Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Confessions of a Blogger and Reader

13

July 8, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Blogging Confessions!  I’ve only been blogging for a little while and I had a bit of hard time coming up with confessions that were strictly related to blogging only.  So, I’ve got confessions about both blogging and reading, since they both go hand in hand for me 🙂 Anyhoo, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂

My Blog Posts Are Rarely Scheduled.

I prefer to schedule my blog posts, but I rarely do. If you’re reading one of my posts, chances are I’ve finished writing it about two seconds before I hit the ‘publish’ button 🙂 {this is one of those posts!} I try to set aside time for blogging and getting ahead, but then I waste it all on the internet – it’s so darn distracting! It doesn’t help that I’m a master procrastinator

I Get Jealous, But Never Resentful.

I’m still new at this whole blogging thing, and I’m only just beginning to make contacts with publishers and being approved for ARCs (advance reader copies). So sometimes when I see other bloggers reading the books I’m DYING to read, the green-eyed monster does come out a bit… But, instead of making me resentful, it makes me even more excited for the book’s release date so I can go out and buy it. Case in point, Isla and the Happily Ever After!

I’m A Library Fiend.

It’s no secret I love the library, specifically the one near my parent’s house. I also love to borrow books out from the library, lots and lots and lots of books!   I see ALL THE BOOKS and I have to borrow them all… Problem is, they usually go back to the library unread. I working on borrowing less and reading more of what I borrow – sounds simple, I know, but resisting the books is anything but simple!

I Struggle To Write Reviews.

I find it really difficult to write reviews. If you were to ask me in person what I thought of a book, I’d have no trouble telling you. Writing it down is a whole other story. I think it’s because I’m super critical of my own writing, and I feel like I need to write reviews ‘the right way’, whatever that is. I’m slowly learning that what works for some may not work for others, and there is no ‘right’ way – I just have to do what works for me.

I’m A Lurker.

It sounds worse than it is 🙂 I am terrible at commenting on other people’s blogs, at initiating/participating in conversation with other bloggers and people on Twitter, etc. I’m kinda like this in real life, I’m not the best at putting myself out there – this isn’t great when I need to network for my job. I’m trying to be better at this, making myself comment on other blogs and tweet more… We’ll see how it goes!

I Buy Too Many Books.

This wouldn’t be a problem if I actually READ them before buying more. Alas, of the 245 hardcopy books I own, 124 of them remain unread according to Goodreads. That’s more than half! Not cool. I haven’t even counted my ebooks, that would just depress me even more. My problem is that I want to read ALL THE BOOKS but I can never choose just which one I want to read next. I may have found a solution to this problem though, and I hope it works.

I’m Anal About The Books I Buy.

I’m not so fussy about what happens to the book once I own it, I eat while I read, I fold down the corners, I commit all kinds of book crimes. But when I buy the book, it must be PERFECT. No scuffs, no bent pages, no torn covers, the works. I’ve even been known to inspect books when I buy them, and I NEVER buy the first book on the shelf or on top of a stack. Of course, when I buy them online I have to accept them in the condition they arrive, and I haven’t had any major issues, but I’m a bit crazy in the shops!

My Books In A Series Have To Match.

This is another thing I’m anal about – if I buy books in a series, the covers have to match. It’s a bit hard to do that when the publishers change the cover style mid-series! Case in point: Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. I’m glad I bought these last year when the new covers were already out, but if I had the old covers for Anna and Lola, I’d be freaking out a little with the release of Isla! Also, if the books change size and I’ve bought one particular size, then they all have to be that size. A lot of the time in Australia, books are usually published in a large paperback, with a smaller paperback being published later on. Hardbacks barely exist. I bought The Cuckoo’s Calling earlier this year when the small paperback had been released, and now I can’t buy The Silkworm until it too is released in the small paperback. I’m crazy, and I’m totally aware of it!

I Sometimes Read The Last Page Or Maybe More.

I’m so nosy and I hate suspense, so sometimes I’ll read the last page (or more) of a book to find out what happens. I might do this at the start of a book or partway through the book, there’s no real rhyme or reason to it! I don’t do it with every book I read, and I do it far less now than I used to when I was younger. But sometimes, the temptation is there…

I Don’t Read Everyday.

At least, I don’t read for pleasure everyday. I do so much reading as part of my job, and it’s sometimes the last thing I want to do when I get home. So, my reading is often done in fits and spurts. For example, I’ve read 4 books over the past week, and prior to that I hadn’t finished a book for weeks. This is another thing I’m trying to get better at, and I think being home sick from work over the past week has helped me get my groove back. We’ll see how I go!

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  What are your deepest and darkest blogging confessions? 🙂

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Confessions of a Blogger and Reader

  1. Cait says:

    You and me both about finding the “perfect book to buy”. xD I so rarely buy books that when I finally went into Big W to buy TFIOS…gee, I went through every single copy they had trying to find the perfect one. And they ALL had this little glue drop on the spine or something that made them NOT perfect and it was quite devastating. I picked the lesser of the evils, but still. 😐 I’m a schedule fiend, so I rarely publish seconds after I write. I’m too nervous about my posts! I need to let them fester and then edit them again and again in case I’ve said something crazy. Well, okay, crazier.

    • Big W is evil, I can’t go into that place and leave without a book! I bought the Divergent series there recently and it took me FOREVER to find a copy of all three books that I was happy with, and even then I’m so picky that I’m disappointed that the pages in Allegiant are a slightly different colour to the other – WTF is up with that! Clearly I have issues! I need to become better at scheduling, just so I have content going up regularly and not just when I can be bothered. I doubt I’d continuously look over them, but it would be nice to not have to worry about finding time to write a post and hitting ‘publish’ two secs after finishing it.

  2. Finley Jayne says:

    Great list-I’m also a library fiend 🙂 Just found your blog and I’m now a new follower through bloglovin!

  3. Keira says:

    I get jealous sometimes. It’s hard being the newbie. Reading the last page is a habit we share, too. If the suspense is killing me it’s like I can’t help myself!

    Great list! New follower.

    Our TTT!

  4. Marlene C says:

    Like you, I’m so easily distracted by the internet or by life, I never get to schedule posts ahead of time. And sometimes, after I’ve published a post, I go back to edit anything that needs a little polishing and then hope no one notices. Shhh! 😉 As you know, I struggle with writing reviews too. They take me so damn long to write. I hate that I pay so much attention to detail, but I can’t help myself! Also, I don’t read everyday either. This goes back to being easily distracted, but also, I like to do other things too. (watch tv, hang out with sisters, boyfriend, etc.) I haven’t figured out how to balance blogging and life yet, and likely never will! I’m learning to accept it. 🙂

    Great list, Bernadette!

    Marlene @ The Flyleaf Review

    • Don’t you worry, I too go back and do a bit of polishing from time to time – those typos are going to correct themselves! Blogging isn’t the be all and end all for me, I too enjoy doing other things like you said – watching tv, spending time with friends and family, etc – and I don’t prioritise blogging over time with other people. But that’s healthy, I think! Anyhoo, thanks for stopping by!

  5. As long as you’re having fun with what you’re doing and can put a voice into what you write (mainly pertaining to your reviews), then I’m sure that’s the most important thing people care about–that’s what I think at least. Everything else will follow suit to that! I feel like I’ve regressed back to high school and university when I did a lot of my writing on assignments last minute–much like these tuesday posts that I seem to do minutes before midnight of the next day rolls around. Though maybe i’m just an adrenaline junkie and words start to come easier when the “deadline” nears.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  6. So I’m not the only one who reads the last page first? Haha. I try to just skim it, because I’m mostly looking for one thing in particular (whether or not the couple stays together), but it’s still totally cheating. 😛 Also, I totally struggle to write reviews too! I can talk about books until I turn purple, but writing reviews is super stressful to me. I’m OCD for one, so I want it to be *perfect*, and it takes me forever to write them. So you’re not alone there!

  7. Oh, I also struggle to write reviews and get jealous of other bloggers from time to time, so you’re not alone! The important thing is you never become resentful!!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

