha Pessl – It’s not my usual genre but I’ve heard really great things about it.

35. Favourite Poet?
I’m not really into poetry, so I don’t have a favourite poet.  I do, however, have a favourite poem – My Country by Dorothea MacKellar.  It’s a wonderful expression of her love for Australia and more than 100 years later it remains a relevant expression of my love for our country.  I love a sunburnt country…

36. How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at any given time?
Well, my limit is 30 books soooooo… I’m usually pretty close to my limit!

37. How often do you return books to the library unread?
Far too often… 83% at least 🙂

38. Favourite fictional character?
Oh that’s way too hard to answer!  Josephine Alibrandi is pretty high up there, as is Professor Dumbledore, Katniss Everdeen, Jonah Griggs, Fitzwilliam Darcy, Etienne St Clair, Josephine March, Anne Shirley… I’m gonna stop now!

39. Favourite fictional villain?
Lord Voldemort – I don’t like HIM {obviously!}, but I love how he was written.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
Anything I’m keen to read at the time, I don’t really have a specific type of book I bring.  Contemporary YA is usually pretty high up there 🙂 I also buy books when I’m on holidays so… What can I say, I’m addicted!

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading?
I can’t say I’ve counted, although my university years were pretty bleak in terms of reading for pleasure – I went months at a time without reading.

42. Name a book you could/would not finish?
I’m not great at DNFing, I’m trying to get better at this.  Although I did start reading The Fellowship of the Ring when I was 13 years old, I got part way through and put it down – I haven’t picked it back up since, 13 years later…

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
TV, the internet, blogging, phone calls from my mum, too much to count really!

44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel?
Looking for Alibrandi was and still is a favourite, as is the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.  I enjoyed this film but I was quite disapppinted at the amount of crucial information that was left out – for example, the identity of the Maurauders!!!

46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time?
I’m going to say around $100 – I can remember at least one time when I did this…

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
Not too often, although I have been known to take a peek at the ending on occasion…

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?
I’d really have to be hating it for some reason or be completely bored by it – although, as I said above, I’m not huge on the DNF.

49. Do you like to keep your books organised?
I usually have them organised on the bookshelf in alphabetical order by author surname.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read?
I’m a bit of a hoarder, I keep everything 🙂

51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding?
I mentioned Fangirl above, I generally avoid anything where there’s too much hype – I even did this with Harry Potter, I didn’t start reading that until Goblet of Fire was out!

52. Name a book that made you angry?
Forget You by Jennifer Echols (review).  It makes me angry just thinking about it!

53. A book I didn’t expect to like but did?
Harry Potter – clearly I was delusional.

54. A book I expected to like but didn’t?
Perfect Escape by Jennifer Brown (review).  I didn’t dislike this one but I expected to like it more than I did.

55. Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading?
Anything by Nora Roberts, Bella Andre and the like 🙂 Although, I don’t really feel guilty about reading anything, nor do I think anyone should.

There you have it!  Feel free to share your answers to any questions that take your fancy 🙂

5 thoughts on “55 Quirky Bookish Questions

  1. Cait says:

    Eeep! I’m glad you had a go at these questions too. They’re quite fun, right?! (Although I’ve noticed they’ve done a bit of a Chinese-whispers from blog to blog with the wording. Heeh.)

    Harry Potter #3 is the only movie I’ve watched! I actually kind of enjoyed it…buuut, it was my first one and I was just impressed that they kept a lot of the details in. OH. I get very sick reading in a moving car. Big no no for moi. And The Book Thief can literally fit in every answer for “awesome book” for me now. Oh it was amazing and heartbreaking. I KNEW what would happen (because I watched the movie first) but I still was gasping and sniffling at the end. 😐

  2. […] Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {10} Sunday: 55 Quirky Bookish Questions Tuesday: Chocolate Book Tag! Sunday: 2nd Annual Beat The Heat Readathon ~ Goals & Progress […]

  3. You can’t go wrong with Anne Shirley! She’s fabulous. Glad you enjoyed the questionnaire!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

