Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {8}

1

July 16, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Welcome to another edition of Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up!  For lack of a better title, this is where I share with you all of the (mostly bookish) interesting bits and pieces I’ve bumbled across in the past week (usually) 🙂

Okay.  So I’ve been very naughty and haven’t posted one of these for months… MONTHS!  Well, that stops now dammit!  I will make time for these posts but I’m going to re-jig it a little bit.  By that I mean there will be a bit more focus on me and how my past week has gone, rather than just making this a link dump for all the posts I’ve read in the past week.  I’ll still be sharing links but they won’t be the be-all-end-all of these posts.  I think I’ll enjoy that a bit more 🙂 And if you’re not a fan, well…

I love Meredith Grey 🙂

What have you missed?

On my blog:

Thursday: Review – Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Friday: Flashback Friday – Austenland by Shannon Hale
Saturday: Stacking the Shelves {4}
Tuesday: Top Ten {or 12} TV Shows No Longer On The Air

A bit of a dearth in reviews lately!  I think we need to change this 🙂

On the interwebs:

When I heard the news that LeBron James was headed back to Cleveland, there was only one thing on my mind: what would Ted Mosby think?  God knows we heard Mosby whinge enough about him leaving…  Well my fellow HIMYM-lovers, wonder no more!  The question has been answered and it is AWESOME.  Side note: BLUE FRENCH HORN.

Check out this list of YA books that will change your world view – some of my absolute favourites are listed, it’s really comprehensive.  The Book Thief, Saving Francesca, TFIOS, I love all of these!  Also, it’s given me some pretty good reccs for books to read in the future.

If you love books and music, you should definitely have a look at this list of music-themed YA books – there’s so many books on here that I want to read!  I also really need to check out these bookish tumblrs, some of them sound pretty darn great.

And it wouldn’t be a wrap-up post without my Buzzfeed procrastination making an appearance!  Here’s what caught my fancy this week:

  1. Which witch from Charmed are you?  Yay, I’m Phoebe!  She always was my favourite 🙂
  2. 29 cats who failed so hard they won: the internet sure does love its cats!  This is SO cute.
  3. 17 everyday things that are hard to do in winter: this is me RIGHT NOW.
  4. 18 things that will be 18 years old this year: way to make me feel old Buzzfeed.
  5. 43 things that will actually make you feel old: here they go again!
  6. Here’s how to ask someone out using a John Green book: love it!

What’s news with me?

I’ve FINALLY had a hair cut!  In all fairness, I’d had one in May, but pretty much straight after I regretted not getting more cut off than just a trim.  Well, it’s safe to say I’ve chopped off more than just a trim!  See for yourself:

IMG_3524

I’m so happy, I feel human again!  I’m one of those strange people who has to wash their hair everyday or risk looking like a greaser, and it was taking waaaay too long to do in the morning.  Now I’m taking 15 minutes less time to get ready in the morning which is always a plus 🙂

I’ve been a bit of hermit lately, being sick and all, but I’ve got a few things to look forward to this weekend – on Friday night I’m going to the footy and then on Saturday I’m heading to Hobart for the weekend with a friend.  It should be a good weekend, cold but good 🙂 We’re visiting another friend which will be good fun, I can’t wait!  As for the footy, I’m not getting my hopes up – I’m a diehard Carlton Blues supporter and it’s an understatement to say we’re having a shit year…

What am I…

Reading?

I’ve finished The Year of the Rat, which I enjoyed.  It was a pretty sad book the whole way through, but that was understandable given the subject matter.

I’ve now moved on to The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet and I’m loving it so far.  Once I upload this I’m off to bed to read some more – there’s bugger all on TV tonight!

Watching?

OMG I am ADDICTED to NCIS: Los Angeles!  I’d watched the occasional episode on a Tuesday night last year, but then about a month ago I really got into it and had to watch them ALL.  Before I fell sick, I’d watched two seasons of the show and it had taken me a few weeks to do that.  Then I had a week off work because I was so sick, and I binge-watched three seasons.  THREE SEASONS.  I’m not even kidding, and it wasn’t the only thing I watched either.  This show is AWESOME.  There is nothing about this show that I don’t like, especially Deeks 🙂

Yes please!

And now I have to wait for the next season to start.  BOO.  Not cool.  Oh well, I’ll just have to find something else to binge-watch in the meantime…  Any suggestions?

Listening to?

I heard this song on an episode of Grey’s Anatomy last season and I just can’t stop listening to it!  It’s such an amazing cover, and I really wish I could find it on iTunes so I could buy it 😦

I’ve been listening to a lot of Emeli Sandé lately and this one’s a particular favourite 🙂

Taylor Henderson’s latest album Burnt Letters came out last week, his album was an auto-buy for me.  Loved him on X Factor AU last year!

There you have it!  Happy Wednesday!
One thought on “Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {8}

  1. […] Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up {8} Friday: Flashback Friday – Feeling Sorry For Celia by Jaclyn […]

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

