Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {9}

3

July 23, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Welcome to another edition of Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up!  For lack of a better title, this is where I share with you all of the (mostly bookish) interesting bits and pieces I’ve bumbled across in the past week (usually) 🙂

I’m having one of those weeks at the moment…

What have you missed?

On my blog:

Wednesday: Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {8}
Friday: Flashback Friday – Feeling Sorry For Celia by Jaclyn Moriarty

I’ve been so busy at work that all I want to do is veg out on the couch when I get home – I can’t stand to be in front of the computer… It’s times like these I wish I was better at scheduling my posts! *sadface*

I have a busy three weeks coming up but hopefully I’ll be able to be around a bit more 🙂

On the interwebs:

I read this article on 7 habits of highly effective readers and I realised that I’m not doing enough of this, if I’m even doing it at all – some of them I’m not.  Something to take on board for sure.

Apparently, studies have shown that Australians who read spend more time on the internet than those who don’t read.  I’m certainly guilty of that one!  I have to get better at the switching off of electonic devices…

The program for the Melbourne Writer’s Festival has been released!  I’m going to have to go through it and work out what I can get to, if anything.  It’s right around the time my parents will be moving, and I also live 1.5 hours away so mid-week stuff is a no-go.  Hopefully I can fit a few things in.

Book Riot complied the best literary Google doodles and I love the Beatrix Potter one – I used to love her stories when I was a kid.  In fact, I found my book with her complete stories the other day, still awesome!

And of course, it’s Buzzfeed appreciation time!  Here’s what caught my fancy this week:

  1. 61 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Friends: I actually didn’t know some of these!  That’s kinda amazing considering the level of my obsession with this show!
  2. The 33 Most Monday Things That Have Ever Happened: I read this on Monday and it was so apropos.
  3. 13 Of Your Favourite Books If Their Titles Were Honest: I had a giggle at P&P’s renaming, and also Hamlet’s 🙂
  4. 19 Times Australia’s Weather Was Batshit Insane: this place is terrifying sometimes!
  5. A Ranking Of 27 Classic ’00s Teen Movies, From Worst To Best: a lot of my favourites made the cut…
  6. Which “That ’70s Show” Character Should You Smoke A Doobie With? I got Donna, who was always a favourite of mine 🙂
  7. 16 Things That Inevitably Happen At Target: swap Big W for Target and you’ve got yourself a deal.
  8. 25 Photos That Show How Much The Lower East Side Sucked: five years ago I toured the Tenement Museum on the Lower East Side and this reminded me so much of what I saw there.
  9. 35 Things Every Teen Girl In The ’00s Was Obsessed With: NALEY FOREVER.  Also, Limewire was the best – you know, if you forget about all the viruses and illegal downloading and stuff…

What’s news with me?

Well.  I had a busy weekend!  On Friday night I went to the footy AND MY TEAM WON.  Let me break it down for you – it was totally feasible that the Blues weren’t going to win another game this season.  We’ve been particularly mediocre at times this year and didn’t look like we were going to be in with a shot.  So needless to say, I was pretty happy!

On Saturday, I went to Hobart for the weekend and it was such fun!  I mentioned last week that a friend and I were going to visit another friend, it was pretty darn awesome 🙂 On Saturday we went to the Salamanca Market for lunch and I had the best mini-pancakes for dessert (except I ate them before I ate my lunch… technicalities!).  I also picked up some really yummy homemade peanut butter, it was so good!  The market is great fun, I’ve been twice now and I highly recommend it to anyone that visits Hobart.  It’s on every Saturday from 8am to 3pm and it has so much variety – clothes, books, accessories, food, home-grown and home-made produce, plants, the lot!

After Salamanca, the girls and I headed out to The Wicked Cheese Co. and had a tasting of their homemade cheeses – yummo!  They’re a factory and tasting house, so we also enjoyed a cheese platter and some wine after the tasting (or a Lemon, Lime and Bitters in my case!).  I’d been there before but it was right when it was closing.  Let’s just say I got the full experience this time; their brie and blue cheese are to die for!  That night we got some fish, chips and fresh seafood and hung out in the hotel room – we were pretty knackered.  On Sunday we had brunch and then went out to MONA (Museum of Old and New Art) for the day – this place is AMAZEBALLS.  Seriously, it’s so wacky and out there (it’s dressed up like a shopping mall at the moment…) but there is some amazing art there and a lot of it is the owner’s personal collection.  I would go back there in a heartbeat!

After that it was time for me to fly back to Melbourne 😦 Here’s a photo I took of Salamanca Place without all the stalls on Sunday, look at the awesome weather we had!

Unfortunately, since the weekend it’s been work work work all the time – my job has ebbs and flows in the amount of work I have to do at any given time, and right now I’m in one of the ultra busy ebbs.  Not to worry, it should end in about three weeks… 😦

What am I…

Reading?

I’m still on The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet, I haven’t been much in the mood for reading this past week.  I should finish it in the next couple of days though, I’m really enjoying it!

Watching?

Not much at the moment, sadly enough.  I need a new show to binge-watch.  I’m thinking Chicago Fire… thoughts?

Hot guys in uniform, Aussie alert, what’s not to love?!

Listening to?

I CANNOT GET THIS SONG OUT OF MY HEAD.  I blame Channel 7, it’s all over the Winners and Losers promos and I can’t escape it!  Good song though 🙂

Another one I’m enjoying.

I was also put on to Pandora Radio by my friends while we were in Hobart, it’s pretty great.  If you live in Australia, New Zealand or the USA, hook it up!

There you have it!  Happy Wednesday!
3 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {9}

  1. Cait says:

    Ooh, yay for Hobart! I’ve never been that far South. (Well, I’ve barely been south at all. I live in far north NSW and seriously…we go up to the warmth on holidays. xD I can’t even imagine Hobart this time of year. lol) I’m glad you had a good time! I know reading keeps me on the computer a lot. There are reviews to write and read! Blogs to check out! Book covers to obsess over! xD

    • Hobart is so lovely, very quaint! It actually wasn’t as cold as you would imagine, we had some lovely weather which apparently was fairly abnormal for this time of year. Although I do live in country VIC which gets pretty damn cold during winter, so cold is cold really! Usually I’m on the computer/iPad/iPhone a lot for reading/blogging purposes, but this past week it’s been the furthest thing from my mind. Hopefully that’s not an issue for too long 🙂

  2. […] ~ Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {9} Saturday ~ Stacking the Shelves {5} Sunday ~ It’s Swappin’ Time: I Got Ninjaed! Sunday […]

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

