Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 (or 12) TV Shows No Longer On The Air

19

July 15, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Movies or TV Shows!  When I saw this topic, I knew I was going to struggle – not because I wouldn’t have anything to choose from, but because I wouldn’t be able to limit myself to just ten movies or tv shows.  So I kept narrowing it down, I chose TV shows and then I chose to only focus on those that are no longer on the air, at least with new episodes.  Even then I couldn’t limit myself to 10, my magic number for the week is 12!  Anyhoo, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂

Friends

So the rest of the shows on this list are in no particular order, but not this one!  This is numero uno, number one, no doubt about it – my most favourite TV show of ALL TIME!  I actually can’t watch an episode without quoting along, I’ve seen them all SO many times – it drives my mum crazy 🙂 I don’t even have to be watching an episode to start quoting, it’s a sickness really!  I love absolutely everything about Friends, the characters, the setting, the storylines, the lot.  I can be feeling like absolute crap, I’ll pop on an episode of Friends and BAM!  Just like that, my mood takes a turn for the better.  A highlight of my trip to the US last year was the Warner Bros studio tour and the pit stop at Central Perk, it was so exciting!

How I Met Your Mother

I was a latecomer to HIMYM by a few seasons, but once I started watching I couldn’t stop.  I think it helped to fill the void left behind by Friends, and they do have some similarities when you think about it – NYC setting, a group of friends, hooking up, breaking up, hooking up again… What the heck am I supposed to watch now?  I loved the storytelling in HIMYM and the characters were all so wonderful in their own way, even Barney 🙂 Mind you, if I was friends with a Barney in real life, I’d doubt I’d be such a fan!

Charmed

Another show I’ve watched too many times to count!  I loved this show so much when it was on, I watched it religiously, and even my DVDs are now looking a little worn out.  I still remember going to school the next day after watching an episode and debriefing with my bestie, we loved it!   Side note: we still debrief about shows we love 🙂 I’ve always loved anything supernatural (Sabrina the Teenage Witch was a favourite when I was younger), and Charmed certainly fit the bill.  It helped that there were plenty of hot guys on the show too – Julian McMahon (Aussie alert!), Eric Dane, Drew Fuller, Jason Lewis, need I go on?!

Gilmore Girls

This is one my mum and I used to watch every week together, religiously.  My dad and my brother knew not to bother us when Gilmore Girls was on!  And then when Channel 9 stopped showing it at normal times, we bought the DVDs and had a marathon (over many weeks) to finish it off.  It was such a great coming-of-age story for both Rory and Lorelai.  Rory’s bookish, studious nature really resonated with me, and I loved the Luke/Lorelai relationship – Christopher can go jump off a cliff as far as I’m concerned.  Same with Logan and Dean, Jess FTW.  I’ve been thinking of going back to the start and watching this series again, I’m really keen to do it now!

One Tree Hill

Okay, so I know this is pretty much Days of Our Lives for young people but I don’t care – OTH is my guilty pleasure and I love it!  I know CMM was supposed to be the main character, but he was never my favourite – given me Naley anyday!  OTH gave me all the feels; it portrayed real life issues (and some rather far fetched ones…) and the fact that it lasted for nine seasons really is something when you consider its humble beginnings.  Fun fact: I now live in a town that has a One Tree Hill park and a One Tree Hill pub- absolutely no connection to the TV show but it’s all I can think about when anyone mentions them!

Boston Legal

Love it, love it, love it!  Another one the bestie and I both love and talked about many times (Friends also belongs on that list, as does Scrubs!) 🙂 It’s so funny to see the law protrayed in this way, I also loved Ally McBeal when it was on but Boston Legal is the far better of the two.  Strangely enough I’ve never watched The Practice…  Denny and Alan’s bromance was awesome, as was pretty much everything Denny did or said.  Another show I need to rewatch from start to finish!

Fresh Prince of Bel Air

I was two years old when this started and eight years old when it finished, so I never really watched it much when it was first on the air – I was a bit too young.  But thanks to syndication, I had the pleasure of watching this everyday after school when I was in high school, at my nonna’s house.  Will Smith is awesome, and this show is absolutely hilarious – the Uncle Phil jokes never get old!  And if you haven’t seen Will Smith’s appearances on The Graham Norton Show in 2012 and 2013, do yourself a favour, click on the links and check it out!  You won’t regret it 🙂

Packed to the Rafters

The only Aussie show on the list… And what a show it was!  This was a great look into the life of an Aussie family – the parents are about to become empty nesters and then almost all their kids return home.  On top of that, an unexpected pregnancy means the parents won’t be empty nesters for a long time to come!  The Rafter family was like a part of each Australian family, we all identified with someone or some part of the show.  We laughed and smiled when good things happened, and we cried during the sad times (Mel, I’m looking at you!).  I was sad when it finished but it was time, and I hope Channel 7 makes some TV movies down the track as planned, checking in on the Rafters!

Without a Trace

Another show that mum and I watched religiously.  This may not be an Aussie show but it stars two Aussies and that’s enough for me!  I’ve loved Anthony LaPaglia since Looking for Alibrandi and Lantana, so it was only natural that I’d love him in this, flaws and all.  I really enjoyed watching a show where the focus was on the missing person and there was very little in the way of personal storylines for the characters – it made it all the more interesting when the personal snippets cropped up here and there along the way.  Cold Case was another show with those traits that my mum and I also loved to watch.

Scrubs

This show is one that I loved from the very start, I remember watching it with my brother even when it was on at ridiculous-o’clock.  For some strange reason, Channel 7 always insisted on putting this on around the 11pm time – what’s up with that?!  The bromance between Turk and JD, the will-they-won’t-they between JD and Elliot, everything that came out of Dr Cox’s mouth, Dr Kelso, I loved it all.  I kinda wish they’d stopped it at Season 8, Season 9 was a bit unnecessary but there were still some funny moments.  Another show I want to rewatch, I’m not sure when I’m going to find the time for all this!

Dawson’s Creek

Another guilty pleasure!  It helped that I was completely in love with Joshua Jackson when I was growing up, the Mighty Ducks trilogy was definitely a favourite.  Although I really enjoyed this show, I can’t say I was ever a fan of the titular character, good ole Dawson.  He bored me stupid and was such a whiny wimp!  Give me Pacey anyday, he was so much more interesting!  Also, if I had to choose between Pacey and Dawson for Joey, Pacey would win everyday of the week and twice on weekends, HANDS DOWN.  I also thought that the series finale was one of the better series finales I’d seen for a show, it wrapped everything up in a way that was very true to the show 🙂

JAG

Now this show, this one I used to watch with my dad and my brother while mum would read a book on the couch – she wasn’t too keen on this one but we loved it!  Much like the majority of the shows on this list, this one also had a will-they-won’t-they romance between Harm and Mac, although I do think that this one stretched on a tad bit too long… I loved the legal side things (I should’ve known I’d end up in the industry!) and I also enjoyed the military aspect.  This show was serious at times, lighthearted in other moments, and it never failed to entertain.  Also, it brought me NCIS: Los Angeles, and for that I am truly grateful!

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  Did you focus on movies or TV shows?  Have you got any others that you could recommend to me?

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 (or 12) TV Shows No Longer On The Air

  1. moonglint says:

    My goodness, your list brings back lots of memories. I never understood the appeal of Dawson either, it was all about Pacey. Great list,

    My TTT

  2. I must admit I was disappointed with the last episode of How I …. though 😦 And you have to watch The Practice ! I personally think its better than Boston Legal 🙂 Here is my TTT
    http://theresurgentbookworm.wordpress.com/2014/07/15/top-ten-tuesday-tv-shows/

    • I seem to be one of the few who wasn’t disappointed with the last episode of HIMYM, I thought there was a bit too much crammed in for an hour-long episode but other than that I didn’t really take too much issue with it. Good news though, apparently they’re putting an alternate ending on the DVD for the season 🙂

  3. I LOVED HIMYM until the finale, and that I just try to block out.

  4. OTH! It literally may have been one of the best shows I’ve watched and it inspired SO many feels! I loved the Naley relationship, and I like how the show portrayed the real struggles they faced from coming from different backgrounds, getting married so young, etc.

    My TTT

  5. Oh my goodness, how could I have forgotten about The Fresh Prince? I LOVE that show! Great choices. 🙂

  6. […] never done one of these, though one of the blogs I follow, The Bumbling Bookworm, puts these up faithfully.  This week, she said, the top ten topic is on T.V. Shows or Movies!  […]

  7. […] Thursday: Review – Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins Friday: Flashback Friday – Austenland by Shannon Hale Saturday: Stacking the Shelves {4} Tuesday: Top Ten {or 12} TV Shows No Longer On The Air […]

  8. I’m assuming you’re referring to Poppy Montgomery in Without a Trace, and if so, have you watched her in Unforgettable? The novelty of hyperthymesia is pretty cool even if it’s the get out of jail free card plot device. I wasn’t the biggest Dawson’s Creek fan but the show brings back great memories and it’s definitely cool to see where some of these actors/resses have gone in their careers!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  9. Great list! Gilmore Girls is on mine as well. Several others I remember enjoying. Dawson’s Creekm fresh Prince of Bel Air, etc.
    My TTT

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

