Flashback Friday: Austenland by Shannon Hale

3

July 11, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Flashback Friday on Swoony Boys Podcast and Fiction Fare
Flashback Friday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely ladies at Fiction Fare and Swoony Boys Podcast, shining the spotlight on books that are at least two years old šŸ™‚

Today’s book I’ve chosen is Austenland by Shannon Hale.Ā  I haven’t read this one yet, but I’m having a very Jane Austen time of it at the moment (thank you Lizzie Bennet Diaries!) so I thought I’d keep my own personal theme going šŸ™‚

Austenland by Shannon Hale
Publisher/Year: Bloomsbury, 2007
Genre: Contemporary Fiction, Romance
Available Formats: Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook, eBook

Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon | iTunes

Goodreads Synopsis

Jane Hayes is a seemingly normal young New Yorker, but she has a secret. Her obsession with Mr. Darcy, as played by Colin Firth in the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, is ruining her love life: no real man can compare. But when a wealthy relative bequeaths her a trip to an English resort catering to Austen-crazed women, Jane’s fantasies of meeting the perfect Regency-era gentleman suddenly become realer than she ever could have imagined.

Decked out in empire-waist gowns, Jane struggles to master Regency etiquette and flirts with gardeners and gentlemen;or maybe even, she suspects, with the actors who are playing them. It’s all a game, Jane knows. And yet the longer she stays, the more her insecurities seem to fall away, and the more she wonders: Is she about to kick the Austen obsession for good, or could all her dreams actually culminate in a Mr. Darcy of her own?

 

3 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Austenland by Shannon Hale

  1. lissiet says:

    I have heard so many good things about this book, I really need to read it. Thanks for reminding me.
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

  2. jaimearkin says:

    Oh This has been on my list for a while – I really need to bump it up so I get to it soon! thanks for participating and great pick!!
    xo
    jaime @ Fic Fare!

  3. […] Review – Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins Friday: Flashback Friday – Austenland by Shannon Hale Saturday: Stacking the Shelves {4} Tuesday: Top Ten {or 12} TV Shows No Longer On The […]

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

